Skip to content

Granola is Not Scary

September 13, 2010

Let’s talk granola.
Granola from the grocery store can be fairly expensive when you break down the ingredient list.  This isn’t really a problem, until I realize that I really, really, like to eat granola in my yogurt.

As the girl that’s been known to have an on going Single Girl In Kitchen Situation sometimes food theories intimidate me.  I guess, really, by food theories, I kind of mean cooking, baking, tossing, constructing, processing, or any other present tense verb that takes place with in the walls of my kitchen.  Actually, I suppose it’s recipes that intimidate me.  Especially recipes for things I know I can purchase at the grocery store all put together and stuff; such as granola.

104_4943

Last week, I decided to bite the “trying new things” bullet and make my own granola.  I used this recipe from Julie and made substitutions where necessary, based on what was already in my pantry and what was on sale at the corner store.  The results were so amazing that I decided to spend some time creating other granola recipes on my own for further consumption with other ingredients.

A funny thing happened on the way out of the kitchen; Julie and I realized we both made pumpkin flavored granola to share on our blogs today!  How awesome is that?! Great Blends think alike! Check out her Savvy Pumpkin Spice Granola recipe, too; we plan to have a taste off when we see each other next month.

104_4940

THS Pumpkin Spice Granola
Ingredients
4 C old fashioned oats
1 C pumpkin seeds
2 T ground flax seeds
1/2 C + 2 T maple syrup
2 T honey
1/4 C almond butter
1/4 C + 2 T pumpkin puree
1 T cinnamon
1 T nutmeg
2/3 C raisins

Directions
– Preheat Oven to 350.  In a 9 x 13 baking dish, mix together oats, pumpkin seeds, and flax.

-In a small sauce pan, stir together maple syrup, honey, pumpkin, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  Heat on Medium, stirring often, until it begins to boil.

-Remove from heat and add to the oats mixture.  Stir until all dry ingredients are coated.

-Bake for 15 minutes.  [SGIKS Note: There are a lot of things you could do for the 15 minuets while the granola is baking.  Read a few pages of a book. Flip through a magazine. Brush your hair.  Use said brush to sing like a Glee star into the mirror. Do the dishes. Etc.]

-Remove from oven and stir in raisins. Return to bake for an additional 15 minutes.  [SGIKS Note: Encore.] Remove from oven and allow to cool.

104_4947

I have no idea why I was intimidated.  Take it from me granola is not scary. Granola is yummy. Lesson learned.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2010 10:48 am

    Well you’ve given me inspiration, but perhaps I am too lazy to try this out! Homemade is just so much better than store bought.

  2. September 13, 2010 3:05 pm

    I love making my own granola! It’s great because you can put anything you want in there! I like adding chocolate chips, too but you have to make sure you put those in at the wayyy end so they don’t get too melty. Love this recipe!

  3. September 13, 2010 3:39 pm

    This looks FANTASTIC! I love pumpkin and have most of these ingredients in my house. Score!

    • September 13, 2010 4:25 pm

      One of my favorite things about granola is that I usually have what I need in my apartment! If I don’t have enough maple syrup, I can use honey, or agave. I can use PB, or AB, or any number of pureed things. And the mix in toppings? It’s the perfect thing to make when the cabinets need cleaning of all those bins filled with a quarter cup of this or that!

  4. September 13, 2010 4:48 pm

    “Sometimes food theories intimidate me.”

    ME TOO.

    Can we make this into a slogan? And print it on t-shirts? On the back we can put “this justifies me taking pictures of everything I cook and posting them on the Internet.”

  5. September 13, 2010 5:49 pm

    This looks delish, Heather! Granola def isn’t scary! It’s basically like chili – as long as you’re on the right track and like all the ingredients going in, it’ll probably turn out good:)

  6. September 13, 2010 7:26 pm

    Well, granola is still scary to ME. When I made a batch for the first time, it was too crumbly and dry for normal consumption. Not sure what I did wrong… too much wheat bran, not enough wet stuff???

  7. September 13, 2010 7:40 pm

    Love making granola, yours looks delish! Perfect for the fall, must give it a try! Thanks for sharing!

  8. jenn permalink
    September 14, 2010 7:59 pm

    I really do love granola. And I too love it in my yogurt! Usually though I shy away from granola because of the calorie content. Though I really think I need to rethink this. If you make it yourself it is so much better for you and I can make it healthier!
    Thanks Heather!

Trackbacks

  1. Pumpkin Spice Overload? — Savvy Eats
  2. Obsessed! | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers
  3. We’re Really Cook’n Now! | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers
  4. Still not sick of pumpkin | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

