Skip to content

Paper Button Flowers [& Giveaway]

November 14, 2010

You’ve heard about my love of buttons and my passion for paper – it’s time to put the two together with another super simple craft of cuteness.  This is a great project to use up scraps of paper and left over buttons from other projects.

104_6491

These paper button flowers were originally designed to be displayed on wire stems, gathered together in a variety of vases as table centerpieces.  Wouldn’t a bouquet of handmade flowers make a great gift for someone you appreciate?

These blossoms would also make great magnets and embellishment to paper crafts.  You could also add a simple jewelry pin backing to make a whimsical broach, or string several of these flowers together to make a strand of colorful garland.   The possibilities are endless with these little flowers of fun. 

104_6476

Materials Needed:
Glue stick, or other adhesive
Embossing thread
Needle
Buttons
Paper (I like to use a variety of colors and patterns)
Flower and/or Circle hole punches or stencils

Notes about punches and stencils:
There are so many products available in craft stores and on the net for you to reach the same results.  For our flowers, we had several different punches – both flower shaped, plain circles, and scalloped edge circles. 

One brand of punch I really like is fiskars – they have both traditional punches and squeeze punches in shapes that would work for this project.   You also may be able to find a variety pack of punches which gives the same shape in several sizes. 

You could also use a stencil that has several shapes and sizes of flowers to trace and cut your shapes.  Or, consider using a circle cutter (this one by Martha Stewart Crafts is a favorite product of mine) to achieve a variety of circle sizes. 

Instructions:
Step 1: Punch or cut out flower and circle shapes from your paper. 

104_6482

Heather’s Suggestion: I like to start with a pile of pieces in different shapes, colors, and sizes.  I like choices.

104_6488

Step 2: Pull 3-5 shapes of various sizes whose colors/patterns complement each other and try stacking them.  Find a button that goes well with the flower pieces. 

104_6497104_6501

Don’t be afraid to mix up colors and patterns.

104_6495

Step 3: Using your glue stick, put your paper stack together. 

104_6503104_6504104_6505104_6506

Step 4:  Thread your needle with embroidery thread.  Punch the needle through the bottom of the flower.

104_6512104_6516

Step 5: Now sew the button onto the paper flower.  Tie the thread into a knot on the back of the flower and trim with scissors.

104_6518104_6519104_6521104_6522

There you have it – you can have a plethora of flowers in a matter of minutes!

104_6526

Heather’s Suggestion: You can also stack two buttons atop one another for an added extra detail.

104_6528104_6529

Handmade Christmas Giveaway:
I’m sending two THS readers a set of these wonderful paper button flowers!  To enter this giveaway, by Friday, November 19th at noon eastern time, leave a comment here answering the following question:

What is your favorite type of flower? 

104_6492

21 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2010 12:14 pm

    cuuuute!!!! My favorite flowers are peonies.

  2. November 14, 2010 12:24 pm

    Lilies!

  3. November 14, 2010 12:31 pm

    My favorite flowers are Gerbera daisies and, of course, the handmade THS magnet flower we have on the fridge!

  4. Jenn permalink
    November 14, 2010 12:51 pm

    I love peonies as well! This looks like a craft project that even I could do! thanks heather!

  5. November 14, 2010 1:28 pm

    Wow! These are so adorable! I’m definitely going to make this with some magnets on the back for my fridge!!

  6. November 14, 2010 5:18 pm

    I like all kinds of lillies and roses 🙂

  7. November 14, 2010 5:28 pm

    my favorite flower is the gerbera daisy!

  8. November 14, 2010 6:12 pm

    Calla lilies and hyacinth. I had them both at my wedding. 🙂

  9. kayejohn permalink
    November 14, 2010 7:16 pm

    Heather! These are adorable! ohmygoodness.

    My favorite flowers are apple blossoms. 🙂 and pretty much any color of tulip.

  10. November 14, 2010 7:49 pm

    These are so cute! I love daisies, lilies and hydrangea! And many more, too. But the wildflowers in Texas in the springtime are pretty amazing.

  11. Micki permalink
    November 14, 2010 7:57 pm

    I totes feel special because you sent me a bunch of these last year. :] They are still on my fridge! But now that I know how to make them I’ll have to make some and give them to people as Christmas gifts…

  12. November 14, 2010 8:04 pm

    SO cute! I think I need to make these as gift tags for Christmas!

  13. November 15, 2010 9:33 am

    These are seriously, absolutely adorable!!!!

    Daisies are my favorite flower – especially the big Geber Daisies.

  14. Sarah Macek permalink
    November 15, 2010 10:34 am

    The Gerber Daisy is my favorite.
    Funny story. My mom took my then 3 year-old, Robbie, to Bible study one day. He got out of the car and spotted some dandelions, which I’d been fighting in my own yard for years. He said, “Look, Grammy! It’s Mom’s favorite flower!” Guess he thought I loved them since I had so many in my grass!!

  15. November 15, 2010 10:52 am

    I love lilies! Tulips aren’t too shabby either 🙂

  16. gramshugs permalink
    November 15, 2010 4:54 pm

    i am so brain dead when it comes to crafting…you really take after your mom…and by the way…i LOVE…CARNATIONS

  17. November 16, 2010 7:01 pm

    My favorite flower is the daffodil … hard to make one of those out of paper, but I’d like to try. Those flowers are so cute! I love doing crafty type things … I used to do counted cross stitch, but find I no longer have the time (or the eyesight).

  18. Laura permalink
    November 19, 2010 8:45 am

    Sunflowers! I love them! They make me so happy any time of any day!

  19. November 19, 2010 9:10 am

    stargazer lilies!

Trackbacks

  1. Garden of Life « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

