Skip to content

Embrace Struggle

September 8, 2010

I am tired. but, I carry on.

I remember that the world does not revolve around me. even though, at times, I wish it did. even though, these times, are often.

I continue to remember conversations I could have sworn were dreams. however, they truly took place and I am just forgetful.

I make excuses. one after another, after another. all day long.

Sometimes making healthy decisions are easier than other times.
Sometimes it takes little convincing to choose steamed veggies over French fries.
Sometimes fitting in 10 minutes of strength training before work is effortless.
Sometimes I’d rather read than watch TV, I drink enough water to keep me well hydrated, and speak kind words to others.

But other times, it’s a struggle. Other days, it’s ALL a struggle. But I can’t help but think that the struggle is what makes the journey worth it; that the struggle itself is a component to health.

Today is a struggle.

Today I am fighting the urge to be whiney. And crass. And dare I say bitchy.
I chose sleep over productivity, and yet I still feel far too behind on both.
I am sipping caffeine through a straw, yet I wish it could be pumped in with an IV.

Today I know that the healthiest decision I’ve made in 2010 is cutting my ex out of my life, for my healing, for my growth; yet this morning, I felt myself miss him. I felt myself wonder about contacting him. I felt myself thinking about him for a second longer than I felt comfortable.

Today I forgot my Greek yogurt on the kitchen counter of my apartment.
So instead, I made a bagel thin with sun-gold tomato preserves and cheddar cheese. Correction, then I burnt a bagel thin.
So instead, I ate a piece of chocolate after scraping off the charred sesame seeds.

Today is a struggle. But I choose to remember.

I remember that days of struggle don’t have to be the worst days. They don’t have to be bad days, either. They are just days. And we each have the power to do with these days whatever we see fit.

And today, I see fit, to turn this day around. To embrace the struggle. To make the decisions, with gratitude for the ability to decide. To admit that struggle makes us stronger and that difficulty breads character. To know that days of struggle make days of ease that much sweeter. I embrace today -no matter if I make healthy decisions or less healthy decisions, I will not be swayed to feel poorly about the outcome of today. Today is my day. And your day, too. EMBRACE IT.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2010 10:23 am

    life is not what happens to us, but how we react…. right? at least that’s what I tell myself when things are going quite right 🙂 Then i put on some music and take a walk!

  2. September 8, 2010 10:33 am

    ❤ you. I think you should sell t-shirts with EMBRACE IT printed on them. I'd buy one. I hope you find the strength and energy to power through this day and when you (finally? hopefully?) get to lay your head on the pillow tonight, you will realize just how capable you are. And how incredibly inspiring you are to me. xoxo

  3. September 8, 2010 11:20 am

    I love how honest you are. And how you somehow manage to put into words what the rest of us often feel like but never verbalize.

    Thank-you.

  4. diana @ i can eat, cant i? permalink
    September 8, 2010 11:24 am

    yes, you are in charge of your life. you have the power to change your mood!! love this little post.

  5. September 8, 2010 11:37 am

    You, my dear, are an AMAZING author. What a tremendous post. You put in to words what I think about so often.

    I’m embracing you today, There are so many beautiful quotes here.

  6. September 8, 2010 11:59 am

    Heather, This was beautiful and moving. Thank you for sharing. Without the bitter (the struggle), the sweet successes wouldn’t taste so good. Sending kinds thoughts your way, my friend.

  7. Liz permalink
    September 8, 2010 1:22 pm

    I love this post. Things in my life have been really hard lately, and it’s nice to be able to sit down and really think about how just because I missed a workout or ate pizza doesn’t mean my healthy life is derailed. That was a run on sentence. I apologize. Sometimes life just gets in the way of being “healthy”. No, not all the time, but recently that’s how I feel.

  8. September 8, 2010 3:43 pm

    You choice to embrace the struggle and move through it instead of avoiding it makes you who you are. You are strong, you are brave and you are amazingly beautiful (inside and out). Never forget that for an instant…or I’ll have to call and remind you 🙂

  9. September 8, 2010 5:37 pm

    What a beautiful post. I felt the same way today and posted something similar actually. Reading your thoughts and the importance of embracing those more challenging times made a difference. Here’s to a better day tomorrow!

  10. September 8, 2010 8:55 pm

    As much as I dislike Kayne West “that don’t kill will only make me stronger”…

  11. September 8, 2010 8:56 pm

    I want to print out this post and re-read it on the days I struggle. Wonderful inspiration! You are so right that the difficult days are an essential part of the journey; we need them in order to experience change and growth. If every day were easy, life would be kind of boring, no?

    Great post! 🙂

  12. September 8, 2010 11:17 pm

    The fact that you are packing so much into your life yet you have the peace of mind and sense about you to post something like this just speaks volumes about your true character. It is one I love and appreciate so much. Simple as those two sentences may be, it’s all the response you need from me.

  13. September 9, 2010 5:48 am

    I found your post a couple weeks ago, but have onlybeen lurking. 🙂 But today I had to leave a comment because I loved this post. Thanks for the reminder to keep it al in perspective. This post reminded me of a saying I’ve heard ultra runners use: embrace the suck. Basically take things as they are knowing that if you keep going things will get better.

  14. September 9, 2010 9:33 am

    Recognizing moments of weakness actually make us stronger. Keep your head up and fight the good fight. You have a whole community of people silently cheering you on.

  15. September 9, 2010 4:00 pm

    ” To know that days of struggle make days of ease that much sweeter.” I love this quote and its so true! Hang through the difficult stuff and the outcome will be your reward!

  16. September 9, 2010 8:17 pm

    Oh, my sweet Heather.

    Thoughts of exes don’t just evaporate. I broke up with a big love in my mid-twenties (25; 3 years ago) and of course I always think back to the days of our love affair–sometimes fondly, sometimes with regret, mostly with gratitude, but a simultaneous feeling of “I am SO glad I’m not there anymore.” Anyway, this is all to say that having a fundamental sense of security that you made the right choice doesn’t mean that you never cast a backward glance in time. It doesn’t.

    So too with being healthy. Me? There are days where I chug four cups of coffee before a noon meeting, or when my salads are boring and unphotogenic, or when hummus on sprouted bread for three nights in a row is all I have the energy to make, because I’m at the office till ten and cranky and feeling sorry for myself. Period. And there are mornings — sometimes weeks of them — when all I can think about from hour to hour are the cigarettes I quit smoking two years ago. Yup.

    That litany is just to show you that none of us are without the “meh” days. And that doesn’t render us unhealthy. It just means we had a “meh” day.

    xo

  17. September 10, 2010 7:59 pm

    I needed to read this. It reminds me that we are not alone in our struggles. Excellent post.

  18. September 10, 2010 8:48 pm

    We all need those days to appreciate the awesome ones right? Good job for embracing life no matter what 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. What I’m Loving. | How Sweet It Is

Leave a Reply

