Skip to content

More Than: Lauren from Team Giles

September 14, 2010

Not familiar with the More Than Series?  It all started when I realized that while nutrition and fitness are an important part of living a healthy lifestyle, there was a void in the healthy living blogger community focusing on other parts of healthy living.  Healthy Living is MORE THAN nutrition & fitness.  To learn more, check out the More Than Series tab and the several posts written by other guest bloggers. -Heather

Healthy living to me, goes beyond just eating right and exercising, its more than just that. It also means maintaining a healthy mental state. If everything in your brain is busy, cluttered and chaotic, do you think you’re going to be a generally sane person? Negative. You’re going to be a mess, that will spill over into other aspects of your daily life therefore making your whole day, week, month, life, one big mess. We’re busy people, we have a lot going on. It’s important to organize and plan. So I strive to keep my life as clean and organized as possible, so that my brain won’t go into memory overload.

Here’s a few ways I work to keep my mental health, healthy:

 104_4973

1. Clean your house.

There’s been times before that I’ve been so super busy, so super stressed, that anyone who came into my house not knowing that I’m feeling that way, could figure it out pretty quickly, just based on the state of my home. Your living space around you will often reflect your inner state of being. This may not be true for everyone, but its true for me. Keeping my house clean and orderly helps me feel like I’m getting my life organized. I simply cannot think straight in a messy room. I definitely cannot relax. I’m a very busy person, but I take time, even schedule time once or twice a week to make sure my house is clean, in order and that way I don’t feel overwhelmed but a big huge mess. Clean house, healthy mind.

104_49852. Calendars are your friend.

I live by my calendar. If its not written down on the calendar, I will forget about it. I calendar meetings, birthdays, events, workouts, everything! There’s something about putting reminders/plans on a calendar that help my mind relax, knowing that I don’t have to obsess and try to remember "Meeting, Thursday at 1pm" over and over in my head, makes everything so much easier. I let the calendar do the remembering for me. Of course you have to check your calendar daily, but that’s why I use the google calendar and sync it with my iPhone, it pops up the reminders to me at the times I scheduled it for. Genius! Clean schedule, healthy mind.

email

3. Organize your email.

Ever open your inbox and want to faint at the chaos in front of you? Message after message that you have to reply to, not to mention the coupons and special offers you signed up for. Its overwhelming at times. Yep, we’ve all been there. This is the perfect time to start utilizing folders. Take time to create folders for emails you get often, e.g. "Bloggers", "Family", "Important Info", anything to get your inbox empty. I’ll admit, I’m an an email hoarder. I save EVERYTHING. Tragically, I was saving them all in my inbox and creating a huge mess. I’d often lose emails in a mega pile of coupon offers and realize I never replied to "so-in-so about x". Which happened far too often and (in my mind) made me seem like a mean person who doesn’t reply to an email. So now, opening my inbox I see only the new incoming mail and pending emails that I’ve yet to respond to, but will, and then I’ll file them into their appropriate folders. Clean email, healthy mind.

104_4981

4. Unplug.

I’ll be the first to admit that in my house (husband & I), we live, breathe, sleep technology. Our friends know us as, the Internet itself. Its so easy to throw your life into the computer, iPhone, emails, blogs, twitter, facebook, websites this, websites that, Internet, Internet, INTERNET. There’s so much multi-tasking involved in being online. You’re rarely ever doing just one thing. The Internet is a fast world and you’re always trying to keep up with it. Sometimes you just need to unplug.

I know that’s hard for some, maybe your work is based on the Internet and then you get home and you want to blog, twitter, facebook, etc. So your whole day is lived on a computer. Trust me, I know the feeling. But I often have to take time and unplug from the busy online world, whether its reading a book, magazine, going for a run (not just because its schedule, but to unwind), going to a Starbucks and people watching, just doing something that doesn’t involve having your eyes glued to a computer screen. Just being still and enjoying a relaxing moment does wonders for your oh-so busy mind. Taking the time to unplug and slow down always helps me feel a little more calm and ready to take on the world again. Calm mind, healthy mind.

 

These are things I work on, I’m not an expert, my house isn’t always clean, my calendar doesn’t always get scheduled right, my emails still can be overwhelming, and I definitely live online too much. But I work on them, so that my brain doesn’t go into overdrive. Working on my mental health is something I think that, healthy living is all about.

 

100_2956

To learn more about Lauren and how she balances a healthy, happy life with her husband and puppy with her busy schedule, read her blog, Team Giles.  Heather has been reading Lauren’s blog since way back when we were both brides-to-be, and has a long lists of favorite posts. Here is just a sampling: Mindless Eating, Excuses, and (absolute favorite!)  Half Marathon Recap.

You can also follow Lauren’s thoughts in 140 characters or less by following her twitter feed

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lauren @ Team Giles permalink
    September 14, 2010 7:22 am

    Honored to be apart of the More Than series 🙂

  2. September 14, 2010 3:02 pm

    These are great tips!

Trackbacks

  1. Be Bananas, B-A-N-A-N-A-S! « Team Giles

Leave a Reply

