Skip to content

Moon & River

November 5, 2010

After voting on Election Day, Rebecca and I took a trip to the Moon & River Cafe in Schenectady.  The Moon & River is a little comfy coffee house serving 90% Vegetarian food.  Their menu is large, and when you walk in you truly feel like you just arrived at your neighbors house for some chit chatting over snacks and tea.  Or, in Rebecca’s case, pineapple juice.

IMG00581

I used to think that I didn’t really tea, but I’m finding myself ordering it more and more often.  I think Julie is rubbing off on me!  

104_6281

I’m kind of obsessed with tea by the pot as of late. A bit ironic because I no longer live at home, or even in the same state as my parents.  My mom has an AWESOME teapot collection that I could definitely be putting to use. Back in the day my friend Mary and I knew how to put Mom’s collection to use.

mayandmyteaparty

The set up is cozy, with a mismatch of kitchen tables and chairs, a few couches and big arm chairs perfect for reading a book or hanging out with friends.  There is also a shelf full of games and puzzles tucked into the corner, encouraging patrons to linger.

104_6294

The food is just a notch above simple, but with a menu which overflows with Vegetarian and Vegan options we took a good 15 minutes to decide what we wanted to order.  We started by splitting a hummus platter which we both felt pretty “meh.” about.

104_6292For my main course I ordered the “California” sandwich, which was delicious avocado, tomato, cheese and a smear of mayo on a hearty grained bread.  My sandwich was nothing extra ordinary, but it REALLY hit the spot.  It reminded me of a sandwich I used to order at the Wingra cafe at Edgewood College. Love that nostalgia of the taste buds!104_6298

We ended our night with dessert (chocolate cream pie for Rebecca, carrot cake for me) and a game of checkers.  The Moon & River offers live music every night of the week starting at 8:00 PM, and I’m happy to have found a homey little place to hang out with friends.  I am looking forward to another visit.  Anyone want to split a pot of tea?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2010 7:49 am

    Me me me! I’ll split some tea with you 🙂

  2. November 5, 2010 8:06 am

    I’m thinking we should do brunch there on Sunday after the race! 😀

  3. gramshugs permalink
    November 5, 2010 2:32 pm

    i’m accepting the invite…whenever i can get there

  4. November 6, 2010 8:10 am

    You know I’m up for that! Friend-Date day?

  5. November 8, 2010 8:06 am

    I loved our date. Let’s go again soon! ❤

Trackbacks

  1. Crazy About Tea « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

