Skip to content

Unhealthy Living Summit Part 1

November 22, 2010

104_4561

I have a bit of bad travel luck.  One time, in route from Myrtle Beach to Chicago, my family ended up staying overnight in Toronto, extending our vacation a full 24 hours. [Thanks, Delta.]  The customs officials questioned bringing my brother & sister, who were both under 16 at the time, back into the US.  “I’m sorry. We weren’t planning on leaving the country. I didn’t think I would need their birth certificates to get home from the Carolina’s” my Mother confessed.

melissa grad

Then there was the time I tried to cheer my sister on at her college graduation near Fargo, ended up in the ER in St. Paul at 3 in the morning, and was instructed to fly home and go directly to the hospital for surgery. [Thanks, gallbladder.] I spent the day on my best friend’s couch, on meds, awaiting my departure back to NY. Grateful to have the best nurse/hostess in the world and that I wasn’t facing this ridiculousness in a hotel. [Thank you, dear!] Just my luck to be rerouted due to weather, and then delayed 10 hours in Atlanta.  Followed by a 2 hour shut down of AirTran’s computer system across the entire country.  All the while I was on painkillers. [Thanks, St. Paul doctors. No, really, THANKYOU.]

Who could forget the time a snow storm caused a cancelled flight and a night spent at the airport 20 minutes from our house? How about when I boarded the wrong plane? Yes, the wrong plane.  Or the time my plane was broken and I had to stay another night in Madison?

104_3980

Like I said – bad travel luck.  When I booked my flight for the Healthy Living Summit, I took this into consideration. I decided to fly into town on Thursday evening in order to hang out with the Roommates of Awesomeness a bit and assure I actually made it to Chicago before HLS was over.

I arrived at the airport an hour earlier than normal, giving myself two and a half hours to get through security, grab a healthy dinner (after all, it was the healthy living summit), and make my way to my gate.

Who would have guessed it wouldn’t matter how early I arrived, I was still delayed 5 hours.  After a veggie sandwich, many bottles of water, and 30 minutes of airport yoga – my waiting ended and so did my “healthy living.”

 

To Be Continued….

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2010 12:22 pm

    I’m sorry, I can’t help but laugh every time I hear/read the “I boarded the wrong plane” story.

    Seriously though, you have bad travel luck. Let’s break that trend somehow, shall we?

  2. November 22, 2010 12:43 pm

    I once got stranded for 24 hours by Northwest on BOTH ends on one trip. But it ended up being kind of fun, and educational about the racial dynamics in Philadelphia suburbs. As well as, it resulted in the consumption of new imported cheese and a great drunken flight into Amsterdam.

    Besides that one time, most of my travels have been pretty smooth. Sorry to hear about all your bad luck!

  3. November 22, 2010 1:05 pm

    Boarded the wrong plane? Oh no! And you guys had to go to CANADA when you were just flying from North Carolina to Chicago? CRAZY! I’m not a huge believer in bad luck (or any kind of luck for that matter) but if I was….

Trackbacks

  1. Unhealthy Living Summit Part 2 « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

