Skip to content

Unhealthy Living Summit Part 2

November 26, 2010

Where were we? Oh, yes – I have ridiculous luck when it comes to travel, and although my intentions for my weekend in Chicago for the Healthy Living Summit this past August were healthy intentions, that didn’t really happen.  Even though I was given several opportunities to make healthy decisions while at HLS, I took the intuitive to do otherwise…

How My Trip to the Healthy Living Summit
became the Unhealthiest Weekend of 2010


I. I finally arrived at O’Hare at 2:00 AM with plans to take the L.  Since it was very dark outside, I decided to wait at the airport until the sun began to rise before boarding.  I could have very easily used the 3 hours to nap in the corner.  Instead, I kept myself busy and awake the entire time, sacrificing the rest my body was craving.

104_4551_thumb1

2. When 4:30 AM rolled around, I was the first one in line to get a quad-venti soy latte. Dependency on caffeine, much?

onthechicagoL

3. I finally boarded the train, got off at my stop, and made it to the hotel room (after lugging my 40lbs of wheel-less luggage the several blocks to the hotel and not realizing there was an elevator to take me to my floor. doh.), I did not go to sleep.  I let the 4 shots of espresso and the excitement to see my blends convince my roommates to wake up and get breakfast with me.

4. To which I ordered and consumed a large ice coffee and a bagel.

5. When we returned to the room, I ate several cookies, ignoring my body which was telling me “stay away from sugar and put something green in me!”

6. Then I went shopping down State Street, in the very hot sun, not bringing a water with me, keeping myself complete dehydrated.

7. By waiting to eat lunch until well after 2:00 PM, I did not make properly fueling my tired self a priority.
104_4582_thumb1

8. I did not take a nap.

9. Instead, I got a triple venti soy latte. Again.

10. Rush to get ready for cocktail party. Rush to cocktail party. Rush in cocktail party. Rush home from cocktail party. Did not eat one bite before or at cocktail party.

11. Brushed off at least 10 blends insisting that I eat something at cocktail party. Healthy Living Bloggers that were concerned with my not eating. Healthy Living Bloggers that wanted me to be well nourished. (Healthy Living Bloggers who would later be attacked for their lifestyles and healthy choices)  I managed to ignore them.

IMG_4588_thumb1

12. I also managed to drink two glasses of red wine at cocktail party. On a semi-empty stomach and 0 hours of sleep. Which made for an enjoyable taxi ride home for some.

13. Laying on the floor of our hotel room, giggling uncontrollably, and refusing to put my blackberry down and go to sleep until Savvy Blog Mom Julie threatened me. Actually, that’s not completely accurate.  First, she made me eat a snack pack of almonds after learning that I hadn’t consumed anything but wine since lunch.

14. Saturday morning, after a handful of sleeping hours, we got ready to meet the presenters for our “pre-summit meeting.”  Afterwards, I skipped the breakfast line to make a Starbucks run.

IMG_4603_thumb1

15. After the keynote speaker, I snuck off to my room because I was starting to feel sick. I did not take a power nap. Instead, I published a blog post.

16. I made my way back downstairs during break time. Taking my very wise ROA’s advice, I had an orange juice. Then I had another cup of coffee.

17. After the next presentation, we headed to lunch.  It was yummy.  I had another cup of coffee.

18. Forty-five minutes after the last session ended, I was in the hotel bar, doing a shot.

19. After the walking food tour and a night out with the ladies, I didn’t put myself to bed. Instead, I sat in the hallway of the hotel room and ate pizza and giggled with my best blend. [the blurriness of the following photo may or may not be an accurate representation of the way my head felt at this moment in time.]
104_4614

20. I slept for 3 hours. Waking up early to pack, say goodbye to Julie, and head out to brunch with my grandparents. [and apparently, looked like death. ha.]

DSCF0106_thumb5

And then I was on my way home, after twenty un-healthy decisions.  Making one un-healthy decision, then making another.

You might think that my time at the Healthy Living Summit was a ruse.  You may assume that I regret my actions, and that I wish I could take it all back.  You could be thinking that I’m a hypocrite for my actions, and that I am ashamed of my time at HLS.

You’d be wrong.

To be continued…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2010 4:12 pm

    So, what you’re saying is that you singlehandedly kept Starbucks in business that weekend? 😉

    Also, you need to listen to Savvy Julie. She is smart.
    I am sure she is telling you very smart things right now! 🙂

  2. November 26, 2010 7:04 pm

    Hahaha, that’s funny. We all have our slipups!

  3. November 26, 2010 8:23 pm

    Ahhh haaaa, we all have those weekends. Thats when I where a sign that says “do as I say, not as I do.”
    Cheers to that!
    LC

  4. November 26, 2010 8:44 pm

    cheers to all that, and hey man, we all have slip ups 🙂

    at least you had fun while doing it all though 😉 That’s all that really matters!

  5. November 26, 2010 9:12 pm

    I remember seeing you before the party and asking if you had slept. LOL

  6. Corey - The Runner's Cookie permalink
    November 27, 2010 9:00 am

    I’m intrigued!

Leave a Reply

