Skip to content

Creative Spotlight: Bare Tree

October 21, 2010

Creative Spotlights are part of the THS dedication to Handmade Christmas 2010. I’m bringing you the goods, showing off the talents of some of my favorite creators!  Just a reminder, there are several different ways to participate, and several different reasons why you should consider joining us for Handmade Christmas 2010.

Today’s spotlight is a special spotlight.  It’s double the fun, double the creativity, and double the shout out to my favorite city in the entire world, Madison the capital of Wisconsin!
IMG_2605

I first came across Bare Tree Apparel at the Dane County Farmer’s Market earlier this year.  Saul of Bare Tree was such a delight to converse with as my friends Megan, Kajsa and I shopped at his apparel stand.  We each walked away with some Bare Tree products accompanied by large, genuine smiles.  We had a great time talking to Saul about his handy work and choosing gifts for friends and ourselves.

baretree hat 1

Saul takes a lot of pride in his work, not only does he do all the printing himself, but he also hand draws each image!

tape beltbubble belt drum beltmath belt

Saul studied at Syracuse University, UW Madison, and The School at The Art Institute of Chicago.  I find this especially awesome since I myself live in New York, and have lived in Wisconsin and Illinois! 😉

hooodiebdu shirtscarf
Saul is an advocate for giving back to the community. He started a program called ‘Hoodies for Homeless’, in which a portion of apparel sales have gone to buying hooded sweatshirts that have been donated to homeless shelters.       

 bicycleflower guitarcoffee one 

I’m apparently not the only person that has had a great experience with Bare Tree – over 1,000 people have given the Bare Tree Apparel etsy store a positive review.  Great communication, quality product, and super fast shipping show up in reviews again and again! This is a man you want to do business with!

 keep calm and carrylive forever
moosestacheprocess

I’m crazy for the comical and ironic shirts Bare Tree offers!  Saul’s sense of humor is top notch.

other shirt owls

Extra Special Treat: Bare Tree is offering two amazing giveaways to THS readers.  Here’s the details:

Giveaway #1: THE SCARF! To enter to win a Bare Tree Scarf, visit Bare Tree’s etsy store and share which item is your favorite in the comments section!  You have until Tuesday, October 26th, 12:00 PM eastern time to enter. 

Giveaway #2: THE BELT! Saul will also select one person that places an order at the Bare Tree etsy store and includes the phrase “Then Heather Said Enter” to win a Bare Tree belt. [i thought about making the secret phrase “heather is pretty,” but wanted to spare you all in participating in my vanity. 😉 ]  You have until November 1st to enter!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2010 9:44 pm

    Vanity is fun and silly 🙂

  2. October 21, 2010 10:02 pm

    My fave: http://www.etsy.com/listing/56234129/exploded-bike-print-on-super-soft-tri It’s the cranberry womens tee with the bike on it! 🙂

  3. October 21, 2010 10:33 pm

    I love the old bare tree print on evergreen. 🙂

    P.S. Do you know if BareTree sells at any local stores, or just Etsy?

    • October 28, 2010 7:39 am

      depends on where “local” is. I have select stores all over the world. Spain, Australia, San Francisco, Minneapolis, Illinois.
      If you are in Madison, I am still selling every week at the Farmers Market(through next weekend) as well as I have a few items at ZipDang on Monroe St. Additionally I have holiday shows coming up in Madison, Chicago, and Cleavland. I am also happy to drop off items in Madison so you can save on shipping!

      _s

  4. Aimee S permalink
    October 22, 2010 7:43 am

    I love the scarf!!! I also love the women’s T with the bicycle on it! Cute stuff!

  5. October 22, 2010 7:48 am

    I actually love the bare tree print v-neck shirt! that would be awesome to wear!

  6. October 22, 2010 9:11 am

    The solitary white bare tree on black is beautiful!

  7. October 22, 2010 12:51 pm

    Oooh I love the Bare Tree on Cranberry. What a fun shop! I could definitely see my brother wearing some of this stuff!

  8. October 25, 2010 8:57 am

    I am in lurve with that scarf 🙂 It would be perfect to wear on my way to a yoga class!

  9. October 26, 2010 8:37 am

    Love the cranberry tee with the bike on it!

  10. October 26, 2010 9:19 am

    I”m not normally a hat person, but theirs are super cute!

  11. Jennifer permalink
    October 26, 2010 9:21 am

    The Moosetache t-shirt would make an hilarious gift for my boyfriend!

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/54387343/moosestache-on-small-slate-color-2001

  12. October 26, 2010 9:22 am

    I love the mustache moose t-shirt! I’ve seen another company (Fuzzy Ink) that sells t-shirts and hoodies and they all feature handle bar mustaches. I love it!

  13. October 26, 2010 9:24 am

    I’m a pretty big fan of the moosestache tee and the bubble bazooka tee.

  14. Diana permalink
    October 26, 2010 9:33 am

    I really like the I Listen t-shirt in asphalt.

  15. October 26, 2010 9:33 am

    I really love trees. especially big, branchy trees. on shirts, bags, hats, belts, you name it: I want it. I also like v-necks. this store is probably bad news for me. http://www.etsy.com/listing/57556282/bare-tree-print-on-super-soft-tri-blend

  16. Jenni permalink
    October 26, 2010 9:51 am

    I love this belt buckle!
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/58862766/solitary-white-bare-tree-on-black
    I was really hoping he would have something with a helocopter on it…. I wonder is Saul does custom orders.

  17. October 26, 2010 10:11 am

    I love the T-shirts with the trees SO much! Also the belt buckle with the cassette tape!

  18. Crystal permalink
    October 26, 2010 10:43 am

    I really like the mocha Bare Tree military style hat. Perfect for fall.

  19. Megan Orcholski permalink
    October 26, 2010 11:22 am

    I’m a little bias, cause I already own a scarf. But other than the scarf I have, I love the tree print. On the dark colors. Trees that are branchy like that and hit the sky make me think that there is a higher power. And they are an artist.
    I think you’re pretty!

Leave a Reply

