Skip to content

Review: Attune Granola Munch

October 11, 2010

Not too long ago, the fine people at attune sent me a bag of Granola Munch.  This is my honest review. I promise. Pinky promise. 104_5199

It should be no surprise to you that I am not a nutrition expert. In the least.  I can’t give you expert advice on what you should eat and what you shouldn’t eat, but what I can do is share with what I eat, along with how and why I eat it. 

104_5236

I am also not an expert on probiotics. [let’s be honest. there are very few things I would ever claim to be an expert on.] But, after doing some research, and asking questions to people from Attune, I did learn a few things about probiotics. 104_5239

Some good bacteria naturally live in your body, helping your body to absorb nutrients, fighting bad bacteria, and building and sustaining a strong immune system.

Probiotics help support healthy digestion by supporting, “helping” the good bacteria.

According to The World Health Organization, probiotics are live microorganisms which provide a health benefit to the host (read: you!) if eaten in certain quantities.

Probiotics also have side kick – the prebiotic. A prebiotic is a certain kind of fiber which stays in your small intestine so that the good bacteria in your body has something to eat, and continue doing it’s job – keeping you healthy.

104_5255

Attune Granola Munch is an all natural blend of high fiber whole grain clusters, Attune probiotic yogurt chips and prebiotics. Munch is made to help good bacteria grow in your body, in order that it can continue to do it’s good work for your health.

104_5254

Clearly, it sounds good, right?  But you may be wondering about the most important part – in my opinion anyway, the taste.

I tried the Maple Nut Granola Munch, described as whole grain oat and brown rice clusters rolled in maple syrup, flecked with pecans and yogurt chips.

I must admit, after reading all about the health benefits of probiotics and the good Attune could do for my health, I was weary.  Was this going to taste fake like so many of the foods with do-gooder promises I’ve tried in the past?  Not so, my friends.  I am a BIG fan of this granola. 

Munch has great crunch. (yeah, I went there.) The yogurt chips provide a creamy, smooth sweetness which completely compliments the maple granola clusters. My first serving of Munch was in the above pictured gorgeous Greek yogurt parfait, providing a fabulous contrast with the natural tartness of the yogurt.  I’ve since had the Munch granola by the handful, atop ice cream, served with almond milk, and atop a bowl of oats. Deliciousness times one billion.

104_5243

To learn more about where you can find Munch, or to place an online order, visit the Attune website

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2010 7:57 pm

    great info, Heather! 😀

    I may have to place an order… I’ve been wanting to try MANY of the Attune products…

  2. October 11, 2010 9:18 pm

    I LOVED the Attune Chocolate Munch at HLS – I was THAT GIRL who oversampled it (like went back to the table 12 times). It was just so crunchy and delish. I’ve been dreaming of it. I think it’s time to go ahead and place an order. 🙂

  3. October 12, 2010 8:02 am

    This sounds good. I’m not sure I believe probiotics in food actually do anything (I think you have to eat a ton before you get enough good bacteria to make a difference) but the granola itself looks good!

  4. October 12, 2010 6:43 pm

    I am a granola fanatic, and my intestines need all the probiotics and fiber it can get. I’m gonna have to hunt for this stuff, or place an order! And squeeeee yummy goodness for granola with yogurt!

  5. October 12, 2010 11:29 pm

    Mmm! I love granola… especially in a yogurt parfait! I actually JUST blogged about probiotics in my post “Ode to a Grecian Yogurt” check out it! 🙂

    http://cookiesncardio.blogspot.com/2010/10/ode-to-grecian-yogurt.html

  6. October 13, 2010 10:27 am

    mmm granola is SO good. i’ve always wondered what the heck Probiotics were!

  7. October 13, 2010 12:14 pm

    That parfait looks really yummy! And I had no idea that there were prebiotics. See, you really can learn something new everyday! 🙂

    • Aimee S permalink
      October 13, 2010 3:31 pm

      I love the way your friend spells her name 🙂 Oh, I love granola too, I’m hooked on the cascadian farms maple nut…mmmm

  8. October 13, 2010 5:59 pm

    I keep seeing this attune granola on different blogs and kept wondering what it’s all about. I’ve never seen it in any grocery store, but I want to check out where and see if I’d want to try it.

  9. October 14, 2010 7:55 am

    I DUNNO WHY BUT WHITE CHOCOLATE CHIPS TURN ME ON 🙂 (IN A FOODIE NON-SEXUAL WAY)

Trackbacks

  1. 10.11.12.13.10 Let’s Talk Eats | THS eats and moves

Leave a Reply

