Skip to content

I Bet You Didn’t Know

November 3, 2010

I bet you didn’t know that I used to be a Dancing Water Animal at America’s Laaaaaaaaaaaargest Waterpark, in the beautiful Wisconsin Dells. 

I bet you didn’t know that I was also often the voice you heard over the intercom in the late afternoon and evenings, reminding you to “please consider waterproof sunscreen as part of your Noah’s Ark experience.  The sun’s rays are very intense, even on overcast days. Thank you, and enjoy the remainder of your stay at Noah’s Ark!”

I bet you didn’t know that I can also still recite announcements for Dippin Dots, karaoke, and Closing Time. 

I bet you didn’t know that a handful of high school friends worked in the Dells, too.  We would meet after work for milkshakes, or pizza.  We would share rides and bread sticks. We would return to Lodi each fall with a new understanding of one another. 

I bet you didn’t know that while working at the water park, I made friends from all over the world.  Learning how to sing “Itzy, Bitzy, Spider” in Finnish, and that in Hungary, frogs don’t ribbit, they “baraaack-baraaak”.

I bet you didn’t know that I worked at the water park for four years, even though I didn’t know how to swim. 

I bet you didn’t know that on days I wasn’t in costume, I hosted the Water Animal Show.  Singing and dancing with my best friends: Wally, Henrietta, Ally and Ben. Acting out scenes from famous movies and making toddlers giggle.

I bet you didn’t know that I can only jazz hand with my right hand; that my left hand just flops like a dead fish. 

I bet you didn’t know that I can’t really carry a tune, and was the student director of the Lodi High School Show Choir for a reason.

I bet you didn’t know that it never really mattered to me. 
I bet you didn’t know that it still doesn’t matter as I continue to remember lyric to that 30 minute show, along with choreography, by heart.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 5:05 am

    I did 🙂

  2. November 3, 2010 7:09 am

    First of all, baraaack baraaaaack makes more sense for a frog noise…isn’t that what they really sound like?

    Secondly, I did know that you used to work at the Dells, because every once in awhile, you randomly break out into the announcements. 😉

  3. November 3, 2010 7:41 am

    I love learning these kinds of things about bloggers. So funny. Hey, from the photos it looks like you had fun!

  4. November 3, 2010 8:27 am

    I did know that you worked at Noah's Ark, but I did not know that you were in the animal show!

    How did you get away with working at a water park and not knowing how to swim?

    • November 3, 2010 8:34 am

      A key component was not being a lifeguard 😉

      • November 3, 2010 8:38 am

        True, but why would they not take extra precaution and just train everyone there as a lifeguard to some extent? Although, I suppose jumping into the water to save someone in an animal costume wouldn’t really do much good…… 🙂

  5. November 3, 2010 10:04 am

    I knew none of this.

    But it all made me love you even more.

    Barrrack barrraaak.

  6. November 3, 2010 10:11 am

    oh my gosh you were probably so hot! I used to dress up at the Auntie Anne’s pretzel mascot during baseball games since Auntie Anne’s sponsored the ball toss at the end.. it was fun and I danced around on the field lol

  7. November 3, 2010 10:27 am

    You are 100% correct – you win! I did not know any of this. I also did not know that water parks had animals in costumes 🙂 Love how you rocked the tie-die t-shirt!

  8. November 3, 2010 11:17 am

    Love this! Silly older jobs are awesome and tell so much about how fun you are!

  9. November 3, 2010 11:35 am

    That is amazing. This brought such a huge smile to my face, Heather. I had no idea that you were a waterpark animal. I bet the kids loved you! I can swim, but the one thing I have never ever been able to do is dive into the water. It makes no sense, because I can do handstands and such things, but going into the water head first has always terrified. I just can’t do it!

  10. November 3, 2010 12:34 pm

    Frankly, I’m more concerned about the tie-dyed tshirt you were wearing on non costume days…

  11. November 3, 2010 1:36 pm

    That is awesome! I love Noah’s Ark!

  12. November 3, 2010 2:44 pm

    I bet you didn’t know I’m one of the few Chicagoans that has never invaded WI to go to the Dells.

    Apparently that makes me some sort of freak.

  13. November 3, 2010 5:01 pm

    How fun! I guess you always have a backup career, right?? 😉

  14. November 4, 2010 1:30 pm

    Hahaha! Love this! Looks like a fun job 😉

  15. Alison permalink
    November 4, 2010 6:09 pm

    LOVE IT!! I live in Wisconsin too and have been traveling to Noah’s Ark all my life! I know exactly the voice over the intercom you are talking about! Do you still go there in the summer or are you Noah’s Ark-ed out?

  16. Megan Orcholski permalink
    November 4, 2010 8:17 pm

    I knew all of this.
    (At one time or another)

    (Although, your picture is making a pretty pour case for your left hand being unable to jazz hand-it looks pretty promising in that picture)

    Though for different reasons, I believe Noah’s Ark is one of the greatest places on earth.

Leave a Reply

