Skip to content

Crazy About Tea

November 10, 2010

A month or so ago, when Julie came to visit for a weekend of crafting, we stopped in target for some snacks.  “I’m thinking of getting some dark chocolate peanut M&M’s” she said. 

“I don’t really like M&M’s,” I admitted, just hours before I forced myself to hide the bag.  I couldn’t tear myself away. Turns out I do like M&M’s.

Two weeks later, Julie and Dan came to town for the weekend.  As we perused the menu’s at brunch, I shared that I was going to have to go with a dark roast coffee for a beverage, because “’I’m not crazy about tea.”  After brunch, while shopping in the tea store, Julie helped me find a few flavors I might like, and a love affair was born.  Turns out I don’t just like tea. I LOVE IT.

Five Reasons I Actually May Be “Crazy About Tea”:

VARIETY IN TYPE.  There are several different TYPES of tea and each tea has a unique set of benefits. Antioxidants, calcium, zinc, and more! [check out Julie’s post on Types of Tea for more information. ]

VARIETY IN TASTE. Flavor choices are endless.  It’s hard for me to pick a favorite! Celestial Seasonings alone has over 65 tea flavors listed on their website. (including 5 uber popular holiday teas!)  You might not like EVERY tea flavor out there, but I’d put money on the fact that you can find at least ONE you like in the plethora of options in stores today.

WARMTH. As the temperature continues to drop and the snow begins to fall, I find a mug full of warm tea soothing to not just a sore throat or head cold, but also to my soul.

CAFFIENE CONTENT. I love my caffeine, especially in the form of strong, bitter coffee or espresso drinks – but, admittedly, sometimes I go on a bit of a binge and am faced with a bit of caffeine over-load.  I love that with tea, I can drink a cup or two of the caffeinated stuff, then switch over to one of the many caffeine free flavors I enjoy. 

GO GREEN [even with black, red, or white tea!]. Almost all teabags are compostable – especially those brands which eliminate a tag (& therefore staple!) such as The Republic of Tea, and Celestial Seasonings, which states on their website; “Because these natural fiber tea bags don’t need strings, tags, staples or individual wrappers, we’re able to save more than 3.5 million pounds of waste from entering landfills every year!”

 

More About Tea by Savvy Julie:
How to Brew the Perfect Cup
Loose Leaf vs. Bagged Tea
Cold Brewing Tea

More About Tea Elsewhere:
Brewin Tea from Tina
Blue Green Iced Tea from Taylor
Green Tea Benefits – Fact and Fiction from DailySpark

A Trio of Questions for the Tea Fans!
What’s your favorite type of tea?
I have so many favorites – it’s hard to choose! (The photos throughout this post are a few of my most favorite teas.) I think that Sweet Coconut Thai Chai may take the cake, though.  Or Market Spice Cinnamon-Orange Tea- my parents got it from Seattle and I have been missing it since my last serving!

What’s the last type of “new” tea you tried? Monday I had my first ( & second) cup of Bengal Spice when Cynthia and I shared a pot at the Moon & River.

How do you take your tea?  
I typically drink my tea sweetener and creamer free.

What about you???

27 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2010 2:34 pm

    Mint Medley is the ONLY tea I drink!! I LOVE it! I drink it every morning…and really, I don’t like tea! But the TJ’s candy cane one sounds like I would like it!

  2. November 10, 2010 2:43 pm

    I used to only drink Green Tea – because I thought black tea was too bitter – and I still do drink it sometimes when I’m sick, or don’t need the caffeine.

    Right now I really like black tea’s with a hint of lemon flavor – like Twinings Lemon Twist.

    The most recent tea that I have tried (and that I love, not only for the name) is Stash Christmas Morning. Warms my tummy and my heart 🙂

  3. November 10, 2010 2:48 pm

    Tazo Zen Green Tea…yum yum yum!!!

  4. November 10, 2010 2:56 pm

    yum yum yum! I love the passion tea from Tazo 🙂 I tend to like herbal teas or fruity teas. Sometimes I find black tea to be a bit strong and bitter if I let it steep too long, so I always have to be careful. That Sweet Coconut Thai Tea looks A-M-A-Z-I-N-G !

    The last new tea I tried was one of the testers at teavana… I don’t remember the name lol

  5. November 10, 2010 3:09 pm

    I love tea. I’m much more of a green and black kind of girl. Sometimes I’ll drink herbal, but generally I want either a grassy green or a strong Assam. I love that Tazo Passion tea iced. It’s kind of peppery.

    I did a whole post on the different types of tea (though not herbals) here if you’re interested: http://www.notsuperhuman.com/2009/12/the-skinny-on-tea/

  6. November 10, 2010 3:11 pm

    I love tea too! Especially some of the ones you highlighted — Celestial Seasonings Morning Thunder, Bengal Spice (fantastic with vanilla almond milk!), Sleepytime, Tension Tamer, Blueberry something or other (can’t remember the official name, but it’s blueberry!). I also like Bigelow’s Constant Comment and Lemon Lift
    But my absolute favorite tea of all time is Harney and Sons Hot Cinnamon Spice. You MUST try it. Must. I don’t think Harney and Sons is sold in grocery stores, but many coffee shops and specialty stores sell that brand and the Hot Cinnamon Spice is worth the effort to find it.
    I’m so going to try that TJ green candy cane you mentioned!

  7. November 10, 2010 4:12 pm

    I love peppermint teas! Candy cane, mint flavored green tea (ala Tazo’s Zen), anything minty is good in my book!

    Also, thanks for reminding me I need to stock up on herbal teas at work now that the cold is setting in!

