Skip to content

Super Simple Soul Sister Cookies

October 28, 2010

Earlier this week, my good friend, Cynthia, came over to visit.  I had such a great time chatting with her, and she really lifted my spirits at a time when I was letting my injured ankle get the best of my attitude.  She brought me dinner, put leftovers in my fridge for me to eat throughout the week, and showered me with love.  We had planned on making cookies together that night, but the conversation was just too good to break for some time in the kitchen.  Instead, we sat on the living room floor sipping coffee and exchanging stories for several hours.   

Late into the evening, when Cynthia was getting ready to depart, she handed over the cookie ingredients she had brought to my apartment with instructions to “bake when necessary.”  Last night, cookies were necessary, and I put together this recipe.  These cookies may not be the healthiest in terms of nutrition, but when it comes to being good for the soul, they have my vote.
  

Super Simple Soul Sister Cookies

 Ingredients 

1/2 earth balance (or, you know, butter), room temperature.
1 egg
1 c flour
1/2 c sugar
1/2 c brown sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 c unsweetened coconut
1/2 c chopped dried cherries
1/2 c chocolate chips of choice ( I really wanted dark chocolate chips, but they didn’t have them at the corner store, so I settled on M&Ms)
1 c rolled oats


Super Simple Instructions

-Preheat oven 375.
-Beat butter with an electric mixer.
-Add egg, flour, sugars, and soda.
-Beat again. Until mixed, yo.
-Stir in oats, cherries, coconut, and chocolate.
-Spoon onto baking sheets. I made 16 medium sized cookies, but it could easily make 35 small cookies or 8 GIGANTIC cookies. (Gigantic cookies have their merits)
-Bake small cookies 8-9 minutes, medium 9-12 minutes, large 12-15 minutes.  (you’ll know when to take them out, as the edges of the cookies will begin to brown)

I love oatmeal cookies because they seem to taste great no matter what I add to them! I may try another batch soon with white chocolate chips and dried pineapple. Or cinnamon chips and dried apple pieces. Or dark chocolate chips and craisins.  Or just a mixture of dark chocolate, white chocolate, and milk chocolate chips. 

What is your favorite oatmeal cookie addition?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2010 10:01 am

    I think I like simple chocolate chips as my favorite addition 🙂

  2. October 28, 2010 10:31 am

    Butterscotch chips!!

  3. October 28, 2010 11:01 am

    Yumm those look good! I like chocolate chips + craisins in my oatmeal cookies.
    P.s. – still coming to Beantown this weekend??

  4. kyree90 permalink
    October 28, 2010 12:05 pm

    I’d have to go with butterscotch, too. Oatmeal Scotchies rule!

  5. October 28, 2010 12:26 pm

    Raisins!!! But the cookie MUST be chewy.

  6. October 28, 2010 2:06 pm

    CHOCOLATE!!!!!

  7. October 28, 2010 8:16 pm

    I love currants. My crazy welsh family instilled them in me and I love them.

    Glad the cookies turned out great 🙂

  8. October 28, 2010 8:27 pm

    Oh my gosh, ANYTHING! Chocolate chip, butterscotch, white chocolate + dried cranberries, caramel…I could go on and on and on…. 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Handmade Christmas Kitchen: Cookie Testing « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

