Skip to content

Vegetable Swap Taco Dinner

September 28, 2010

One of my favorite things to order when I am working at the mall as of late is from the Ninety-Nine restaurant children’s menu – Build Your Own Chicken Tacos.  I decide to give my favorite take-out meal a bit of a Single Girl in the Kitchen Situation make-over.  My goal: Less bad stuff. More good stuff. In just 5 simple, super easy, single girl approved swaps. Here’s what happened:

 

Swap #1: Probably the most common, predictable swap around – I got rid of the fried chicken fingers and swapped in grilled chicken.  I cut one half of a small chicken breast into strips and cooked in a skillet, tossing with a tablespoon of barbeque sauce for a bit of flavor without too much sugar.

Swap #2: Instead of shredded iceberg lettuce, I used broccoli slaw on my tacos.  Shredded broccoli, cabbage and carrot pieces added a bit of otherwise void nutritional value to my dinner. 104_5055

Swap #3: To up my veggie content in this meal, I changed my ratio.  Usually, I top my chicken tacos with vegetables – but this time, I topped my vegetables with chicken.  My tortilla’s were filled with 75% broccoli slaw, and 25% grilled chicken. 104_5062

 

Swap #4: Instead of fatty queso, I mixed together two tablespoons of pineapple salsa and one tablespoon plain Chobani.  The yogurt added a tiny bit of protein to my side dish, and also cooled down the extra spicy salsa I had chosen from the market. 

Swap #5: Instead of tortilla chips to dip in my salsa mixture, I sliced up two bell peppers, one green and one red. These strips made great dippers and satisfied my desire to crunch with salsa!

104_5065

 

SGIKS Summary:
Healthy swaps don’t need to be difficult. [The entire prep, cooking, and plating time for this meal took no more than 15 minutes.]

Healthy swaps don’t need to create “taste bud sacrifice.”  [This meal was tasty, filling, and satisfying.]

104_5056

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2010 5:24 pm

    Looks delicious! I love using broccoli slaw. I bet it was great on the tacos. 🙂

  2. September 28, 2010 6:16 pm

    great meal! I’ve never tried broccoli slaw but it looks and sounds great.
    I love using bell peppers as stand in tortilla chips too 🙂

    • September 29, 2010 7:42 pm

      I’ve never tried broccoli slaw either, but man does this meal make a great and easy dinner. And I love anything that’s great and easy.

  3. September 28, 2010 6:33 pm

    Those are great swaps and made the meal taste great (and healthy)!

  4. September 28, 2010 8:06 pm

    this is an awesome meal! love your healthy swaps. 🙂

  5. September 28, 2010 8:14 pm

    Looks delicious!

  6. September 28, 2010 10:17 pm

    I’m reading this at 10pm and I am now dying to go into the kitchen to make a taco….. and I love the idea of mixing salsa with yogurt!

    Have a great day Heather!

  7. September 29, 2010 7:20 am

    Yum–I love the dip idea. I just bought some super spicy taco seasoning, and that would have been perfect to cool it down a bit.

  8. September 29, 2010 10:14 am

    This sounds awesome!
    It’s good to see someone else do the 75/25 veggies to meat idea. I did that when having tacos with friends before, and they all looked at me like I was nuts. (Well, I am, but that’s not the point!)

  9. September 29, 2010 12:14 pm

    I LOVE mixing salsa and yogurt… and now I really want tacos 😀

  10. September 29, 2010 12:18 pm

    MMMMMmmmmm this sounds so good!

Leave a Reply

