Skip to content

Squash Cutting

October 8, 2010
tags:

104_5317How to cut a long island cheese squash.
How to cut a pumpkin.
How to cut an acorn squash.
How to cut any fairly round squash, in general.
There are probably lots of ways to go about getting to the flesh of the squash for your cooking needs; Here is how this single girl in the kitchen handles the situation.

104_5392

Cut squash in half.

104_5396

Using a spoon, scoop out seeds from each half of the squash.  [I keep the seeds for roasting 🙂 ]

104_5407

Turn fleshy half of squash face down onto cutting board and slice into wedges.  Pick up one wedge and hold it like, well, like this: 

104_5412

Position self over trash can or bowl used for scraps.

104_5413

Using a vegetable peeler, scrape away skin of squash.  [I’m going to go ahead and let you guess how difficult this was to photograph on my own. ahem.]

104_5410

Cut peeled pieces into wedges or cubes as recipe instructs.

104_5417Easy as Pie Macaroni and Long Island Cheese Squash.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2010 11:55 am

    Ugh, as much as I LOVE squash, I HATE cutting it! I’ll take the bad with the good, though.

    • October 8, 2010 12:09 pm

      Maybe I’m weird. I found the squash prep completely therapeutic. It did take a few minutes (maybe 10, including photos), but the cutting, slicing, peeling, chopping was all a sort of rhythm I could get used to.

      • October 19, 2010 4:45 pm

        I have to agree with Liz! It was a pain, and the longest part of the whole mac and cheese process for me. The problem was getting off the skin/rind — neither my peeler nor my paring knife was effective. I finally hacked it off with a chef’s knife.

        I saved the seeds, tossed them with olive oil and salt, and roasted them for 20 minutes at 275. Delicious for snacking!

  2. October 8, 2010 3:55 pm

    Love the first photo … its gorgeous! I peeled and cut my first butternut squash the other day. All I had was a pairing knife! So delicious roasted and worth all the trouble.

Leave a Reply

