Skip to content

MBPA 5K – I Did It

September 18, 2010

Race History:
October 2009 – Monster Dash 5K – Troy, NY – 33:49
November 2009 – Luv2Run 5K – Boston, MA – 35:29
November 2009 – BKVR Turkey Run – Arlington, VT – 36:37
April 2010 – Saints Red Cross 5K – Albany, NY – 35:46
June 2010 – Charlton Heritage 5K – Charlton, NY – 39:19
July 2010 – Firecracker 4-Mile – Saratoga,  NY – 50:46
July 2010 – YMCA Scotia Glenville 5K – Scotia, NY – 34:52

And then I signed up for the MBPA 5K.

The above recaps all say a lot of the same thing; I wanted to PR. I didn’t PR.  I will PR. I can PR. Let’s PR.

Of course, the desire for a PR was back, strong as ever.  After my 5K defeat in July, I was ready to put it all out on the course, determined to cross the finish line in 33:48 or better.  When I picked up my race bib reading “368” I was thrilled-  six and eight are my two favorite numbers (since high school) and I had feeling they would be lucky for me on race day!     race number

Before the race started, I spent a few minutes walking around for a warm up, followed by a few yoga flows.  I’ve been doing a lot of transportation via bicycle the last few weeks and my legs have been so tight.  The yoga seems to help loosen me up just in time for the race to start.

The first half mile felt decent, with a slight uphill and a subsequent slight downhill.  When a young girl ahead of me turned around and shouted, “MOM! Come on! The Mile sign is right up here!” I looked down at my watch which read 9:02.  I knew coming past the one mile marker before 10 would be a good start to setting a new PR, so I pushed myself to a sprint until a few yards past the mile marker, then slowed down to catch my breath and energy.

The next half mile or so was all about trying to pace my stride, something I still feel I haven’t mastered.  When we took a right onto a paved trail through some trees, I looked ahead to see a steady incline.  I continued to enforce positive self talk, every time I felt the urge to stop running.  A few times I stopped to walk for 10-15 seconds, then convinced myself that I could walk later – it was time to run!

After the two mile marker, we turned a corner and ahead was a mile long incline.  I tried to tell myself that I was a running all-star, channeling my inner running blends, but then I realized that I had to do things my way to finish proud.  After about a half a mile, I started a rotation of walk to a landmark, sprint to a landmark, walk to a landmark, sprint to a landmark.  I approached the three mile marker side by side with a woman who the volunteers nearby knew and were cheering on by name.  I looked at my watch, which I started as I crossed the start – not when the clock was started, and saw 32:30 and took off.  As I neared the finish line, I watched the clock read just seconds before my desired PR time – and I pushed myself to run as hard and fast as possible.

And then I did it.
September 2010 – MBPA 5K – Malta, NY – official clock time 33:45 [my watch time was 33:29].  New PR. New time to focus on beating.  New race to mark down as my fastest.  The course was HARD and that mile long incline just about killed me, but I did it.  And I couldn’t be more proud to say those words. I did it.

me

31 Comments leave one →
  1. ShugarDAD permalink
    September 18, 2010 3:58 pm

    Congratulations Heather! I’m so proud of you! –Dad

  2. September 18, 2010 3:59 pm

    YAY!!!! I’m so proud of you Heather!! Great job! 🙂

  3. Corey - The Runner's Cookie permalink
    September 18, 2010 4:12 pm

    Hi Heather! I’ve been reading your blog for a while now, but I think I’ve only commented a couple of times. I couldn’t help but notice your list of races – I’m from the Schenectady area (lived there for most of my life and now live in Boston) and didn’t realize you are also somehow affiliated with that area (or live there?). Anyway, just wanted to give an upstate NY shoutout 🙂
    The Mohawk-Hudson River Marathon and Half-Marathon is awesome for PR’s and very flat if you’re interested!
    Awesome job with your race – you rocked it!!

