Skip to content

Now What?

October 2, 2010

After sharing the difference between what I say and what I mean, I knew some things had to change.  When you make a declaration to the world [wide web] about what you can and will accomplish, it takes some dedication.  I’ve been around this block before; after all, losing the first 40 pounds did not happen without effort and time.  I learned a few things during 2009 when it comes to how I best lose weight healthily, and I knew the first step was setting myself up for success at home.

I took some time this week to make a few quick changes in my apartment to help me stay motivated to continue on my weight loss journey. 

 104_5297phase 2 a

1. Replace Wine with Water. I usually keep my bottles of red wine on my kitchen counter, where I can see them, and therefore think about them, every day.  I am sure there have been many glasses of wine that would have never been consumed had I not seen the bottle while I was in the kitchen.  I moved the wine to a less visible location, and filled the vacant counter space with my water pitcher and favorite water bottle. Drinking water is one of the simplest things you can do for your health, and keeping my H2O resources in eyesight will no doubt keep me well hydrated.

104_5306
2. Get some produce in the kitchen. I made sure that my kitchen was stocked with enough fresh produce to last me for at least a week. I have frozen and canned produced  in my freezer and pantry storage, but having some fresh produce on hand assures that I will actually eat it. I’m so cheap thrifty that I won’t let it go to waste!  Having fruits and veggies on hand means I’m more likely to put together a meal at home than order something or pick up a sandwich.

104_5312
3. Pull out my kitchen tools. I looked through my kitchen storage and pulled out a few of my favorite “lose the pounds” tools that have been gathering a bit of dust during my off period.  I moved my blender from the cabinet to the counter, to make smoothie making less of a hassle.  I also matched up my to-go containers and lids to promote taking meals to work during the week.  I also pulled out a few of my favorite cook books and marked some recipes I am excited to try.

104_5489
4. Set up a strength training space. I opened up one of my favorite magazine workouts, pulled out my go to yoga morning routine notes, and put my light hand weights and body bar out in one section of my living room.  I know from experience that if I see the gear, I am more willing to just do it. Since putting this out there, I’ve managed to do a little bit of strength work every day.

 

bedonedecision
5. Notes to self. I leave myself memos, reminders, and love notes like it’s going out of style. When planning an early morning work out, I put a post it on my alarm clock reminding me that the snooze button is not an option.  A note above my television screen reminding me that I could be doing some light strength training while watching bad reality television programming.  A love letter on the bathroom scale to remind me that no matter what it says, I am strong, and beautiful, and enough.  Taking time to write myself notes of encouragement, support, and motivation assure that I remain my own number one supporter.

 

eatsandmoves
6. Be Held Accountable. I had secretly started posting my daily eats and moves to a silly little blog only two people knew about.  Then I stopped.  Since realizing I needed to do what I say I’m going to do, I’ve started again, in order to help keep myself most accountable. 
I don’t expect anyone to want to read this accountability blog, but I also know that in order to keep myself honest, I need to share that it exists.  In order to stop myself from hiding things in fear of judgment and fear of failure.

If you are interested in following my weight loss journey more closely, you are welcome to come visit eats and moves. But, I must warn you, it’s not going to be pretty.

What you can expect to see on THS Eats and Moves:

  • poor quality blackberry photos of what I’m eating
  • list like descriptions of what I ate and forgot to take a picture of
  • more run on sentences, and ending phrases in prepositions
  • lots of questioning
  • recaps of training runs and work outs
  • discussion on what is working for me and what is not working for me
  • probably lots of instances in which I am clumsy
  • random tangents that would normally appear in the inboxes of my closest friends
  • self motivation and determination to blend what I say and what I mean together
17 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2010 10:52 pm

    Heather making each of these steps is so important to being you. And that note on the scale is the best of them all.

  2. October 2, 2010 10:54 pm

    Leaving love notes for yourself is such a sweet, kind idea! I should try that. 🙂

  3. October 2, 2010 11:03 pm

    You rock, simple as that 🙂

  4. October 3, 2010 5:08 am

    It looks like you are making positive steps to get to where you want to be – well done!

  5. October 3, 2010 7:45 am

    I’ve started leaving post-its with positive messages around the areas that I most frequent: my desk at work, my car, my planner, etc. I think it’s really made a difference in my outlook in the past few weeks.

    You already have the tools – and we both know you can make it happen!

  6. October 3, 2010 11:53 am

    I’m really proud of you for taking back control. I think you have done the right thing by placing good choices out in the open. It will definitely make this road (which is NEVER easy) a little bit simpler to travel down.
    I know you will be successful, but if you every feel like you are stumbling or need some words of encouragement, or just to vent 😉 I am only a gchat away!

  7. October 3, 2010 2:34 pm

    I love your notes to self idea. I have post-its at work that keep me focused…why not do that at home to keep my healthy goals a priority? Looks like you’ve got all the tools ready to help you achieve your goal.

  8. October 3, 2010 4:43 pm

    awesome blog!

  9. October 3, 2010 5:56 pm

    I leave notes for myself too! I made little index cards with phrases like “You are worth it!” and put it up in my room. It is great motivation and little reminder of why I have made positive changes in my lifestyle.

    You can definitely do this! 🙂

  10. October 3, 2010 6:55 pm

    I love all these ideas especially the little reminder notes.

  11. October 3, 2010 7:17 pm

    Love your honesty. You’re not alone! Awesome changes, interesting to see what you did around your house 🙂

  12. October 3, 2010 8:03 pm

    Sounds like some very positive changes and additions! That water pitcher is pretty cool looking too 🙂

  13. October 3, 2010 9:38 pm

    Yes – having the wine out of eyesight is imperative! It’s the only way I’ve survived without it the last few weeks 😀

  14. October 4, 2010 10:20 am

    I am proud of you, you have made many healthy decisions in just this one post!

    Jesus made wine from water, just remember:)

    Eats and Moves is fantastic! I dig it.

  15. October 4, 2010 10:28 am

    I love your strategies, and I love how PERSONAL they are- not just the same old stuff rehashed. I especially love putting your kitchen equipment in plain site.

    And I love run on sentences and ending in prepositions.:)

  16. October 4, 2010 5:40 pm

    These are all great ideas, heather! We’ve been out of wine for a few weeks and just haven’t replaced it so I’m not tempted. I’d love to have a good place to display my cookbooks so I can actually use them more!

  17. October 5, 2010 10:33 pm

    Turning wine to water actually makes you the anti-Christ.

    Don’t worry — I still like you.

Leave a Reply

