Skip to content

Make-Over Risks

September 19, 2010

I have a friend named Marina.  Marina is intense.  Intense in her beauty. Intense in her laughter. Intense in her attitude towards life. 

I’ve threaten Marina that if I ever gain fame and fortune, I would make her my personal stylist.  Recently she put my claim to test with a little 3-day make-over. 

Day 1:

104_4510104_4513104_4514

She was armed and dangerous.  I was intimidated and suspicious.

104_4493104_4508104_4494

Isn’t Marina stunning? 
104_4509

I also love this photo of Marina clearly laying down the laws of beauty.  Look at that finger point!  This girl is in control!

104_4505

I don’t wear make-up regularly.  Truthfully, I don’t really wear make-up much at all.  A few times a year I get a nod of courageous and decide to brush on a bit of mascara, but that’s about as daring as I get.  Marina is teaching me to take more chances.  She gave me a smoky eye for day-time. 

Day 2:
I walked into the store one afternoon to hear Marina say, in the sweetest voice of all times, “Let me cut your hair.”
”Ummm….Okay?”
I may have said “okay,” but I didn’t necessarily feel okay about the decision I made as I sat in the cold metal chair. I just kept telling the doubting voice in my head, “but Marina is young an hip!” as she chopped away.  When it was all said and done, I was very impressed with Marina’s ability to remove several inches of dead-ends in the backroom. 
104_4663104_4649

 

Day 3:
Marina always looks put together.  I always look like I am wearing pajamas.
When Marina wear sweats, she looks like a million bucks. When I wear sweats, I look as though I could sleep for a million years. 
Marina is a style maven.  I am more of a comfort raven. 

Last night, Marina took me jeans shopping.  She has been telling me I need to purchase a pair of skinny jeans since the day we met, and I have been avoiding this suggestion in the same way I avoid conversations with my ex.  But after my one pair of jeans I have been making do with for the last year finally ripped, I decided that maybe I should take her up on her stylist offer and let her lead me to the dressing room, 17 options to try. 

There were yes’s and there were no’s.  A few maybes, a pair that made me feel 40, a pair that made me feel 14, and a pair that was a “definitely.”  We discussed what styles and washes work best with my body shape, and my shopping all-star stylist friend Marina pointed out that I should wear slim legged jeans to celebrate my running legs. 30 minutes later, we headed to the cashier, victorious.

marina 2marina 1

We discussed confidence.  When I feel most beautiful, I am the most beautiful. We discussed courage in this confidence.  That when I take a risk in trying something that I don’t feel is for me – no matter if it’s a hair style, a trend in denim, or an declaring myself a runner – I am making a healthy decision for my life.  Because with risk comes growth, no matter the outcome, and no matter how superficial, unimportant, or small the risk may seem.  Every risk is worth the risk.

With this risk, I’ve never felt more beautiful, more strong, more confident.  I’ve never felt more willing to flirt with boys, smile at strangers, and even myself in the mirror.  With this risk I feel warmth in my heart, light in my soul, and an overall comfort I wasn’t expecting from a pair of jeans, a hair cut, and a list of style tips. 
marina 3

31 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2010 2:52 pm

    Hot stuff! So happy for you 🙂

  2. September 19, 2010 2:52 pm

    Ok. You look HOTT :)! I approve of this friendship 🙂

  3. September 19, 2010 3:07 pm

    You look fab! 🙂

  4. September 19, 2010 3:09 pm

    Yay new jeans!

  5. September 19, 2010 3:23 pm

    Wow, you are absolutely glowing! Now where can I find Marina to give me a boost?

  6. September 19, 2010 3:30 pm

    you are gorgeous!!! ive always wanted a makeover. but dont worry pajamas = awesome.. pjs for life

  7. September 19, 2010 4:04 pm

    You look smokin’ hot! Definitely a fan of the jeans. Keep flaunting what ya got! (and listening to Marina)

  8. September 19, 2010 4:14 pm

    you look wonderful! I love your hair style 🙂

  9. September 19, 2010 4:37 pm

    You look great! Your outfit is so cute and perfect for fall 🙂
    Hot stuff….

  10. September 19, 2010 4:40 pm

    I love the makeover! And more importantly, I’m glad that *you* love your makeover and feel even better about yourself 🙂 Ahh, nothing like the power of a little makeup, a haircut, and some new clothes.