  4. September 18, 2010 4:18 pm

    WAHOO!!! congrats on the PR!

  5. September 18, 2010 4:22 pm

    good job!!!! you are awesome.

    i am going to channel this at my race next weekend

  6. September 18, 2010 4:27 pm

    Congrats! Not only was your course difficult, you beat that PR – so many things to be proud of!

  7. September 18, 2010 5:46 pm

    so proud of you!

  8. September 18, 2010 6:24 pm

    I’m so proud of you!!! You’re incredible!!!!! I hope you are on cloud 9 and bask in the glow of the runner’s high!! 🙂 Way to go!

  9. Sis permalink
    September 18, 2010 8:35 pm

    YAY HEATHER! I am incredibly proud of you, sister (and for much more than just PR-ing). Still planning ot run Fargo in May?

  10. September 18, 2010 9:52 pm

    you are so amazing 🙂 congratulations!

  11. September 18, 2010 10:02 pm

    Congrats Heather!!! You are an inspiration. It’s funny because in the moment all you want to do is kill that incline/hill but in the end you just remember the amazing feeling of finishing. WAHOO!

  12. September 18, 2010 10:08 pm

    Congrats!! I just ran my first 5K 2 weeks ago and am running another in a week. Finishing, especially when getting a PR or accomplishing whatever personal goal you set out with feel great?!

  13. September 18, 2010 10:30 pm

    you make me so happy!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂 major congrats my dear

    (still havent forgotten about THS guest post 😉 — life has been crazy but hopefully this wk!)

    have a happy sunday!

  14. September 18, 2010 10:38 pm

    Congratulations on your awesome success.

    I love the comment from your dad. So sweet, brought a tear to my eye.

  15. September 18, 2010 10:57 pm

    WAY TO GO!!! 🙂 You did great!

  16. September 18, 2010 11:24 pm

    Congratulations, Heather! Great job!

  17. September 18, 2010 11:47 pm

    So happy to hear that you’ve had a great race and are feeling good! Nothing feels better than beating yourself. Now to work towards your next PR. :o)

  18. Jenn permalink
    September 19, 2010 12:53 am

    Well done Heather!

  19. Megan Orcholski permalink
    September 19, 2010 1:27 am

    I’m so incredibly impressed with you!

  20. September 19, 2010 1:53 am

    Wohoo, well done with the 5k! Your time was excellent and I’m so pleased you now have a new PR. You must feel quite proud of yourself. It kind of makes me want to do a race actually. 🙂

  21. September 19, 2010 4:29 am

    Congrats Heather on the PR, that’s a great time!

    Also, check out my blog I’ve nominated you for an award 🙂

  22. September 19, 2010 8:11 am

    Heck yes! Congrats! 😀

  23. September 19, 2010 8:35 am

    Congrats Heather. I knew you could rock it!

  24. September 19, 2010 9:47 am

    Awesome job Heather! So very proud of you 🙂

  25. Grad Skool Girl permalink
    September 19, 2010 10:10 am

    Congrats! What a fantastic feeling it is to beat your own record 🙂 I bet the weather in Upstate NY is awesome for running right now! (I’m from NY and this time of year makes me miss it oh so much…)

  26. September 19, 2010 2:43 pm

    Way to go Heather! Inclines are pure hell, but you did it!!

  27. September 19, 2010 8:06 pm

    You are awesome and so inspiring to me! Congrats!

  28. September 19, 2010 10:23 pm

    I tried to tell myself that I was a running all-star, channeling my inner running blends, but then I realized that I had to do things my way to finish proud. <——- GORGEOUS

    So, so proud of you. Congratulations my friend, here's to many more PRs!

  29. September 20, 2010 10:47 am

    Yay way to go!

  30. September 24, 2010 1:05 pm

    A late congrats, but one well deserved! Go you!

  31. Darlene Cardillo permalink
    November 29, 2010 6:01 pm

    A very late congrats!! I knew you could do it!

Leave a Reply

