Skip to content

Fancy Pants Coffee

November 1, 2010
tags:

Usually, I’m a sweatpants and hoodie kind of girl.  If I was able, I would wear some sort of relaxed work out gear to my office every day.  I’d rather sit cross legged in my rolling desk chair, than sit tall with both feet planted firm on the floor any day.  My morning routine takes  17 minutes or less, which is especially helpful on days I wake up 10 minutes before my ride arrives.  (It’s a big day when my hair is dried and not put up in some sort of bun or pony tail.)

I’m more likely to choose to visit a sports bar than a dance club, or the local diner than anywhere that serves five course meals.  I want to split $3 pitchers in a room roaring with laughter, not sip my martini and mingle with class.  My idea of a perfect date would never start with roses, and although I sometimes try and talk a big talk, my vocabulary is ridiculously simple, almost elementary.

Occasionally we all want to be a bit more like someone else.   In the early days of college, a group of girlfriends and I would put on our old prom dresses and go out to dinner, for no other reason than to feel like royalty.  The idea of doing something extravagant to celebrate life does peak my interest and I’d choose a dry red wine 99 times out of 100, when asked what I’d like to sip on during dinner.  Sure, I’d prefer yoga pants to a wrap dress, but there is something extraordinarily “me” in Scarlett O’Hara’s closet; the dress she wore in the opening scene literally made me gasp.  I’d like to attend an opera, and a ballet, and spend the weekend on the courts and greens.  I’d like to be fancy.

Sometimes a single girl has to do what’s necessary to make an ordinary Saturday morning feel extra special.  Sometimes you just have to take matters into your own hands.  Sometimes you just have to be fancy, especially if it’s your own kind of fancy.

Single Girl in Kitchen Situation: Fancy Coffee Drinks

What you need:
Whole Coffee Beans (I like a dark roast)
Unsweetened Coconut
Milk of Choice (I like vanilla Almond Breeze)
H20
Coffee Grinder
Drip Coffee Pot
Frother
Microwavable Cup
Favorite Mug

How Do You Do, Fancy Coffee?

Add beans to grinder.  I used 5 Tablespoons of beans.
Add coconut to grinder. I used 1 Tablespoon of coconut.

Grind. I remembered a few tips I recently read and turned my grinder upside down and gave it a good shake while it was working.

Add coffee and coconut mixture to coffee pot. Add water, too. I used 25 oz of water. Press “Go!” or “Start!” or “Brew!”

As coffee is finishing, poor milk into microwavable cup and heat for 60-90 seconds. I used about 6 oz of milk. When heated, froth with the wand of magic. (aka: frother)

Continue until frothy and creamy.

Pour self mug of coffee. Add milk. Spoon extra froth on top. 

Serve to house guests in similar fashion.
 
Congratulations, Miss Fancy Pants, you just saved yourself $12.  Why don’t you treat yourself to symphony tickets. Or maybe just a Symphony bar and an episode of Top Chef Just Desserts in your old-man navy blue sweats. I’ll let you decide.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 3:24 pm

    I ONLY like fancy pants coffee, and this sounds so good to me. You are gettin’ so darn creative in the kitchen!

  2. November 1, 2010 4:03 pm

    I wish you could see the facial expression I had on my face while reading. Total joyness.

  3. November 1, 2010 5:51 pm

    LOVE this post! It’s so true that “special” is subjective.

  4. November 1, 2010 6:10 pm

    Yeah the coconut is going to good use. I need to get a frother tomorrow with my BBB coupon 🙂 You convinced me!

  5. Liz @ Blog is the New Black permalink
    November 1, 2010 8:08 pm

    Haha, love this post! Great work.

  6. November 2, 2010 10:18 am

    “Or maybe just a Symphony bar and an episode of Top Chef Just Desserts in your old-man navy blue sweats.”

    hahaha LOVE.

    this is why we make great friends. I’m uber simple as well. I honestly only wear luon 95% of my life now lol.

  7. November 2, 2010 12:23 pm

    I need a frother. I used to have an espresso machine, but I gave it away because I barely used it. Reading this makes me really regret that decision…
    As for getting ready in the morning: blowdriers are over rated. Ponytails, FTW.

Leave a Reply

