Skip to content

Nice to Meet You: Romance

November 17, 2010

IMG_2622If you were asked to go on a dating show like The Bachelorette, would you do it? Why or why not?

  • When The Bachelor first came to television, I remember waxing poetic about how that’s how dating life SHOULD be. Why wouldn’t you want to date more than one person at a time – how else would you compare and know when you had found the best for you?

    My beliefs about love and life have grown a bit over the years, as have I in other areas – and if I’m not mistaken, certain aspects of the show have grown a bit as well. 
    As for if I would go on the show, I don’t know for sure. (If someone wants to offer me a contract, please don’t hesitate 😉 )

    But what I do know is there would be no roses involved. Blech.

 IMG_2586

Would you consider online dating or is it not your style?

  • Oh gosh. Some points of interest:
  • 1) Some of my closest friends are blends. There are things I say to friends on the internet that i haven’t told some of my closest “real life” friends. I love the internet. I met one of my former MOHs on myspace, via 2003 for crying out loud.

    2) I find internet dating completely interesting.

    3) I have this issue of not dating again until I have crossed a few things off a “before I date” to-do list. It’s pretty ridiculous. It’s something I really need to spend some time working through and getting over. And maybe seeking some counsel.

    4) In my adult life, I’ve never been asked on a date. I once tried a local online dating thing in Texas before I met my ex. I talked to one guy for a few weeks and we went on two dates. One for coffee and one for dinner and movie. We were friends. That’s all. Just friends that pretended to try dating .

    5) Now that i think about that, its clear that I am afraid of dating period. Online or otherwise.

 IMG_2625

Do you think online dating sites work?

  • I don’t think it’s about the online dating sites, as much as it is about the people who are using them.

    I think they work for some people, and I think they don’t work for some people.

    I think becoming friends first and then dating, works for some people and it doesn’t work for some people.

    I think that being bold and flirtatious and asking for a phone number works for some people, and it doesn’t work for some people.

    There is no "right way for everyone" for anything in our lives. As a healthy living blogger we often talk about how there is no right exercise plan for everyone – no time of day that works best for everyone, no speed, no class, no strength training regime: because everyone’s bodies are different.

    There is also no way of eating that is the "right way for everyone". Every body needs different things and needs to go about getting those things different ways. (there is a great discussion on the two fit chicks and a microphone podcast about intuitive/mindful eating that i highly recommend in regards to this.)

    There is also no "right way for everyone" when it comes to learning. Some people are hands on. Some are visual. Some are audible learners. Some people memorize well some retain information perfectly and some people need to try harder. Every brain is different.
    And every heart is different too. Everyone was raised different in homes and families that THANKFULLY are different.

    I love the diversity in the world. Not just diversity found in ethnicity or culture or region of the world you live/lived – but in every little tiny puzzle piece of our lives that make each of us display a completely unique whole picture of our selves. The fact that we are all learning, and growing and changing at our own paces just adds more beauty to the puzzle aisle in the grand toy store of life.

    I think online dating works for some. I think online dating doesn’t work for others.

 IMG_2588

You are going to make some guy the luckiest man in the world! What are 3 characteristics that he must possess?

  • What does it say about me that I’ve been sitting here for a while now thinking of things, and with each characteristic, I think "no, I could compromise on that."

    Thought Process:
    I’m never dating a republican again. Wait. That’s stupid. Of course you are. Look at your parents. Why are you being such an idiot. Look at the Walkers. You aren’t even that liberal. You are basically moderate. Right? You wish you were liberal. You wish you were CJ Craig. (Well, that goes with out saying.)

    Must love the Presidents. Ok. No. That’s not true either, Heather. He must be able to put up with you loving the Presidents. He must be okay with any pets coming into the house being named after Presidents. He must be okay with all your new President’s Day traditions. He must AT THE VERY LEAST be able to sit through episodes of the West Wing or go into the other room with out complaining. Who are you kidding? Every person you’ve EVER showed the west wing to has loved it, that wont be a problem.

    Must cheer for Bucky. Well, duh. you’ve turned like 2843732 Texans into Badger fans. Also, a cute little husband wife rivalry might just be adorable. Especially if he supports the Badgers when his team isn’t playing. I could have a 2nd favorite team….especially if its a Big Ten team. Or really, anyone. I mean, it’s not that hard to have a second favorite team. That’s compromise.

  • See my issue? I HAVE ISSUES.
12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2010 6:16 pm

    We all have issues! 😉

    I think dating is more luck of the draw than anything else.

  2. November 17, 2010 6:22 pm

    Heather, I really don’t think you should compromise on something as important as “Must Love Presidents”. Seriously!

    I love this. ❤

    • November 17, 2010 6:23 pm

      and as cliche as this sounds, I think it is true more often than not… when I stopped THINKING about dating, I Almost Immediately found crazy love…

    • November 17, 2010 6:35 pm

      Haha!

  3. November 17, 2010 6:35 pm

    Matt and I met online! Sometimes it just works 🙂

  4. November 17, 2010 6:39 pm

    LOL! You turned this Syracuse fan into a Bucky fan…how could you not turn the perfect guy for you into a Bucky fan…even if he secretly roots for say some Iowa team.

    Dating is odd and weird. And I’m glad you are open to all the ways it can happen…you are going to be fabulous for someone!

  5. November 17, 2010 6:46 pm

    Hahah. You know my dating history. I did the online thing and I have an amazing best friend.
    I also have an amazing bf who I met in real life. Who finds me beautiful on days that I don’t shower….
    I am still confused about that one.

  6. November 17, 2010 6:57 pm

    I started laughing out loud at your last section about characteristics, especially about the Presidents!

    I am not an expert on dating by any means, but I have a couple of girlfriends who were feeling some frustration about online dating, so I do have one sort-of insight: nobody connects with everyone. When you meet people online and it fizzles out, it doesn’t reflect on you at all.

  7. November 17, 2010 6:59 pm

    Don’t compromise on the “Must love presidents” thing. Seriously. I promise 🙂

  8. November 17, 2010 11:14 pm

    I love your issues. I’m not the only one. And one day, one of those many will be tall, dark, and handsome 😉 until then, you keep doing the awesome that is you. Please. I need to know I’m not alone 🙂

  9. November 18, 2010 9:00 am

    Dating sucks. It sucks even more after college, when you’re not forced to be in the same space with the opposite sex for class. About online dating: I have a friend who met her husband online and another who met her long-term boyfriend. So it can work, at least for some!

  10. Kelly permalink
    November 18, 2010 11:34 pm

    i like this post:) and i like your dating criteria thought process. miss ya!

Leave a Reply

