Skip to content

Looking Back

November 25, 2010

For the handful of years I lived in Texas, I made a list of 100 things I was thankful for each Thanksgiving.  Recently, I cam across some of these collections and found the lists a fun way to look back to where I was several years ago; the state of my heart, what I was doing with my life, and how I was feeling about the things and people around me.  Some of the items made me giggle.  Some remind me of past mistakes and lessons learned.  Others helped me to realize that some things in my life will always be constant; and that makes me forever grateful.

 

100 Things I was Thankful for in November of 2007

  1. Proverbs 16:9 and how God led me to Louisiana College
  2. unlimited text messaging
  3. my parents’ understanding
  4. the internet at work
  5. girls like Jana who stir something up in my soul every time we communicate
    jana
  6. Morningstar Farms Mushroom Lovers burgers on croissants with mozzarella cheese and romaine lettuce leaves
  7. The West Wing on DVD
  8. Mary Arnold
    mary
  9. and her truth and wisdom and encouragement
  10. My December 15 bonus that I may be relying too heavily on
  11. paid days off of work
  12. Bucky Badger
  13. learning from my past
  14. roommates who share well
    aheep
  15. Beaumont is pretending to turn more into a "city"
  16. coconut coffee creamer
  17. coupons
  18. I’ve never been shot
  19. or broken a bone
  20. the times my dear friend Kyle sings to me
    kyle singing
  21. not losing touch with so many GREAT people in other states/cities
  22. January is almost here
  23. and therefore so is Kelly
  24. RG, my employer
  25. because now I understand the economy a bit more than I ever would have otherwise
  26. and he buys me lunch every now and again
  27. and gives me good material for my future sitcom
  28. people who compliment me when I deserve it, not just when I think I need it
  29. places like IHOP which are open 24 hours
  30. Rob Bell
  31. Andrew Arthur for helping me identify the hunger I had inside of me
  32. Susan Jane Gilman and Anne Lamont for being hilarious
  33. Dave Matthews for being able to distress me in a matter of a chorus
  34. MYSPACE
  35. leftovers
  36. abc.com and mtv.com letting me watch Grey’s, PP, UB, and The Hills on lunch breaks
  37. burts bees products
  38. The mail Ms. Judi and Mom send throughout the year
  39. caffeine
  40. Spiedi looks to be dying quickly….yet not quickly enough
  41. Blogs by Sarah Morrison, Trent, and Marcus
  42. The I Heart Revolution
  43. Mary, again, because honestly she deserves about 99 of these spaces
  44. the red cups
  45. rock the vote and headcount
  46. march madness
    brackets
  47. and college football
    badger fans
  48. Our Amazing Student Leadership Team
  49. Meetings with Kari and Jordan
    kari and jordan
  50. craft time
    craft2craft1
  51. REAL SIMPLE magazine
  52. being taken out for smoothies
  53. or coffee
  54. intellectual discussion
  55. sweat pants
  56. working with Gail
  57. my writing abilities
  58. and decorating talents
  59. good unexpected study time with Jonathan and Ashley Petty
  60. Baby Isabel has changed my heart about babies, it seems. Apparently, babies aren’t necessarily evil.  
    isabel
  61. my top tens. I love them.
  62. friends of friends: such as Stephen from Kyle, and the LC gang of girls I’ve adopted from Mary
  63. God’s provision
  64. Mike Berg
  65. flickr.com
  66. cupcakes
  67. not having to pretend like I want to be her friend
  68. ok- that sounded mean….the fact that I am not ACTUALLY mean
  69. alone time
  70. Frank Warren
  71. Jamba and Culvers are ONLY an hour away
    camera 053
  72. thanksgiving with my three FAVORITE people
  73. MCS is becoming famous….and I am proud of them
  74. memories being nothing more than memories
  75. the fact that I am a romantic in all areas of my life
  76. theme parties
    sjp
  77. gathering together with old friends of yesteryore
  78. Acoustic Lead worship
  79. the Petty’s are now in charge
  80. Wednesday morning prayer for woman at the well
  81. Wikipedia
  82. project runway reruns all week long
  83. post it notes
  84. Story People, Daily Candy & Ripples
  85. traditions
  86. learning the importance of scripture memory
  87. not having finals to worry about [although I kind of miss the studying]
  88. the fact that at least ONE person who reads this will not call me a dork for saying that last one
  89. places that remind me of home
    IMG00082
  90. people that make me feel like home
    rachkyle 
  91. 4:30 on Fridays
  92. airports
  93. listography
  94. that certain songs and certain scents can bring you right back to where you belong
  95. the times when the door between offices is shut
  96. clients who appreciate us, and show us their appreciation
  97. sunshine
  98. people with reasoning behind their opinions, even and especially when I disagree
  99. the delete button 
  100. Megan’s stories
    megra
3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2010 11:09 am

    I love the “babies are necessarily evil” bit. 🙂

  2. November 25, 2010 11:14 am

    I love #14 🙂

    I can’t believe it’s been 3 years since we lived together.

    Happy Thanksgiving girl!

  3. Megan Orcholski permalink
    November 25, 2010 4:55 pm

    AHHHH!!!! I started reading this and I was thinking “I wonder if there are any that happen to include me (i.e. not losing touch with people in their cities/states)” and there were, but what a great surprise that the last one is all about me!!!! AND a pic!!! YAYYYYY!!!!
    I am thankful that you are one of the few friends who can keep 8 different conversations going with me at the same time.
    Miss you.

Leave a Reply

