Skip to content

Gratitude Attitude

November 19, 2010

How many times this week have you said “Thank you.”
How many times have you heard it?

When the store clerk hands you your purchase and instructs you to have a nice day, what do you say?
Thank you.
Do you mean it?
Sure you do.
Do you say it like you mean it?

When the person that you’re dining with passes you the bread basket, what do you say upon receiving it?
Thank you.
Do you mean it?
Of course you mean it, this is bread we are talking about.
Do you say it like you mean it?

When someone at the office goes out of his way to get you the information you need for the report you are trying to get done at the last minute, how do you sign off in your email?
Thank you.
Do you mean it?
Yes, you’d be staying late on a Friday if it wasn’t for him.
Do you type it like you mean it?

When your neighbor brings over a package that the UPS man delivered to the wrong address, what do you say?
When a reader comments that they like your blog, how do you respond?
When you are leaving a dinner party, opening a birthday gift, accepting help carrying the groceries up the stairs…what do you say? What do you mean? Do you say it like you mean it?

I personally love sending thank you notes via post.  Is there anything better than a hand written token of appreciation?  However, I think sometimes the words “thank you” just get swept under the rug – by both the person who is giving thanks, and the person receiving.     

 

A decade ago, when I was in high school I read an article about gratefulness.  It must have been in some magazine I was crazy about at the time, though my memory fails me.   

What I do remember is that it touched me, causing me to pause for a moment and truly think about how I show my gratitude. It also caused me to write out this list of OTHER meaningful ways to say “thank you” on a large note card.  Over ten years later, I still have the notecard, and I keep it close at hand, with my postage and stationary.

These phrases are mostly sentence starters that help me to show gratitude for gifts, acts of service, encouragement, hosting, hard work, support, help, and so much more.

 Show Your Appreciation

I appreciate the way you…
You’ve got my support  with…
I really enjoy working with you because…
I like your…
You can be proud of your…
I know you can do it!
Great job with…
I enjoy being with you because…
I’m impressed with…
It’s evident you have a special knack of…
It’s evident you have the ability to…
You have a special gift for..
You made my day when…
You’re doing a top notch of…
You’re terrific because…
It was great when you…
Our team couldn’t be successful without you…
You’re really good at…
I admire your…
Wonderful! Wonderful! Wonderful!
You should be proud of yourself for…
Thank you for…
You deserve a pat on the back for…
You were a great help when…
Thanks for going all out when you…
I believe in you!
One of the things I enjoy most about you…
What a great idea!
You did an outstanding job of…
It’s fun watching you…
I admire the way you take time to…
You’re a blessing!
Thank you for your…
It’s people like you who…

 I DARE YOU:  Say MORE than Thank You, and mean it, too.  I assure you taking time to show appreciation to the people in your life will help to harvest healthy, happy relationships.  It’s one small (healthy) decision you can make today!

Who are you thankful for today?  Get gushy – I want to hear all about the appreciation you have for others! Tis the season 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2010 3:18 pm

    I absolutely LOVE this post. It really hits home for me.

    Since I am from Texas and grew up here, I tend to be a little overly friendly to people. I didn’t really notice this until I moved to Boston and realized that most people are jerks (and this is so true even though I love Boston so much).

    Here in Texas we are raised to honor and respect tradition, family and the people we meet. Little boys are taught to hold doors open for women and call them ma’am. Little girls are taught to be nice to others, to smile ‘real pretty’ and show people that you love and appreciate them through cooking and hopspitality. Or at least this is the way I grew up in a very small town, old fashioned family.

    I say “Thank you” at least 25 times a day when I’m actually out of the house. I say thank you to everyone that has talked to me or in any way done something for me. I often say, “thank you so much I really appreciate it” when people really help me. I’m known to say this two to three times to the same person over and over again when they have REALLY done something for me. I’m a little too gracious on the outside.

    But you are right, I don’t always mean it. I mean, I always DO mean it but I don’t give always give the person I am thanking a true thank you. I don’t always look them in the eye, smile and really let them know I am gracious to have had their help.

    So I will work on this! Thank you for the reminder.

    And I really like to show people my appreciation by showing them I am thinking of them. This could be preparing their favorite dish, making sure they feel welcome in my home or picking up something I know they like to give them the next time I see them. I also like to hug out my thanks! I’m trying to get better at showing my written gratitude!

  2. November 19, 2010 7:29 pm

    This post makes me happy. Just so you know.

  3. November 19, 2010 8:07 pm

    This is a TRULY WONDERFUL post. It may go down in history as one of your best. I’ve bookmarked this plan to use at least one of these starters in every one of my Christmas cards this year.

    • November 19, 2010 8:34 pm

      Thank you, Michele!

      That sounds like a great idea to spread extra kindness and cheer this Christmas!

      xo H

  4. November 20, 2010 1:33 am

    I feel like I should print out that list and put it up in my classroom. Maybe it would help keep the mood very positive!

  5. November 20, 2010 11:47 am

    I’m from Alabama and while we have our many faults, one thing we do well is hospitality. I hear and say “Thank you”, and “That was so sweet, THANK YOU!” often. But I never branch out from that . And I’m a firm believer that a kind word can make a difference in a person.

    And I so agree with Danielle. I need to put this in my classroom. My kinders use manners, I use “please, thank-you, and you’re very welcome” daily. But even kids know kind words when they hear them.

Trackbacks

  1. Let Giving Thanks Commence « Healthy Cultivations

Leave a Reply

