Skip to content

Nice to Meet You: Location

November 17, 2010
tags:

houston airport What were some of your favorite things about living in Texas? (assuming there WERE some things you liked – I know, it’s hard)

  • People.
    And shaved iced stands.
    And that is it.
    Well, no, that’s not it. 
    I also liked Whataburger and Sonic. However, I don’t really eat much fast food now, so I don’t know if I would care v. much about those places if I were to be back.  Also, sonic crushed ice is good. So good that I sometimes dream about it. Send some?

104_3529What is your favorite ‘alone space’ in Madison and why?

  • GREAT QUESTION.
    So great, in fact, that I just sat back against the wall and took a big sigh.Tthen smiled. Then thought for a moment.

    Every trip I’ve ever taken to Madison since leaving, I’ve sat alone on State Street, on a bench or table near the Orpheum. It’s close enough to the capital to take your breath away, but far enough down into the life of State that people watching is interesting.
    As I think about it, though, I’m quite certain if you put me just about anywhere in Madison, I would be happy, whether I was alone or with people.

    I’ve never been to the terrace on my own, but I wouldn’t mind it. I’ve never been to Camp Randall alone, but that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t scream my head off and sing along with the band. And so on, and so forth. 

104_3505If someone was visiting Madison for less than 24 hours, what would you tell them is the one thing they absolutely have to make time to do?

  • Ok. At first I was thinking, "this has to be a Saturday because then i will suggest a football game in the fall, the farmers market in the spring" and so on….
    But then i thought that, AGAINST ALL ODDS, some people may not like football and a day preparing for Camp Randall, followed by several hours AT Camp Randall, may not actually make every soul in the world happy.(THE HORROR!) 

    I stand by the DCFM.
    The Farmers Market. If it is outdoor farmers market season, go to the farmers market. Even if you hate produce. It’s an experience. Get the spicy cheese bread. Taste a bite of every sample. Buy a flower for a sweet old lady sitting on a bench near the capital steps. Get a marble from the marble guy. Sit still and people watch.

    If its not farmers market season, I am sorry.  (Schedule yourself another trip to Madison during peak farmers market time, okay?) Go downtown, though. Go near the capital. Walk down state street. Read this man’s blog and find some good Wisconsin food and beverage and think of me, okay? [then, PLEASE email me and tell me all about your trip.]

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2010 8:39 am

    Dear DCFM: I miss you.

  2. November 17, 2010 11:39 am

    I actually looked at UofW when I was in high school. I loved the city of Madison but thought it was too cold. Reading your blog makes me want to go back to visit.

Leave a Reply

