Skip to content

Fiesta in Your Mouth

November 8, 2010

Got the Monday blues?  This should cheer you right up.  Trust me on this one, it’s a winner. 

Recently, I was contacted by the folks at Lucky Leaf asking if I would be interested in reviewing some of their pie fillings.  I was super excited to see a trio of flavors arrive a few days later.

104_6342

I scaled the internet, cookbooks, and my memory in search of a winning dessert to use in my taste testing.  When I was looking through my recipe box, I came across an old favorite that I received years ago from my mom’s best friend, Miss Judi.  It’s simply titled “Fiesta Cake” and I’ve used this easy dessert as a go-to for last minute dinner parties and treats to take to the office for birthday celebrations.  The original recipe, typed on a small note card, lists only four ingredients, but I was feeling extra creative in my simplicity and added a little pizzazz to the topping of the cake.

 

The instructions are so simple that it’s almost criminal to consider this a "recipe.”  Though, the results are so tasty that it doesn’t SEEM effortless – don’t you LOVE when that happens?104_6351

Ingredients 
1 can crushed pineapple
1 can pie filling, (I used Lucky Leaf’s blueberry – but any berry or cherry flavor will do)
1 box yellow cake mix
1/2 c butter or substitute, (the recipe called for 1 c, but using 1/2 worked just as well!)
1 c chopped pecans
2/3 c shredded coconut

 

Instructions
1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2) In a 9×13 baking dish, spread the pineapple, followed by the pie filling and cake mix. Slice/cut butter into pieces and place evenly over the top of the layers.

104_6359104_6360104_6367104_6370

3) Bake for 30 minutes.
4) While in oven, chop pecans. (this was the first time I used this hand-me-down mini processor – LOVED IT.)

104_6373104_6375

5) Remove cake from oven, top with pecans and coconut.

104_6382104_6380

6) Return to oven for 30 minutes.   104_6386

7) Remove from oven and let cool for at least 30 minutes before serving.

104_6464

So simple!  Fiesta cake is delightful served warm or room temperature.  This dish is great for sharing or serving a group. 

 

104_6328

What did I think about Lucky Leaf? 
Pie filling is something I typically purchase when I have a specific recipe in mind that I plan on making.  I don’t have a preferred brand, and usually just look for what is on sale. 

Compared to other blueberry pie filling I’ve had in the past, I really liked that Lucky Leaf was loaded with plump blueberries. It wasn’t 100% gel like other brands I’ve had; you could clearly see there was fruit inside.  It baked well, and the teaspoon I added to my plain Greek yogurt was a nice addition as well 😉

You can expect to see further thoughts on Lucky Leaf, and two additional recipes when I use the cherry and blackberry filling.

Do you have a favorite “throw together” recipe?  What’s your favorite dessert to make for potlucks and dinner parties?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2010 5:01 am

    That indeed is a fiesta in the mouth, the recipe looks so mouth watering and delicious, cant wait to try this one out.

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  2. November 8, 2010 7:44 am

    Love the blueberry + pineapple combo!

  3. November 8, 2010 8:07 am

    Looks tasty!! Yum!

  4. November 8, 2010 8:38 am

    Yum! This looks just like a recipe my mom used to use when I was younger, but she called it “dump cake” because you just dump all the ingredients into a dish and bake it!

    I like how you combined 2 unlikely flavor combos! I have a feeling that blueberry filling was delicious!

  5. November 8, 2010 10:24 am

    My mom makes that cake with cherry pie filling, but she calls it dump cake. I like fiesta cake better! It’s one of my favorites. I think I might have to have her make it soon!

  6. November 8, 2010 1:58 pm

    That cakes looks amazing! Yummy!

  7. November 8, 2010 4:09 pm

    This cake was so good. I may have had some with my breakfast this morning. And will for dessert after dinner today. 😀

Trackbacks

  1. Celebrate Monday « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

