Skip to content

Best Side Dish Ever

September 29, 2010

104_5103

I’ve fallen in love.
With a side dish.
The kind of love where I speak in an annoying baby voice and use pet names like “sweet potato” and “hot stuff”.
I love this side dish.
Best side dish ever.
Also may be the easiest pretend-fancy side dish ever.
If the President of the United States came over for dinner, I would serve an actual-fancy main course, and this for the pretend-fancy side dish.
Because I love this side dish. 

 104_5108

Ingredients
3 sweet potatoes
3 pears
2 T olive oil
1 tsp ground mustard
1/2 tsp ginger
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

104_5131Instructions

preheat oven to 400
scrub sweet potatoes and dice into one inch pieces
toss in a baking dish with 1 T oil and spices
roast for 20 minutes
wash pears and dice into one inch pieces
when time expires, remove baking dish from oven
toss pears with sweet potatos and remaining 1 T oil
return to oven for 10-15 minutes until sweet potatoes are soft and tender

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2010 6:51 pm

    Sweet potatoes and pears with ground mustard…? Hm…..I’m not gonna lie, I needed a lot less convincing about the recipe you posted earlier. But, because I highly respect your taste buds, I just may give this a try. {PS: Can you post a picture of the final product…?}

  2. Liz @ Blog is the New Black permalink
    September 29, 2010 7:48 pm

    This sounds like an interesting combo!

  3. September 29, 2010 8:39 pm

    You are so adorable and funny. I love roasted sweet potatoes, but honestly I have never thought of throwing pears into the mix. It sounds delicious and very appropriate for the fall. I love it!

  4. September 30, 2010 7:29 am

    Sold. A. I love mustard in a crazy way. B. sweet potatoes and pears sound awesome together.

  5. Megan Orcholski permalink
    September 30, 2010 10:33 am

    The next time I talk to Obama, I’ll let him know you want a dinner date

  6. October 11, 2010 11:10 am

    Can we make this when I come visit this weekend?

    • October 11, 2010 12:58 pm

      Yes!!!

      Also- I plan on making veggie chili and/or something with butternut squash for us 🙂 let your savvy creativity take over on that one 🙂

Leave a Reply

