Skip to content

Life and Me

September 15, 2010

Dear Life,

Please slow down. I am feeling overwhelmed and could really use a nap. I miss my friends. I miss my family. I miss the quality time I used to spend at the coffee shop.

When I signed up for this few weeks of craziness, it seems I forgot about, well, the crazy part.

It seems I forgot about a lot of things.

I forgot that the loss of one hour of sleep for an extra shot of espresso is not an equal trade.
I forgot that while working out is energizing, sometimes powering through the run is not as important as skipping it.
I forgot that there will be days when I am well energized and ready to face the world, and other days I will be sitting on the floor, locking myself in the storage room, sobbing.
Not for any rational reason, but more because I am tired. Just tired.

I forgot that when I am busy and when I am sleepy, I am less likely to care about the food that goes into my body.
I am more likely to purchase jalapeno poppers than a salad from the mall food court.
I am more likely to skip lunch for gelato.
I am more likely to eat lunch AND gelato AND an éclair AND an extra slice of bread.
I forgot that when I eat mindlessly, I eat MINDLESSLY.

But I did NOT forget about my strength.
I did NOT forget that this is TEMPORARY and that my ability to keep making healthy decisions is permanent.
I did NOT forget that the next decision I make can be the best decision.

I did NOT forget that I have control over my reactions and that I can choose to continue to look for the bright side, even when it seems to be playing hide and seek.

I did NOT forget that the seeking is worth it, because it proves that I have not given up and fallen prey to negativity.

And I sure as hell did NOT forget that tomorrow is Thursday.
Tomorrow, Life, it’s you and me. To revel . To enjoy. To take a step back and relax and breathe.

Tomorrow we dance. We laugh. We find an excuse to listen to our favorite song on repeat. We celebrate, together.

You and me, Life. You, and me.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2010 4:24 pm

    AMEN! I could not have said it better. This is what I needed to read at this moment. Thank you! My life may be crazy – so crazy in fact that I locked my keys in my car last night but today I chose to focus on the good. Today was a much better day. Tomorrow will be even better.

  2. Liz permalink
    September 15, 2010 4:59 pm

    Thanks for this post. Seriously, most of the time I am finished reading your posts I am in tears. And not bad tears, good tears. Tears that I’ve been holding back because I felt like I was weak if I cried. So, thanks for letting me get my emotions out. I have had two really bad weeks in a row and it has been really hard to keep pushing through. Thanks so much for the motivation.

  3. September 15, 2010 8:38 pm

    Oh gosh – love this post! You are so freaking great at expressing how you feel in such a way that the rest of us feel it with you (party because we recognize it in our own lives right now or have felt it before)!!

  4. September 15, 2010 8:56 pm

    I can SO related. When I am tired and stressed, being healthy is the LAST thing on my mind. But there will never be ideal conditions for being healthy. We just have to make the best of it, and rock on!

  5. September 15, 2010 11:17 pm

    Totally! I feel like I always have so much on my plate , except in my reality I know that I don’t. Tomorrow is a new day!

  6. September 16, 2010 10:44 am

    It’s so funny because I read the comment above from Liz (which, clearly, is also my name) and I thought “did I write that?!” beccause it echoes my sentiments exactly. I ❤ this post. I love your honesty and your strength. Thank you.

  7. kyree90 permalink
    September 16, 2010 1:58 pm

    I’m with you. When I’m stressed out, tired, cranky, etc., it’s always easier to go for the ice cream, burger and fries, industrial-sized Frappuccino that to make that healthier choice.

    I need to print this one out and save it to refer back to whenever I’m overwhelmed.

  8. September 16, 2010 3:17 pm

    I kind of felt like I was reading the lyrics to a Dave Matthews Band song at the end of this. Hopefully you’re not someone who absolutely HATES his music, as I say this out of love. DMB comforts me and makes me think and be peaceful and that is exactly what your conclusion here has done for me. Thank you for loving yourself and knowing that you have the strength to persevere!

  9. September 16, 2010 5:52 pm

    hooray for your day to relax and rest tomorrow! 🙂

  10. September 17, 2010 8:23 am

    Heather, you’re a great writer. This is a tremendous post and so so so relatable.
    I’m in a healthy living funk right about now and this was so comforting to read. Thank you!

  11. September 17, 2010 9:52 am

    I am with you on the food part. Baby A has not been sleeping well, so I haven’t either. I have, however, been eating lots and lots of snacks! Not so good for me.

    Stay strong friend. You can do this!

  12. September 17, 2010 3:37 pm

    You are incredible.

    That’s all I have to say about this.

  13. September 29, 2010 9:07 pm

    I needed to read this post tonight. Thank you. I ❤ you.

Leave a Reply

