Skip to content

Handmade Christmas Kitchen: Cookie Testing

November 10, 2010

My Handmade Christmas Kitchen cookie testing has produced yet another fabulous recipe! Each autumn  for the past several years, I’ve spent some time in the kitchen testing substitutions and experimenting with flavor combinations to find a list of go-to treats to bake for neighbors, coworkers, and ship via Christmas-Cookie-Care-Package to loved ones across the country.  Last night, standing in my kitchen, sipping tea, and starring into my cupboards, I pulled out some old favorite flavors and whipped up a batch of these gems.  Enjoy!

 

Hey Baby, Hey Baby, Hey! Cookies – [aka: Super Simple Soul Sister Cookies Part II]

Ingredients
½ c earth balance, room temperature
1 c whole wheat flour
½ c packed brown sugar
½ c sugar
1 tsp. baking soda
1 c rolled oats
½ c coconut
½ c dark chocolate chips
½ c pecans, chopped
Instructions
Preheat oven to 350.
Beat earth balance (or butter/margarine) with an electric mixer.
Add flour, brown sugar, sugar, and baking soda.  Beat again until mixed.
[SGITKS Assurance: Do not fret if it’s kind of crumbly.]
Add oats, coconut, chips, and pecans.  Stir until combined.
Form into 30 balls and place onto two cookie sheets, giving cookies room to grow by spacing them at least an inch apart.
[SGITKS Assurance: You can use your hands to form the cookies – making the balls by hand is helpful with a crumbly cookie dough.]

Bake for 10 minutes, rotating the pans halfway through for even baking. 
Remove from oven and allow cooling on cookie sheets for 3-4 minutes before transferring to wire racks to cool completely.

 

NUTRITION STATS! [per cookie]

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2010 12:58 pm

    Those actually look pretty delicious. I love the name of them! Anything with coconut and pecans is a winner in my book!

  2. November 10, 2010 1:48 pm

    Thank you Heather! You can have your cakes. You can have your pies. And you can eat ’em too. I’m a sucker for cookies and always looking for good recipes. Plus, this will give be a great excuse to use the new 100% pure raw organic coconut oil that I just purchased (instead of the Earth Balance).

    BTW… what is your opinion of Earth Balance? I haven’t purchased or used it yet. I’m curious of your experience with it. Is it superior to other products in the grocer’s coolers?

    Again, thanks and keep up the great work. Love reading your blog!

  3. November 16, 2010 7:18 pm

    Hi Heather! Well… I made the cookies. Scrambling to find all ingredients I had to get a little creative. Instead of Earth Balance I used a blend of organic raw coconut oil and margarine. I also used Splenda brown sugar. Pecans were too well hidden in the freezer so I used cashew instead. Also chose unsweetened coconut flakes in lieu of sweetened flakes. Oh yeah… No baking soda so I Googled to find that I could substitute baking powder at a 3-to-1 ratio.

    And my verdict? Absolutely OUTSTANDING, Heather! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

    I’ve been looking for a recipe like this one that you so selfishly shared. Uh… Did I forget to say, “Thank you!!!”

Leave a Reply

