Skip to content

Reminders from Scarlett O’Hara

September 22, 2010

Four Things Scarlett O’Hara Reminded Me about Healthy Eating

Take a small sampling of everything you find appealing, but really load up on the good stuff.
When it comes to affection, Scarlett takes a little of everyone’s focus and a lot of the attention she declares as the best. When it comes to what I’m eating, I’m the same way. I try to fill my diet with a little of everything, but a lot of the best things for my body. This means I make an effort to load up on fruits, veggies, whole grains, and complete proteins but don’t deny myself anything. I refuse to deem any food as a “bad food” – it’s just food. I also know that different foods do different things for my health, and I want to give myself the best foods for my best health.

Don’t be afraid to break the crowd to try what works for you.

While Scarlett was supposed to be in mourning, she did the unthinkable and danced with Rhett, causing the whole crowd to stand and stare, mouth a gasp. Often times, when trying to learn what “healthy eating” means for you, people will make their own suggestions, whether you realize it or not. Whether it’s an old high school friend speaking Atkins talk, commercials convincing you of 100-calorie pack snacks, food trends that take the internet by storm, or a coworker implying what you should and should not be eating- make sure to take every bit of suggestion and advice with a grain of remembering your uniqueness. I had to learn early on that what works for others isn’t necessarily going to work for me; likewise, what works for me isn’t going to work for everyone. Do what feels best for you and don’t let anyone else’s judgment of your eating style through you off course.

Poor Choices Happen.
There have been days when I’ve had a cookie for dinner. There have been nights when I have overloaded myself on caffeine. There have been hours in which I consume way too much, way too fast. But I don’t let the “unhealthy guilt” get to me. I allow myself to be upset, frustrated, angry, and regretful for a few minutes and then I move on. I give myself a pep-talk in preparation of the next healthy decision I can make and tell the negativity and guilt to take a hike.

Never go hungry again.
Post war, when Scarlett stood in that field, carrot in hand, declaring God her witness, she made a plea that I’ve adopted as my own. I refuse to “go hungry again.” No more starvation, no more surviving on apples and saltines, no more limiting my calories to an unrealistic number in an effort to lose five pounds in two days. I will nourish my body. I will satisfy my hunger. I will not fear food and I absolutely will not refuse my body what it needs. I will not fall prey to the “War of Skinny,” weapons of photo-shopped advertisements, Hollywood ideals, and the falseness of not being enough because my jeans don’t read a single digit. As God is my witness, I will never go hungry again.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2010 1:43 pm

    You know? I have never seen Gone With the Wind all the way through. I still love this post though. I’ve seen those bits and pieces of the movie. I think its great how you applied them to general healthy living. 🙂

  2. September 22, 2010 1:54 pm

    And also: Don’t be afraid to improvise. If Scarlett can make a dress out of drapes, I can make dinner with whatever is in my fridge!

  3. September 22, 2010 2:07 pm

    This may be my favorite THS post. Ever. Of all time. Well, of all the last year, since that’s how long THS has existed.

    Seriously, I LOVE this. You’re so smart!

  4. September 22, 2010 2:11 pm

    Great post!!!

  5. September 22, 2010 2:47 pm

    I agree with everything you have written and am currently in the process of implemeting all of these points into my life. A fab post indeed!

  6. September 22, 2010 3:04 pm

    When are they going to make a movie about your life?

  7. September 22, 2010 4:48 pm

    Thank you for the coles notes (or whatever those condensed book versions of literary classics are called in America) on Gone with the Wind.
    I’ve decided we should give you random movies and you have to come up with Lessons learned from each one…

  8. September 22, 2010 5:00 pm

    Plain and simple: this post totally rocks! So clever to relate your thoughts to Gone with the Wind (quite the awesome movie). And I really appreciate your paragraph on “never going hungry again”. I love when the blogs or media I read and listen to advocate something great like this. We don’t have to go hunry to lose weight. I’m learning this first hand now. Thanks again.

  9. September 22, 2010 8:24 pm

    This post deserves a standing ovation. Amazing post – amazing movie. That’s all I can say 🙂

  10. Janet permalink
    September 22, 2010 9:18 pm

    Winner, Winner, chicken dinner!

  11. September 22, 2010 10:20 pm

    Love this!

    I used to re-read Gone with the Wind every summer when I was in high school (which shows you how much of a nerd I am).

    However, despite my love for the book- I’ve never actually seen the movie. I think I may need to get on that small task 🙂

  12. September 22, 2010 11:06 pm

    I love this 🙂 that movie was one of my favorites growing up 🙂

  13. September 22, 2010 11:52 pm

    Given that “Gone with the Wind” is my favourite movie. Ever. (This despite the fact that my black best friend claims it’s racist) This is my favourite post of yours. Ever.

    Which is saying a lot.

    ‘Cause you write some great stuff Heather! 😉

  14. September 23, 2010 9:00 am

    I am in awe that you just related Gone With the Wind to healthy living! Genius.

  15. September 23, 2010 6:30 pm

    Checking out your blog after your awesome comments on Hollaback and, OMG!!! I read Gone with the Wind in 5th grade with my best friends and we used to “play” Gone with the Wind. To this day, whenever I feel put upon, I quote “Mother always said you could tell a lady by her hands.” When I feel upset about something, I say “Yankees in Tara?” Now admittedly this makes interpersonal relationships somewhat confusing. So glad you get it. This post made my day!

  16. September 25, 2010 10:30 am

    Fantastic post Heather. 🙂
    Plus, it reminds me…I need to watch that movie someday soon!

  17. Jenn permalink
    September 30, 2010 12:39 am

    Whoohooo well done. Really like the never go hungry again.

Trackbacks

  1. Reminders from Scarlett O’Hara (via Then Heather Said) | See Tiny Run
  2. Savvy Selections: 09.25.10. — Savvy Eats
  3. Fancy Pants Coffee « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

