Skip to content

Beyond the Mirror

November 12, 2010

I’m Heather.

[source]

I like to do the dishes first thing in the morning.  I mean FIRST thing in the morning. Open eyes, roll out of bed, stumble to the sink and scrub each plate, fork, and glass I used the day before.  I have no idea why; maybe it comes from a desire to start anew each day.  Maybe it’s the repetition of the ritual – rinse, scrub, rinse – all while thinking about the day ahead.  Maybe there is no reason at all.

I prefer crushed ice to cubed ice, but would rather have no ice.  I like it best when liquid is room temperature of just slightly warmer.  Unless it’s a margarita or beer, and only when I am in a margarita or beer mood. (read: fiesta, on the terrace, or a Wisconsin sporting event)  Even so, I’d choose red wine any day of the week. 

It baffled me at first, because I always thought I would never be a wine drinker due to the women with the strongest influence in my life, my mother and best friend Danielle, preferring white wine and my not being able to take much more than 3 sips of the stuff every time I tried in their presence.  Then I asked my Dad to be in charge of a Shugarman Family wine tasting while I was home a few Christmases ago, and low and behold, I just needed the full bodied pleasantries of a Cab to open me up to the goodness of the grape. 

I’m much more interested in American History as an adult than I ever was as a formal student. This may have something to do with my favorite show in the history of television being The West Wing.  Or it may have something to do with my time in 2nd grade. 

For my social studies fair entry, I made a calendar full of Presidential Fun Facts.  Birthdays, anniversaries, vetoes, important speeches, and so much more. Back then, I imagine I could talk about the Presidents for hours.  When I was in the second grade I could name each President and tell you a little bit about them.  When I was in the second grade, I was interested, but I have no idea why.

I’m not too sure what happen several years later when I was in high school in small town Wisconsin, taking US History I, and II, and even III.  I didn’t care much for learning about what had gone on during the birth or building of our nation.  Even when the Presidential names I had loved as a child were tossed around in the air.  But several years later, I found myself interested in all things Presidential – sharing fun facts and memorizing flash cards.

I like the number 6.  I also like the number 8, but I like the number 6 much better.  If a plural-digit number has a 6 in it, I deem it lucky.  Sometimes I wish on the number 6, the way people wish on shooting stars.

Your turn to share! Tell me some random bits of information about you.  What is beyond your mirror?

22 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2010 10:19 am

    Did you know that is the first thing my husband does in the morning too? 5am, he is up doing the dishes, or unloading the dishwasher.

  2. November 12, 2010 10:27 am

    Cute post! 6 is my all time favorite # … there is just something so darn cute about it. I love to do the dishes the night before and waking up to everything clean! LOVE to drink coffee in my pj’s and “read the paper” … aka … clip coupons and read the cartoons!

  3. November 12, 2010 10:44 am

    We are so much a like! Not the dishwashing bit.. I dont wash dishes ever.

    BUT you know my obsession with presidents..and really, the revolutionary war. Gosh, I love that time period.

    And I don’t like ice in my drinks either!! Not at all! My husband thinks I’m weird.

  4. November 12, 2010 10:50 am

    1. I have a reading problem. Whether it’s eating, in bed, or in a hot bath, I must have a book with me at all times. I swear, I think it’s a compulsive disorder 🙂

    2. I have been obsessed with all things Welsh since I was 12 years old. I own the Rosetta Stone Welsh lessons. And I’m not Welsh nor have any personal connection to Wales.

    3. I prefer takeout leftovers (any kind) for breakfast. I don’t enjoy them as much for lunch or dinner, but for breakfast, heck yeah!

  5. November 12, 2010 10:53 am

    Want to sleep over my house? I have a full sink waiting for ya…

    I used to hate red, too. My mother only drinks white so I figured I’d be like that. But now I love it. I love it more than white. And of all alcoholic drinks, red wine is my favorite. Go figure.

