Skip to content

Meet the THS Intern

November 5, 2010

I’ve gotten a lot of questions about having an intern; why do I have one, what does he do, does he get my coffee, and most often, “Are you serious?”  

Yes, I’m serious.  I have an intern for a variety of reasons, but mostly because we both have something to offer one another.  It’s a fair barter agreement (my favorite kind of trade! love the barter!), and in it’s early stages.  This is not my first intern experience, but this my first blog-intern experience; and so far I love it!

Because so many were curious, I collected a group of questions from readers and friends for the THS intern.  Here’s your chance to get to know one of my favorite New Yorkers!

 
rich1

Tell us a little about yourself.
Well my name’s Rich. I’m 19 and in my second year at Hudson Valley Community College. I’m a songwriter and a follower of Jesus. I work in a coffee shop and I book musicians to perform there on weekends.

How did you meet Heather?
She was spending close to every night in the coffee shop where I work and we kind of met by default.

What are you studying in school?
I’m currently fulfilling general education requirements, but I’d like to transfer into a documentary filmmaking program.

rich 2

What would you do with a million dollars?
Give $100,000 to God (then pray about an offering), pay off debt, and help a lot of people out, in that order.

Who is your favorite President?
Honest Abe.

Best book you’ve read this year?
LOL – only book I’ve read this year? Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller.

rich 3

Why did you want to be the THS Intern?
I thought it would be a great experience. I am excited to get to know Heather better and learn the effectiveness of social media, as well as develop some healthy living habits.

What do you do as Heather’s Intern?
Besides make coffee? So far I am learning to use Twitter to promote the blog. I’ll be handling some email correspondence and learning tricks with Google as well.

One healthy decision you’ve made today?
Ate at Subway instead of the pizza place. If that counts.

rich 4

How do you like your coffee?
All the time. No, it depends where it’s from. To me, coffee is good if I can drink it black. If it needs some sprucing up, I’ll work with it. And sometimes I’m just in a cream and sugar mood. Also, caramel lattes are my favorite.

What is the exact measurement of syrup that Heather likes in her latte?
Syrups go by seconds, and Heather likes 1/3 the normal amount (a TIIIIIINY bit), or about 2 seconds.

Do you know what a green monster is?
Yes! It’s a smoothie.

rich 6

Do you have a blog?
Technically, I have two. I post lyrics in a blog at richardsarnacki.wordpress.com and rant about my life as a Christian on Tumblr at richsarnacki.tumblr.com. I don’t know if you’d count either one as a blog.

Why are you interested in social media – what about social media interests you, what do you want to learn more about?
It’s amazing to me how powerful a force social media has become, and I’d like to understand exactly what makes it so appealing to people. I’d like to learn what makes promotion effective using these tools and how to include the people I’m promoting things to in the process.

Can you name 5 Healthy Living Bloggers/Blog titles?
Uh oh. With or without looking?

rich 5 You can find Rich on twitter @THSintern, on his tumblr, or check out his lyric blog. Drop Rich a note at thenheathersaidintern (at) gmail.com.

 

Do you have any additional questions for Rich, or about the internship in general?  Let’s hear ‘em!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Brandi permalink
    November 5, 2010 11:46 am

    I love this! How fun to learn more about you!

    Also – Blue Like Jazz is one of my FAVORITE books. Ever.

  2. November 5, 2010 12:26 pm

    Hello Intern! Subway counts …. it counts! I hope you handle some of my email correspondence one day.

  3. November 5, 2010 12:59 pm

    What is the exact measurement of syrup that Heather likes in her latte?

    Syrups go by seconds, and Heather likes 1/3 the normal amount (a TIIIIIINY bit), or about 2 seconds.

    heheeeeeeeeee

  4. November 5, 2010 1:06 pm

    ummmmm I vote THS Intern becomes HLB intern. 😉

    HI RICH!! 😀

  5. November 5, 2010 8:46 pm

    LOL! Yeah Rich! He makes great coffee and has awesome conversation. Can’t wait until the next game night because Hunni thought you were awesome too!

  6. November 6, 2010 7:14 pm

    You are fabulous.

  7. November 6, 2010 7:24 pm

    Hey, we’re the same age! Except I can not grow a beard that good. Not at all…

  8. November 7, 2010 6:49 pm

    I will now attempt to reply to each comment in this single comment:

    Evan – That’s great to know. I kept remarking to Heather that everyone is older than me in the area of blogging she’s involved in. Good to know I’m not alone! The pics with the beard are all old because one day I thought it was a time for a trim and discovered that the beard was no longer growing in certain patches, so now I can’t grow a beard that good either.

    Annecalista – Thank you.

    It All Changes – Hunni must be your husband? Haha, we’ll have to talk to Heather about getting on that.

    Lindsey – Hello! Might I suggest we wait and see how the whole THS internship goes, first!

    Rosey Rebecca – Isn’t she ridiculous? ;]

    Hangry Pants – I think I’ll be learning the email stuff soon. I hope the same. =]

    Brandi – Great to hear that! What is the part that leaves the biggest impression on you?

    • November 7, 2010 8:43 pm

      Rich,

      Oh, I know how ridiculous she is! I order (and make) my lattes the same way! I’ve also been there to hear her order! 🙂

      In fact, that was my questions. heheee ❤ 🙂

      Good job, THS Intern! We love you!

      • November 7, 2010 8:45 pm

        Also, I like to comment on Heather’s blog from my class blog user name sometimes.

        😛

Leave a Reply

