Skip to content

A Month Goes By

November 20, 2010

My ankle is healing.  Slowly.

Before today, the last time I ran was October 22, when I tripped over that blessed stick. I didn’t even make it a mile before wiping out.

 

It’s been almost a month.  It seems like so much longer.

 

When I think back to a few years ago, I remember that I used to go SEVERAL months – SEVERAL years – in between running any sort of distance.  It’s kind of funny to think about that now.  It’s kind of funny to realize that running has become a part of me, so much so that I miss it.

 

This morning, I ran.
I ran 1.33 very slow miles. 
I ran 1.33 miles in 15:12.
My ankle felt okay.  My ankles still feels okay. A little bit sore, but not too bad at all.  I’m monitoring it, and will see if I can try another run this week. 

 

The last few weeks, I’ve though a lot about how my heart is healing.  It’s taking a lot longer than a month.  I think it’s suppose to, right?  Some days I feel like I’m done healing from past hurts.  Other days the pain resurfaces and I remember that the healing will continue, possibly forever.

I am thankful for the healing, of my heart and of my ankle.  I am thankful for forgiveness, and for rest.  I am thankful for growth, and for endurance.  I am thankful that it isn’t rushed, and that it takes time.

 

I am thankful for the month gone by, and for the years gone by.  This time gone by is a beautiful part of my life.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Danielle permalink
    November 20, 2010 2:41 pm

    I am thankful for you!

  2. gramshugs permalink
    November 20, 2010 3:47 pm

    if i could…i would hold you and hug you til the hurt went away…love you

Leave a Reply