    When I was learning about the presidents in elementary school my parents got me a book with rhymes that related to each president’s term. (So Washington’s was about being the first, Lincoln’s was about freeing the slaves.) This is the only one I remember in full:

    Calvin Coolidge, Coolidge Cal
    Penny pincher; corporate pal

  6. November 12, 2010 11:10 am

    I like the number 5! (at my first synchronized swimming nationals, we placed 5th- and I loved the number ever since).

  7. November 12, 2010 11:34 am

    Beyond my mirror:
    I am a super picky beer drinker. I would rather not drink when I go out than drink beer I do not like.
    I have gotten reliant upon on yoga mat time in the morning and seriously cannot go without it.
    I love to give myself foot massages. Maybe that’s weird, but it feels so amazing.
    I do not like ice in my drinks either, unless they are that same drink in frozen form.

  8. November 12, 2010 11:36 am

    This post is adorable! I love it and I love you!!

  9. November 12, 2010 11:53 am

    I prefer to do dishes in the morning too. In fact, if I don’t do them before I leave for work, they’re probably not getting done that day.

  10. Alcey permalink
    November 12, 2010 12:06 pm

    I like world geography now! I didn’t care too much about it in high school but now it fascinates me. I consider it a sign that I’ve finally recovered from my formal educaton.
    http://www.sheppardsoftware.com/Geography.htm

  11. November 12, 2010 1:16 pm

    I also prefer no ice!

    I like the numbers 7, 9, 11 and 17.

    My cousin’s favourite numbers are 9 and 17. He told me this about ten years ago. Since then, I have made many usernames “alina917” sort of in his honor.

  12. November 12, 2010 3:20 pm

    Hunni does the dishes first thing in the AM…at 5AM!

    I prefer to wear skirt to pants and shorts. Something to do with the fact I didn’t wear them for most of the first 24 years of my life.

    I hate being the passenger in a car. I’m a control freak and have been in far to many accidents at other’s hands.

    I like order and am a neat freak…but my house is messy because I don’t like to clean unless I can make things spotless.

  13. November 12, 2010 3:48 pm

    I love that you love Presidents too 🙂 In fact, I have those exact same flash cards! I will be posting in the near future about the “Decorate a pumpkin like your favorite president” contest I had with my sixth graders this year!!

  14. November 12, 2010 3:53 pm

    Love this post! I was never interested in the presidents until I found out that President McKinley was expelled from my (college) alma mater. I ended up with a minor in Political Science and the US presidency course I took in college was one of my favorite classes ever!

  15. November 12, 2010 5:00 pm

    I WISH I were more interested in history! It bores me. Sad, right?
    Behind the mirror, I find sudoku relaxing and will pull it out when I can’t fall asleep. I have serious portion control problems when it comes to granola. And I show people I care about them by sending homemade cards and baked goods.

  16. November 12, 2010 5:23 pm

    I have a thing for sundresses, and have to keep myself from buying more (working from home, I can’t justify the purchase!)

    I HATE washing silverware. I don’t mind washing other dishes, but silverware? No way.

    I love tea. And cute tea pots. And cute mugs. And unique tea flavors. (Shocking, I know)

    I love Heather! 😉

  17. November 13, 2010 12:07 am

    Good news! I was born on the 6th! You must love me even more now. 😉

  18. November 13, 2010 11:34 am

    Cute post! I have an obsession with paper products. Like cute note pads, to-do lists, post-its. People always know what to get me for birthdays and holidays.

  19. November 13, 2010 12:17 pm

    I love all things President related too! And my favorite show ever (ever!) is The West Wing. I have seen the series more times then I should admit (five maybe…or perhaps six?). So amazing.

  20. November 13, 2010 4:16 pm

    I like reading books about gangs and/or the mafia! Also, pretty much every day I think I have left the straightener on, and I have never actually done that before (paranoia much?!)

Trackbacks

  1. Beyond the Mirror: Inspired by THS « Make me a tree.

Leave a Reply

