Skip to content

Celebrate NWD

September 6, 2010
tags:

054cornmaze2boston race tee DSCF2088104_2640IMG_2529mirror5k104_3290IMG_2871DSCF2759gamenight104_4567

Today is a celebration.  A celebration of singleness.  A celebration of life.  A celebration of who I am and where I’ve been.
Happy Noniversary!

What’s a Noniversary?  It’s a celebration of Non-Wedding Day (NWD)- the day that I didn’t get married.  As I’ve said before;

I know that eventually, I won’t want to celebrate NWD.  Eventually, I won’t care.  Eventually, I’ll wake up on September 6th, and I won’t even realize that it’s the day.  But as for now, when I do remember what almost happened, I choose to celebrate it.  Not just because I know that I am better off in every way, or because I didn’t give up my awesome last name, or because I get to enjoy living by myself.  But just because I can.

If you are interested in learning more about the history of THS, you can read about the broken engagement in these posts:

How it All Went Down
Forgiveness
Grinch or Not
Dancing Through
Finding His Stuff at My Place
Balancing the Positive and Negative Thoughts
Strength
Personal Diary Entry: The Day After
Break Up #2: THE elegant TRUTH
NWD

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2010 12:22 pm

    Happy NWD!

  2. September 6, 2010 12:22 pm

    these photos of you are So Great, Beautiful Girl 🙂

  3. September 6, 2010 12:27 pm

    Love you!!

  4. September 6, 2010 12:27 pm

    Happy NWD! I thought of you today while I was out on my run. When I thought I couldn’t go on anymore, I thought about your strength today. I admire you so much!

    I was engaged when I was 18. You’re right… you’ll wake up on some September 6th, and you won’t remember it’s “the” day. It usually dawns on me in the evening or not even at all.

  5. September 6, 2010 12:44 pm

    Aww, yay – happy NWD girl 🙂

  6. September 6, 2010 1:05 pm

    Love you dear 🙂

  7. September 6, 2010 1:59 pm

    Those pictures of you are great! I think it’s awesome to celebrate yourself on this day. I especially like the idea of celebrating who you are and where you’ve been. You are awesome.

  8. September 6, 2010 9:12 pm

    I love your positive spirit regarding NWD. What a great perspective on a difficult situation. Hope you had an amazing day celebrating YOU today!!!

  9. September 6, 2010 10:34 pm

    Happy NWD (I know I’m late to the party…)!

    I’m so proud of you and how you approach this day. Your positiveness is so addicting. I love it!

  10. September 7, 2010 8:49 am

    I’m a pretty ardent champion of the single life — perhaps to a fault. But for that very reason, it was a joy to read all of this story.

    Thanks Heather!

Trackbacks

  1. Guest Post: Rediscovering lost love « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

