Skip to content

Stories We Tell

November 22, 2010

Today I am wearing my high school class ring. I haven’t worn it for YEARS, and when I came across it in my jewelry box this morning, I felt the urge to slip it on. 

I started high school well over a decade ago, which, admittedly, is a tad odd to think about.  I don’t know if I’ve expected to create a grander sense of distance between the teenage Heather and the late-twenties Heather, but looking back it still feels not so long ago.

I often recall memories of my time in those halls with such fondness.  Of course, there were typical teenage times of drama, and secrets, and surely many tears – but I truly wouldn’t exchange my high school experience with anyone.  As can be suspected, that wasn’t always the case.

Several years ago, I came across a video “documentary” I had put together of our production of Fiddler on the Roof.  At the time, I was so embarrassed to come across the tape – to the point that I destroyed it soon after watching.  Clearly I was desperate for attention and affection from my peers.  I truly was the girl who wanted everyone to like her, and was constantly trying to win their approval. 

When I first made this discovery, I shuddered.  It was humiliating, and to think what the people who I was so greatly trying to please must have thought!  I was the worst kind of needy. 

Though at first discovery I was horrified by who I was back then, now I’ve come to understand those scenes differently.  I would never “take back” my actions, attitudes, or behavior back then because they are a part of my story, just as much as the bright spots of those years tell my tale. It’s all significant. I am not ashamed.

Behind the blog, I’ve been spending the last several months focused on the power of story.  We all have our own stories to tell, and as I move further along in my journey of getting my own story recorded, perfecting the recollection of past moments in my life, small reminders of earlier times, such as my class ring, help to celebrate not only who I am today, but who I was before.

I urge you to reminisce on your story.  Refuse to be ashamed. Take time to enjoy each chapter, looking back at every season.  Please remember that you are valuable; that you are worthy to be celebrated.  Who you are today, who you will be tomorrow, and who you were before – even as you thought you were the least of yourself.  You, and your story, are marvelous. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2010 7:06 pm

    I love this post. Recently in church we had lots of discussions on figuring out our stories and how we can use them to help others. I definitely feel I have a story to share and truly hope it can help others in even the smallest of ways in the process. We all have something to contribute and all have a chance to learn from each other. 🙂

  2. kayejohn permalink
    November 22, 2010 10:32 pm

    Mmm, I needed this. Thank you, Miss Heather.

  3. Megan Orcholski permalink
    November 28, 2010 4:41 am

    As someone who studies and writes about the power of narrative, I enjoyed this post a lot 🙂

Leave a Reply