  8. November 10, 2010 4:16 pm

    I LOVE tea, but what I really REALLY love about it is the convenience- all you need is hot water and a tea bag!

  9. November 10, 2010 6:27 pm

    I love tea! All year long, but especially in the winter. I’m also a fan of Passion but go for spice and peppermint in the winter months. Mmmm.

  10. November 10, 2010 6:36 pm

    I love iced green tea. We always kept mason jars of it in the fridge ready to go when I was growing up. Otherwise, sometimes I’ll have a cup of decaf Earl Grey with a little sugar and milk before bed–it’s such a cozy and relaxing drink!

  11. November 10, 2010 6:44 pm

    I heart tea (duh). All tea. But especially chai.

    Thanks for all the link love 🙂

  12. November 10, 2010 8:15 pm

    My absolute favorite is Sugar cookie by Celestial Seasonings. Tastes like Christmas.

    The newest one I tried was Cinnamon Vanilla Black tea. It was recommended by Katie and I loved it 🙂

    I love tea I can drink straight up. Some of the darker varieties need just a dash of honey. And when I’m feeling European I love to add a splash of coconut milk 😉

  13. Laura permalink
    November 10, 2010 10:20 pm

    I am obsessed with tea. Since I’m allergic to coffee, tea its my only caffiene source. I grew up drinking plain black tea, but about a year so I made the main switch to green. I buy family sized iced green tea bags by tazo at target and brew them with flavored green tea bags (lipton blueberry and purple acai is my fave) to make flavored green tea at home. I drink this every day. I also love stash morrocan mint green tea and the celestial seasonings holiday teas of candy cane (green tea) and sugar cookie.

    My favorite black tea is earl grey but I also lovvvvvve plain unsweet iced black tea. The stronger, the better. I never sweeten my teas! When I was a kid I used to doctor my iced tea with lemon and sugar and my grandpa

    • Laura permalink
      November 10, 2010 10:23 pm

      Hit publish on my phone before I was finished. damnit.

      Anyway, my grandpa chewed me for doctoring my tea because in the army they had to drink it straight so I made the switch and never went back!

      Ps remember when we added fruit tea bags to nalgene bottles and called it something completely ridiculous!

  14. November 10, 2010 10:57 pm

    I love tea so much. A lot of different kinds, too. A few weeks ago I bought a box of Celestial Seasonings Bengal Spice and all I have left now is one lonely bag. I’m saving it for a fun day.

    One of my life goals is to try every single Celestial Seasonings tea produced. They’re my favorite company.

  15. November 11, 2010 8:08 am

    Oooh…
    Peppermint herbal I think is my #1, followed closely by vanilla rooibos. I do agree that you have to take the time to find teas you really like, though. I know I don’t like plain black or plain green teas, and in general I prefer red, white, or herbals.
    When I was little, I would have “tea parties” with my grandma with actual tea, but I put so much milk, sugar, and honey in them that I was basically drinking sugared up milk. Now, I usually take them unsweetened, or with just a touch of honey.

  16. November 11, 2010 8:38 am

    Man, everyone finds all these amazing teas! No fair! Most of the “special” teas I find you have to steep. I want good fun tea in a BAG! 🙂

  17. November 11, 2010 8:43 am

    I love tea too….and I’d be hard pressed to pick a favorite. I start every day with a basic black tea, but I usually have something else in the afternoon as well. Chai, green, rooibos…I’ve never met a tea I didn’t like!

    The black tea gets milk and sugar, most other things just stay plain the the way they are…depending on my mood 🙂

  18. Michelle M. permalink
    November 11, 2010 9:13 am

    My favorite tea right now is Republic of Tea’s Raw Green Bush Plantain Coconut. YUM! Hot or cold, with or without extra splenda. MMMMM!!!!!

  19. November 11, 2010 9:20 am

    I drink 3-4 cups of tea a day! My current favorites- Mighty Leaf Rainforest Mate and Good Earth Sweet and Spicy.

  20. November 11, 2010 1:28 pm

    I always forget to buy tea at the store, but now I’ve been reminded to add it to my grocery list. I’m so in the mood for peppermint tea!

  21. November 11, 2010 3:07 pm

    Right now my fav tea is Yogi’s Chai tea with lots of honey! 🙂

  22. Kaley permalink
    November 11, 2010 4:33 pm

    I love English Breakfast! My boyfriend, who is Spanish, got me hooked on it. Funny how those things work.

  23. Jenn permalink
    November 11, 2010 5:12 pm

    Since I quit drinking coffee…. sigh, I miss it… I drink Tulsi teas. Not only is it a brand but another name for Holy Basil. Which is supposed to have a calming effect. I have been drinking this for almost two months every morning with a teaspoon of Agave.
    I too did not think that I liked teas but, I really do. I like Tazos refresh with that little bit of lemon balm flavor and adore a wonderful peppermint tea. Next time I am in Trader Joes I will have to look for that Candy Cane Green tea… it sounds marvelous!
    What really got me onto drinking tea was when I was singing, I was told that caffiene stresses the vocal chords so on the mornings I was singing I would drink a tea called Throat Coat…. especially at the first sign of throat stress. It was marvelous with a bit of honey and lemon…. LOL… to coat the throat!

  24. November 11, 2010 8:50 pm

    Black tea. Milk. 2 sugars. I mean, hey, it’s England. 🙂

  25. rosebeezy permalink
    November 12, 2010 10:14 am

    You must check out Yogi Teas (yogiproducts.com) I absolutely love the flavors I’ve tried. They’re very strange mixtures. But I am the same way, I used to hate green tea and now I have about a cup a day most the time. Hahaa, funny how our tastes change like that. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Celebrate Monday « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

