Skip to content

Nice to Meet You: Characters

November 24, 2010

What’s the nicest thing someone’s ever done for you?

momandme 19877- wicked

  • My parents raising me the way they did.

    My parents were young when they had me (19&20 ). And when I truly take time to think about the lessons they taught me and how they nurtured compassion into our lives while being so young themselves, I am baffled.

    I am so thankful that my parents taught me how to be compassionate. I am so thankful that my parents taught me to be kind, and gentle. I am so thankful my parents taught me to be accepting of ideas, people, and places different than what I was familiar to and what I had known myself. I thank them for my beliefs even though they never, ever, EVER forced any beliefs on me, and my beliefs may differ from their own. I am thankful that they taught me to be caring, and giving, and strong. And to think outside the boxes – boxes others have built, and boxes I try to build myself.

    Thanks, Mom & Dad.

How did you meet each of your best friends?

  • Danielle and I attended the same middle school in small town Wisconsin.  Though we met in junior high, our friendship truly developed during high school.  We both were active in a lot of the same extracurricular activities, and would often sit together at sporting events.  Eventually our time together grew, we became great friends and she hooked me up with an awesome summer job, leading us to basically live together for a couple of summers as we worked in the Dells. 

    hsgrad

  • Megan is another Wisconsin friend.  We graduated in the same class, but our friendship started early on.  Specifically I remember our seventh grade English class when we would peer edit each others papers, sharing secrets in the corner.  Megan and I stayed close in high school and the early college years, but when I moved, we lost touch for a few years.  One four hour long phone conversation later, we were right back to where we had been before.DSCF3886
  • Oh, Joseph. I’m quite certain I met Joe during a middle school summer while we watched our younger sisters play on the same softball team which was coached by his dad, but I could be wrong.  I feel like I’ve kind of always known Joe, mostly because we lived in the same community. Joe became one of my very best friends in high school, which carried on in college.  We stayed good friends over the years, and I am so thankful to still have a great dependable guy friend in my life to go to for advice and encouragement.
    joseph
  • Mary approached me in the cafeteria at Louisiana College because I was wearing a Madison, WI shirt and she had visited the previous summer. I was smitten with her at the very mention of Mad-town!  Mary played an instrumental part in my coming to know Christ and we used to pray together every night before bed.  We’ve since both moved across the country in opposite directions, by our hearts will forever be tied to one another, without a doubt.

    lc

  • I met Kelly on Myspace. Yes, I’m serious. [Thanks, Tom.] After connecting on the space, we met in person and then spent just about every single day together for 5 months. Then Kelly moved. Then Kelly moved back to B-money be my roomie!  She has a great spirit and wonderful style, and I miss her something terrible.kel and me
  • Julie left a comment on my blog after seeing a link to my blog on Operation Beautiful (I had made an OB pumpkin for Halloween). I checked out her blog, Savvy Eats,  and saw she went to UW. We commented back and forth for a while, then in December started gchatting and emailing like it was our jobs. The first time I met her in person was the Friday before her wedding, which I flew to Madison to attend. [People usually love that part]IMG_2852

 

What one (or two, or three) things/traits do you love about yourself right now? And oh wait, give yourself a hug to start this off on the right foot 🙂

  • Let me start this off by saying that I am a blogger, and I am vain. (a part of me thinks they go hand in hand) There are A LOT of things I love about myself. This last year I realized 183473 new things that I love about me. 

    Also, that hug was great. Thanks.

    I’m trying to think of the traits about me that I love the most, so that this doesn’t come off sounding ridiculous, but that’s not really working out, because i REALLY REALLY like myself. So I’m just going to share a few that I think of off the top of my head and not worry about my not spending time weighing the amount of the admiration i have for these characteristics, okay?

    Good. Glad you agreed.

  • I love that I have the gift of encouragement. I know that I do. I’ve known that I do for a while, and it’s the one thing in my life that I’ve consistently known and liked about myself. Even when I had the lowest self esteem ever. I like that I can listen and give good advice and cheer people on and remind them of their inner strength. I’m not saying I am the perfect encourager. I am saying that I love to encourage others, because I think that WE ALL forget just how wonderful we are, and if I can be that voice in someone’s life than that is all I need to feel fulfilled.
  • I love that I have never stopped wanting to learn. About myself. About stupid random trivia. About other people.  About issues that matter, and pop culture, and the way television shows are made. About how to do things better. About the POTUS. About who I was and who I am becoming. I don’t ever want to stop learning.
  • I love that I’ve made it this far and that I use that as fuel. I will survive. I’ve lived on my own before. I will survive. I’ve cancelled a wedding. I will survive. I’ve struggled and learned to ask for help. I will survive. I don’t have the “I want to give up” argument with myself very much anymore, because I know if I keep moving forward, I will survive.
  • I love that I’m not afraid to go against the grain, and be open and honest with people I’ve never met. I love that I don’t hide the seemingly embarrassing parts of my life because I don’t want to be embarrassed or ashamed of what I’ve done, mistakes I’ve made, lessons I’ve learned or any part of my life. And no one can make me feel ashamed if I embrace where I’ve been and keep looking ahead to where I am going.

Your time to share! What traits do you love about yourself right now?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2010 6:50 pm

    I love that I’m not afraid of change although I hate it at the same time. I chose a job, life, love that requires me to accept change even if it hard.

    I love that I have the gift of encouragement too. I enjoy supporting others in many ways and letting them know that they are important in so many ways.

    I love that I’m a hard worker. I don’t give up on things easily and push to get things done well and on time. It makes me so happy.

  2. November 25, 2010 11:29 pm

    After reading this I feel like we have so much in common. I also have amazing parents who instilled great values in me that I am proud of, but at the same time, never pushed anything on me or made me feel like I had to do things their way.

    I also think I have the gift of encouragement and I absolutely love that about myself. If you ever need a change in career maybe you should consider social work since you would be great at it 😉

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!!

Leave a Reply

