Skip to content

Celebrate Monday

November 15, 2010

This morning, I did not want to get up.  I wanted to stay cuddled under my blanket and snooze the morning away.  Maybe it was the ash colored sky partnered with the ultra-dim sunlight urging me to stay bundled and warm, refusing to start the week.  I allowed myself 6 minutes of extended snooze time, and then awoke to a new decree. 

“No longer will I dread Monday morning – for Mondays are meant to be celebrated!” I said to my reflection as prepared for my day.   Today’s celebration started with a dazzling breakfast while reading scripture and journaling on my back deck – enjoying the day, no matter how dreary.  

Months ago, I came across a fabulously simple recipe for oatmeal pancakes from the darling Kendall.  Taking her lead, back in August I saved the recipe in my blackberry, and this morning, as I made myself a cup of tea, it came to mind.  Fancy (though easy) breakfast on a Monday morning? Sounds like a great way to celebrate to me! 

To add an extra dose of “Wahoo!” to the celebration, I topped my oatmeal pancakes with a few teaspoons of remaining blackberry pie filling from a baking experiment I worked on this weekend.  Followed by a sprinkle of powdered sugar, this breakfast was phenomenal.  

Hooray for Monday!

I plan to celebrate today, do you?  How can you make the simple pleasures of today extra special?

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 11:55 am

    I felt the same way this morning. It was gray and dreary and made me want to curl up in bed for another five hours. I’m pretty sure the simple pleasure that will make it all better is dinner. Then again, work is over by that point…

  2. November 15, 2010 12:52 pm

    Lots of baking going on over here with my mom…a great Monday!

    And a week from tomorrow, you will be herrrrre.

  3. November 15, 2010 12:54 pm

    I’m going to take a nap after work instead of just keeping to work because I have a lot of things to do.

    I am also enjoying my Christmas music and emailing with friends 🙂

  4. November 15, 2010 2:01 pm

    Well, today is the first big, official, measurable snowfall of the year in my neck of the woods, so I celebrated by dancing like a fool around my apartment to “Winter Wonderland”.
    I’m also home alone until late tonight, so I’m going to experiment with dinner. 🙂

  5. November 15, 2010 2:22 pm

    🙂 Everyday should be a celebration. I hope to celebrate today by doing a fun workout and making pizza for dinner!

  6. November 15, 2010 2:23 pm

    Weekends are definitely my favorite part of the week, but I’ve made weekday mornings in general better by writing (usually blogging) every morning when I wake up.

    Now I don’t need quite as much coffee to get me going.

Trackbacks

  1. Nice to Meet You: Fun & Games « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

