Skip to content

Proof That I’m Not Perfect

October 4, 2010
tags:

One day, at work, someone asked us to guess the amount of liquid an adult human bladder holds.  My guess? two gallons.104_5225

I spent a night in jail, once. It was cold. On many levels.

104_5202

The other day I read something from Anne P. about her time in Prague and everyone speaking Czech.  One of my coworkers is FROM Czech, so I got really excited.  Today  I said to her, “You know what I learned recently? they speak Czech in Prague!”
She laughed and told me, “of course! Prague is IN Czech Republic!”  Turns out that Prague is indeed a city, and not a country.

104_5207

I once dated a guy who cheated on me with my male best friend.  After we were broken up for several months, I proceeded to get back together with him.  Clearly, it didn’t last. Shocker; he cheated on me again.  This is what I am most ashamed of in my life. [thus far]  I blame myself and continue to defend him for the way things went down, even though I know if it happened to one of my friends, I would tell them differently.  I would tell them that it’s not their fault. Yet I can’t stop blaming myself.

104_5210

I am ridiculous when it comes to calling my loved ones.  I rarely feel like talking on the phone, and would much rather correspond on the internet.  I realize that not everyone feels this way, and that I should probably start to try and meet people half way.  But I haven’t.

104_5219 And sometimes my apartment looks like this.

34 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2010 8:32 pm

    Ummm… my “space” (kitchen, bathroom, room, closets…) always look like that. Always. And I clean up everyday. What is wrong with me?!

  2. October 4, 2010 8:35 pm

    I would like to come over with a box of cleaning supplies and will power.
    Besides that, I think you are an awesome human being. And yes, a human being, like the rest of us, with casual faults but overall a great heart. If it matters for anything, I was shocked to find out Chicago was on a lake(I actually thought the plane was taking me to the wrong city instead of the HLS).
    You can’t blame yourself for what others do. Ever. We are all our own person. We make our own choices, and dig our own graves. You can only make what YOU do right, and let others do wrong what they will.

    • October 4, 2010 8:37 pm

      for the record. my apartment no longer looks like that. i took the photos when i realized things were a bit out of hand and i needed to get to work before hoarders showed up. enter #weekendofproductivity

    • October 6, 2010 9:29 am

      Chicago is on a lake? It is near one…. Oh Evan…

  3. October 4, 2010 8:40 pm

    I’m trying very, very hard NOT to let my house fall apart. But, it does. On a regular basis.
    We’re human, we aren’t perfect.
    Pick the things that are important, concentrate on those and everything else will fall into place.
    Just don’t end up on hoarders. That is all I ask 😉

  4. October 4, 2010 8:46 pm

    Heh, well, at least you didn’t call it Czechoslovakia 😉

  5. October 4, 2010 8:46 pm

    HA…I literally LOLd at the last line. Loved how that was set up.

  6. October 4, 2010 8:47 pm

    sometimes?? my apartment always looks like that unless i’m out of town (because then dave cleans!)

  7. October 4, 2010 8:50 pm

    Best post I’ve read in a while, so inspired! Very brave of you, wishing I were that brave 🙂

  8. October 4, 2010 8:59 pm

    ok i died lolling at the prague thing– i didnt know that either! this post is just another reason why i love you. my room is a mess 24/7. i hope my sister doesnt hate me when i move in with her!!!

  9. October 4, 2010 8:59 pm

    I only work part time, and my house still looks like that right now. Tomorrow needs to be a super productive cleaning day!

  10. October 4, 2010 9:02 pm

    Our apartments look the same.

    Wait, do you live with me?

    Wait, that would be fabulous.

    Wait.

    I miss you.

    • October 4, 2010 9:04 pm

      Wait. That was my blog for class. Don’t click on that. It will explode. Click on this one.

  11. October 4, 2010 9:06 pm

    Maybe this is creepy and weird, but I’m going to go for it anyway: I love you! The candidness on your blog is such a joy to read and contributes in a huge way to the space.

  12. Liz permalink
    October 4, 2010 9:17 pm

    I just wrote this really long comment and decided it was too personal to post…would it be ok if I emailed it to you?

  13. October 4, 2010 9:34 pm

    HAHA! Did you sneak into my apartment and take pictures?

    I love the guess on how much the bladder holds. Sometimes I wonder with the amount of water I drink all day.

    🙂

  14. October 4, 2010 10:06 pm

    If the bladder held that much water, I tell ya what, our roadtrips growing up would have gone MUCH faster. Also, my 22nd birthday would have been much less uneventful. Ahem.

    It would seem that I once remarked at a stuffed coyote: “WOW! How’d you kill it with its eyes OPEN?!?”

    Yep.

  15. @rach_davis permalink
    October 4, 2010 10:10 pm

    I love you. I feel refreshed to know that you aren’t perfect, but that the Perfect One lives in you. I will always reaffirm that it wasn’t your fault. I LoVE the pictures and miss you terribly!

    statue.

  16. October 4, 2010 10:54 pm

    You’re nothing if not honest. And fir that you make me smile! 

  17. October 4, 2010 11:13 pm

    the real reason why i host dinner parties and have people over all the time is so that we clean. 😛 it puts the pressure on.

  18. October 4, 2010 11:28 pm

    I am THE EXACT SAME WAY when it comes to corresponce…especially where the phone is concerned. Not sure why that is. Glad I’m not alone.

  19. October 5, 2010 6:46 am

    NOT acceptable, Heather girl. This neat freak is going to pretend she didn’t see those photos 🙂 But I still love you!

  20. October 5, 2010 7:38 am

    I so agree about the phone thing. I hate talking on the phone. When mine rings, I kind of roll my eyes, look to see who could possibly be calling at this ungodly early/afternoon/late hour, then debate not picking up. I’m so much better on the internet or in person.

  21. October 5, 2010 8:26 am

    I want to come clean your apartment 🙂 But if messy works, own it!

  22. October 5, 2010 8:47 am

    My house currently looks like that… well, our walk-in master closet, bedroom, and the kitchen. I was out of town, and then we had a wedding last weekend. Drives me nuts to have a messy house. Didn’t bother me until we bought the house. A messy apartment–who cared? 😉
    You rock, Heather!

  23. October 5, 2010 8:52 am

    Yes yes yes to the phone thing! I love my family and friends so much, but I haaaaaaate phone calls.

    I can’t handle a too messy apartment, though. It annoys me to the point of rage (and giving the boyfriend the three-name) when things aren’t put back where they’re supposed to be.

  24. October 5, 2010 8:57 am

    Thanks for being honest 🙂 I feel so much better knowing that someone else finds themselves asking “How did my house get to looking like this?”.

  25. October 6, 2010 6:53 am

    No worries. There have been times when I’m pretty sure my room would have qualified for FEMA assistance. And that’s not even counting what happens to the kitchen when I leave my two male roommates alone for a weekend. Gah!

  26. October 6, 2010 9:30 am

    Don’t worry I thought the same thing about Prague! I thought it was Paraguay for some reason! GAH- there are too many places in this world!

  27. October 10, 2010 6:40 pm

    Thank you for posting this! I now don’t feel so bad for how my apartment looks.

  28. Jenn permalink
    October 13, 2010 11:52 am

    Totally with you with the phone call thing… would much rather do everything over the internet, even if its IMing or skyping with video! Though I have to admit, even though I dread picking up the phone if it is someone I adore, I am usually smiling after the call.

Leave a Reply

