Skip to content

10-10-10

October 10, 2010

10 Blogs I Never Skim

1. Savvy Eats – and not just because the girl is my best blend.  Julie is such a great resource for great recipes, food science, gardening, canning, cycling, and so much more!
2. Girl Meets Life – Gracie is stylish. Gracie is smart. Gracie gives great advice on just about anything you could ask her.  She’s a wealth of knowledge and wonderfulness.
3. A Lady in Love – This one is making me a better woman. I’m learning to love and embrace my femininity. She’s fun, she’s sassy, she’s sweet, she’s brilliant, she’s in a word – amazing.  And emilyandgracietv, featuring my #2 pick, is a win.
4. Rachel Wilkerson – I promise you will laugh. that’s all I can say, as I could never ever find the correct words to put this blog into the appropriate words.
5. The Eclectic Life – style. period.
6. Redefine Creativity – This woman may be my crafty muse.
7. Sound Eats – I can’t say enough how much I love this woman. And her recipes. 
8. Taylor Takes a Taste – Great food. Great photos. and the tailgate road trip coverage brings a smile to my face, as a huge NCAA fan.
9. The Dear Diary Stories – I love that Marta writes about everything, and not just one subject. Her how-to series is such a win for me.
10. Choosing Raw – First of all, I’ve been blessed to hear this woman share views on community, self-esteem, building relationships, body image, and general life and I have to say, she is brilliant and SO.WELL.SPOKEN.  I adore her, her kindness, and her optimistic, yet not overly “excuse me while I vomit hearts and rainbows into that Disney bucket” idealist, attitude and point of view. Also, it amazes me that I am not a raw foodist, nor a vegan, or even a vegetarian, yet I love each one of her posts where she goes into the depth of her decisions for eating the ways she does, and more.  Clearly, Gena and Choosing Raw are some of my favorites.

10 Things I Haven’t Told You:

1. One of my favorite internet activities as of late, is emailing/chatting with readers of THS that don’t have blogs themselves!  I love getting to know more about the people that I am sharing my life with who I haven’t met, obviously, and taking time to “meet” the readers who don’t blog has been so rewarding to me!  It’s much more of a “meeting” than the when I first start conversing with women whose blogs I stalk 🙂

2. For one week, my apartment door was not actually attached to the doorway, but instead, hanging out in my kitchen.

104_5472

3. I really like cosmos. Especially when the glass is rimmed with pink sugar.

104_5854

4. I recently went apple picking with a group of local bloggers. I love my local blends.
IMG_0158_thumb

5. I love this little girl so much. And her parents. [and her shirt]
DSC_0245

6. I see AWESOME local music at my favorite coffee shop, often. I keep meaning to share these very talented musicians with you, and have yet to do so.  You can expect to see some more details on a few wonderful singer/songwriters before 2010 expires. Here’s just a taste of one fabulous artist, Kyle Miller:

 

7. My friend Jen has convinced me to run a 15K with her in a few weeks. I am still looking for a sponsor to pay my entry fee. (I’m willing to wear a shirt to advertise your blog/website/business if you pay my way into this race $30/$35 – any takers 😉 )

StckthnMap2010
8. I don’t have a road-ready vehicle, so I walk, run, bike, or catch a ride from one of my awesome friends when I need to get somewhere. Sometimes I feel like a hassle. Sometimes I feel embarrassed.  But I’m coming to terms with the fact that this is just life, and I need to not be ashamed to share the fact that I don’t drive places with people.

9. I’m going to Ithaca for a Savvy Thanksgiving. =)

10. This Friday, after realizing that I unintentionally went over 8 days without eating a bite of meat, I’ve decided to carry on with Vegetober. I will be eating vegetarian for the remainder of the month, and trying to find the protein balance from meat-free products. 

 

10 of My All Time Favorite Things

1. Badger football. and basketball. and track.
2. nostalgia. in many forms.  
3. The West Wing
4. #presidentialfunfacts
5. adult beverages of the latte or dry red wine varieties
6. the feeling you get when a certain scent or certain song takes you right back to a previous moment in your life. those times of remembering are my favorite times.
7. making lists
8. paper. I have a passion for paper.
9. Madison, Wisconsin
10. podcasts. namely of the comedy variety.  Doug Loves Movies and The Nerdist are at the top of the favorites list.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2010 3:31 pm

    I LOVE #6 on your top 10 favorite things list. Couldn’t agree more.

    A doorless apartment? No one stole you?

  2. October 10, 2010 4:18 pm

    AHhhh How did you sleep at night?!?!?! P.s I miss g chatting with youuu!

  3. October 10, 2010 4:37 pm

    What a fun way to celebrate 10/10/10! 🙂 Just found your blog, will be back to visit soon, and off to check out the other blogs you mentioned.

  4. October 10, 2010 4:46 pm

    I love cosmos! So delicious. The pink sugar looks fun 🙂

    aw I miss Madison, your shirt made me think of it. My good friend lives there!

  5. October 10, 2010 5:03 pm

    i love lists and doug! we just saw him locally about 2 weeks ago. funny thing is, my brother’s name is doug benson. thanks for the tip offs to the new blogs.

  6. October 10, 2010 5:37 pm

    Sweet post 🙂 I love Ithaca! Great place for Thanksgiving.

  7. October 10, 2010 5:58 pm

    Good luck with the vegetarian month – I think you’ll love it and feel great! You probably already read her blog, but I love Emily’s vegetarian recipes at http://www.thefrontburnerblog.com and I suggest making a big pot of vegetarian bean chili or a big quinoa salad – both save well so you can have leftovers during the week. In a hurry? Eat some lentil soup – packs a great protein punch! AND, I’m totally jealous (and REALLY excited for you!) that you get to have a Savvy Thanksgiving. Can’t wait to read posts about that. 🙂 Are you coming to Texas over Christmas? ❤

  8. October 10, 2010 6:55 pm

    I love youuuuu! I can’t wait for our little recipe/ budget challenge fun. 🙂 Email me, yo!

    Also. Savvy Thanksgiving?! WHAT?! Man, I wish I could go!!

  9. October 10, 2010 7:42 pm

    What a great, fun post! I’m with Liz, I definitely agree on #6! 🙂

  10. Brandi permalink
    October 10, 2010 8:09 pm

    love this post!

    I’ll totally sponsor you in the race! Let me know what I need to do!

    • October 10, 2010 8:16 pm

      Thanks, Brandi! I already had someone sponsor this race – but I so appreciate the offer!!! You are too kind!

      The next race I run I would love to do some Branappeti advertising 😉 I’ll keep you informed if I decide to do any other races and need a sponsor. xoxoxxo

      *Heather Shugarman* http://thenheathersaid.com twitter.com/thenheathersaid HLB Admin – http://healthylivingblogs.com

  11. October 10, 2010 11:10 pm

    I love your #10 on your favorite list. I COULD NOT FUNCTION at work without podcasts to keep me entertained. I listen to the two you mentioned, Comedy Death Ray, and many more. And I think I would not be able to handle a doorless apartment or going without meat for a month!

  12. October 11, 2010 9:47 am

    SOOO yesterday was 10.10.10 and I totally didn’t realize it until now. Duh, me.

    I love your list of blogs (and not just because I’m in it, muaha). Lately I’ve been trying to read new blogs, and I trust your judgment.

  13. Betsy permalink
    October 12, 2010 10:55 pm

    I would have to say that #1 and #9 would be on my top ten too… I am in serious withdrawal. If I had twitter, probably the presidential fun facts! I am a history nerd. Been reading your blog for a while, love it!

Leave a Reply