  11. September 19, 2010 7:00 pm

    I like Marina. 🙂 You are lovely!

  12. September 19, 2010 7:09 pm

    You look amazing! You were amazing before but I’m glad Marina helped bring the stuff we know about you out 🙂

  13. September 19, 2010 7:12 pm

    you look awesome!! woohoo!

  14. September 19, 2010 7:38 pm

    look at you little miss hottie with a smokin’ hot body!!! ow ow!

    tell Marina she does great work! although she did have a beautiful canvas to work with. 😉

  15. Marla permalink
    September 19, 2010 8:47 pm

    WOWSA girl!

    You look fierce and super sexy!

    I love that you trusted your friend, took a leap of faith and
    now feel amazing. If we could all package that sexy feeling
    more of the time we’d all be a lot happier!That inner confidence
    is ooooing out of ya!

    Time to go bar hopping?! PS I need a makeover!

  16. September 19, 2010 8:56 pm

    You look so great! You really rock those skinny jeans! I need a Marina to help me find perfect jeans (I’m too afraid to try on skinny jeans!)

  17. September 19, 2010 10:25 pm

    Heather, you can SEE the confidence in those last shots. It. Is. Beautiful.

    I love the happiness and the trust and the light this friend brings out in you.

    I also love the jeans and the hair cut and the sass. BRING. IT.

  18. September 20, 2010 9:03 am

    Fabulously fun post! Heather, rock it with your fabulous self!

  19. September 20, 2010 11:27 am

    Lovely blogpost!! x

  20. September 20, 2010 12:33 pm

    lookin’ good lady! love that marina is helping you update your style (not that you weren’t wonderful before).

  21. September 20, 2010 12:41 pm

    gorgeous! before AND after. it’s true though. you have to love yourself first. feeling good inside with transfer to the outside! 🙂

  22. Notes from the Fatty File permalink
    September 20, 2010 2:22 pm

    You look fantastic! And you have hot legs, girl!!

  23. September 20, 2010 2:50 pm

    LOOOOVE it!! Gorgeous lady!! Ow Ow. Who doesn’t love a makeover story. You two are smoking! Beautiful pics.

  24. September 20, 2010 3:17 pm

    I love everything about this, but especially what you wrote about taking risks. I don’t think people realize just how radical and bold what you’re saying is! The notion that taking risks is ALWAYS worth it – even when you end up experiencing the exact thing you so greatly feared in the first place – is quite exciting, in my opinion. When we get all caught up in the fear, we don’t realize that we are going to learn and grow and be better off, no matter what the actual outcome is. I just love this idea of jumping head first into a risk, trusting that the very act itself is always worth it.

    Really insightful, Heather!

  25. September 20, 2010 3:44 pm

    #1 – I love Marina.
    #2 – Can you and Marina pleeeeaaaase fly to Hull and give me a 3 day makeover? I need style help. And confidence help. And the whole ‘feeling-beautiful’ thing? I don’t have that. Kthanks. (Plus, we have cool European stores to shop in!)

  26. September 20, 2010 6:10 pm

    You look awesome!

  27. Jenn permalink
    September 20, 2010 10:24 pm

    Heather… don’t hesitate to let stuff make you beautiful! Lately I have been sprucing up my wardrobe to be more feminine and am getting compliments on my haircut and color. Beauty is produced from the inside but it doesn’t hurt to help the outside too. For me it has sooooo helped my confidence.

  28. September 21, 2010 10:47 am

    Heather, you look absolutely fabulous!

    I totally agree with what you said about risk taking. Every risk is worth it even if the outcome isn’t what you were hoping for.

  29. Alina permalink
    September 21, 2010 1:29 pm

    You look GORGEOUS! That outfit is a great choice for you – love the new hair as well. I feel like having fun with your clothes and appearance can be one of those great self-fulfilling things where it makes you feel really awesome and then take more risks and then feel even better.

  30. September 21, 2010 2:41 pm

    OMG! You were so right to trust Marina. Those jeans look great!! You must post a pic not from a phone though 🙂 I’m a proponent of skinny jeans myself!

  31. September 22, 2010 9:59 pm

    Heather, you always look gorgeous but I love the new haircut! So pretty!

Leave a Reply

