Skip to content

Olivia’s Organics

October 24, 2010

A few weeks ago, I was sent coupons from Olivia’s Organics to try their products.  The following is, as always, my honest opinion about Olivia’s products and my personal thoughts on the company.

104_5258104_5454104_5179

When I receive products or coupons from a company to review, I like to do a bit of research.  Sometimes I talk things over with the companies representatives that contact me.  Sometimes I will Google the company name reading any article I find.  Sometimes I seek the opinion and experience of friends and blends who have experience with the company. Sometimes, as is the case with Olivia’s Organics – especially because I’ve been using their products for a bit now, I spend hours on the company website, nodding along, agreeing with what I’m finding. 

From the Olivia’s Organics’ website:

At Olivia’s Organics, family is a one-word mission statement. Because it not only says who we are. It says why we do what we do, and who we do it for. It sets our goals and defines our responsibilities to others.

Early on, we learned that one of the first rules of organic farming is to give back to the earth. We practice this our own way by investing in the lives of the children who live in the communities where our salads are sold. Therefore, a percentage of our proceeds go directly to the Olivia’s Organics Charitable Foundation. Through the Foundation, we support community-based children’s charities in the regions where our are products are sold.

We find the more we give, the more we enjoy

The inside of each container highlights one of the charities the Olivia’s Organics Charitable Foundation supports. 

 104_5263104_5193

Olivia’s Organics never bioengineers or genetically modifies their products.  They never use pesticides or synthetic fertilizers. Instead, Olivia’s focuses on crop-rotation, quality compost and natural minerals.  Olivia’s Organics takes things one step further by using renewable resources during their crop cultivation as well as using earth friendly packaging. 
104_5265

 

I tried three different varieties of Olivia’s Organics salads.  First up was the Herb Salad. 

104_5180104_5191 

I was excited to try this mix because of the namesake; the herbs!  The Herb Salad mix contains a group of lettuces as well as chard, frisse, beet greens, mustard, dill, and parsley.  I thought that with the plethora of herby flavors, I’d be able to eat it plain, with no dressing, but some of the flavors were a little strong for me.  Mostly it was the mustard – I have learned I don’t like mustard greens on their own!  But once I tossed the salad with some vinaigrette, the spice was not too strong at all.  It was a perfect blend.

104_5188

 

Second up was the baby spinach.
104_5258104_5262

I grabbed the baby spinach from the produce section of my local market when I had decided that I needed to add Green Monster smoothies to my weekly menu plans.  I blended up three cups of Olivia’s Organic baby spinach with some ice, a slightly defrosted frozen banana, two tablespoons ground flax seeds, half a cup of cranberry juice and a third of a cup of Chobani 0% plain.  Delicious! Using the ultra-fresh Olivia’s in my smoothie was a great way to get some extra energy-giving green into my day.

104_5269104_5277104_5278

 

To round out my trio, I went with my old stand-by favorite; the spring mix.

104_5457104_5467 

How gorgeous are those colors? One of the reasons I love Olivia’s Organics and keep going back to their salads again and again, is the crisp freshness in each bite.  Every package I’ve ever brought home has stood up to my “don’t want to pick out the gross pieces” standard.  Each bite is 100% in texture and never has that “too old” staleness that, quite honestly, gives me the creeps.

I made a pretty amazing topping mix with green olives, banana peppers, handmade savvy summer squash pickles and onion slices, and feta.  I drizzled a bit of the pickled summer squash and onion vinegar juice over the leaves for some extra pizzazz.  So tasty! (and beautiful)

104_5482

Olivia’s Organics salads are currently available along the East Coast.  I’ve seen in it several grocery stores in the Capital District of New York, including my local market where I do most of my shopping.  To find a retailer near you, visit the Olivia’s Organics website.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2010 8:24 am

    I love Olivia’s! It’s the only salad mix I buy. 🙂

  2. October 24, 2010 8:44 am

    I’ve never seen the Herb Mix but like the strong flavors you mentioned. Added to my list for monday shopping 🙂

    • October 24, 2010 9:50 am

      They had it at your whole foods! I saw it there yesterday 🙂 and for the same price as my market 🙂

  3. October 24, 2010 9:37 am

    The herb mix is my favorite! Try it with a lemon vinaigrette – so good!

  4. October 24, 2010 9:49 am

    The spring mix is my favorite ever 🙂

  5. October 24, 2010 11:38 am

    Olivia’s products are my favorite!

  6. October 25, 2010 8:36 pm

    Everything looks so good!

Leave a Reply

