Skip to content

Paper Craft: Pretty Clippy [& Giveaway]

November 9, 2010

[inspired by: clothes pin magnets]

I’m always on the look out for inspiration to bring a bit of extra special to the everyday. When I came across a tutorial for turning plain wooden clothes pins into beautiful magnets, I knew I needed to get to work on a transformation.104_6212104_6213104_6218

Materials:
Clothes Pins
Paper
Paper cutter
Modge Podge
Foam Brush
Magnets
Hot Glue/Strong Glue

Tip: I reuse washed out yogurt containers as dishes to poor Modge Podge into.  A shallow container is easier to use then dipping directly into the jar and it’s a good place to keep your brush when not in use.

Instructions:

104_6217

1. Measure clothes pin and cut paper according to size using your paper cutter.  I I like to trim my paper a smidge bigger than the clothes pin which gives it a little bit of overhang. 

104_6219104_6220

2. Using your foam brush, smear clothes pin with Modge Podge.

104_6227

3. Add strip of paper.  Hold in place for a few second until adhesive begins to set.  

104_6224

4. Add a swipe of Modge Podge over the top of the paper. This will help set it, as well as give it a gloss finish (if you have the gloss-finish variety, of course.)

104_6228

5. Allow pins to dry.

104_6240

6. Add magnets to back of the clips.  Even though the magnets have a sticky adhesive side, I still attach them with hot glue for extra oomph.  You can find magnets of different strengths. The circle magnets above are stronger than the strips of magnets I cut off of a roll of magnet tape. 

104_6230

A set of these magnet clippies would make a great stocking stuffer, or small gift.  You could also add them to other gifts in a personalized color or theme for an added touch. Don’t these clothes pins look great with photos of your favorite city or a special location, gift cards, or a membership or club card?  You could also make some homemadecoupons” for a loved one. 

104_6438104_6439104_6440104_6441

Handmade Christmas GIVEAWAY:

Want your own group of four magnetic pretty clippy clothes pins?  I’ve made an extra set to giveaway to one of you!  If you want a chance to win, simply leave a comment here.  No muss, no fuss. 🙂 You have until noon eastern Friday, November 12th to enter.

29 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2010 7:37 am

    They are lovely. You are soooo creative.

    Also, let’s go to Moon & River again next week. We can just move in there.

  2. Aimee S permalink
    November 9, 2010 7:40 am

    Cute I love them! Of course we always have things stuck to our refrigerator, usually something to do with the kids, much to Michael’s dismay!

    As I am very cheap, instead of buying magnets, I use the freebie magnets you get in the mail and hot glue them to whatever it is. I get realtor magnets, church magnets, you name it. Save em up, cut them, and use!
    -Aimee

    • November 9, 2010 7:42 am

      I do the same thing! I got one an 8×11 sized one in a race packet this summer and have been saving it for some upcoming crafts!!!

  3. November 9, 2010 8:01 am

    I need to get on finishing my pushpin version for my inspiration board! Great tutorial. xoxo

  4. Kristen permalink
    November 9, 2010 8:04 am

    This is so creative! These would look great on the refrigerator too to hold all my son’s art work!

  5. November 9, 2010 8:46 am

    These are adorable! I love the idea of clipping gift cards to them. I’d probably keep them for myself though (greedy) and flip them upside down to hold photos in on my desk. If the clip won’t tumble over.

  6. November 9, 2010 9:10 am

    I love how creative you are! You have definitely pushed me to be more creative with my gifting this year! 🙂

  7. carrie permalink
    November 9, 2010 9:21 am

    How precious these are, Heather!

  8. Michelle M permalink
    November 9, 2010 9:26 am

    These are very cute. I can see a set holding my son’s artwork up on the fridge. 🙂

  9. November 9, 2010 9:36 am

    Those are adorable! I’m defintiely a bit envious of your craftiness. I try, but it’s usually pretty fail whale.

  10. November 9, 2010 10:00 am

    Wow this is something I could totally do! So neat and fun! I love presenting a gift card or photo with them like you displayed! I’d love to win! 🙂

  11. November 9, 2010 10:04 am

    Those are so cute, I’m loving this series!

  12. November 9, 2010 11:28 am

    Those are super clever. I really want to do some crafty things sometime soon. Maybe this weekend!

  13. November 9, 2010 11:34 am

    Those are absolutely adorable! I’d love to win the set!

  14. November 9, 2010 11:51 am

    These are adorable! Hopefully I can find time this winter to make these!!

  15. November 9, 2010 11:52 am

    You are so crafty! Great tutorial 🙂

  16. November 9, 2010 12:33 pm

    These are adorable! And I love handmade Christmas – I’m definitely making those button earrings for friends!!

  17. Lacey Q permalink
    November 9, 2010 12:43 pm

    So adorable! Super easy project to make as Christmas gifts! Love it!

  18. November 9, 2010 12:48 pm

    Those are adorable! Anything to keep me and my family organized and my favorite part is they are handmade! Great job!!

  19. Mom permalink
    November 9, 2010 1:46 pm

    cute, cute ,cute! If I don’t win, will you make me some for Christmas?

    • November 9, 2010 1:48 pm

      Of course I will!

      Also – don’t expect to be surprised by anything you receive this year if you continue reading my blog for the next 2 months 😉

      LOVE YOU, Mom!

  20. November 9, 2010 5:18 pm

    Those would be perfect to go on my fridge and hold up the new photos I just got printed of me and my dad 🙂

  21. Sarah permalink
    November 9, 2010 6:35 pm

    Super cute, Heather! And so are the Clippies!!! Love them!

  22. gramshugs permalink
    November 9, 2010 11:48 pm

    DITTO…what MOM had to say…LOVE Gram

  23. November 10, 2010 6:25 am

    Yay, so very cute! -Mod Podge Amy

  24. November 10, 2010 9:03 am

    Heather! What an awesome, simple idea! You were always so creative as our RA back in the day, I just love following your Blog! I’m trying a few Homemade gifts of my own this year, thanks to your inspiration!

    • November 10, 2010 9:47 am

      What a nice surprise to get a comment from you, my dear! Thank you for your sweet words! xo

  25. November 11, 2010 7:27 am

    We give away chip clips at work with our logo on them so naturally I have a few on my fridge at home and holding bags together. But those would look so much cuter on my fridge and around the kitchen. Sorry CCCU! but they would!

Trackbacks

  1. Giveaway Winner! « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

