Skip to content

6 Best Summer Decisions

September 3, 2010

And just like that, Fall is upon us.  Autumn is by far my favorite season.  College football, leaves changing color and falling to the ground, hooded sweatshirts around bonfires, college football, pumpkin spice everything, crisp air, college football, and, you know, college football. [Go, Badgers!]

While summer begins it’s disappearing act this long holiday weekend, I wanted to give a detailed look into the best decisions I made during Sum-of-Fun 2010 😉

 

My 6 Best (little) Decisions of Summer 2010

1. Getting Netflix.  I’m not ashamed to admit that I love television.  In fact, some might say that I watch too much television.  To those who may view my love for good programming as unhealthy, I must admit, Sorry, I’m not sorry.   Thanks to these little red envelopes I’ve managed to watch entire seasons of shows I’ve been interested in checking out, and (thanks to the instant live-streaming queue) keep myself entertained while on a 5 hour delay at the airport. 

104_4351

 

2. Getting into the Flavor Grove.  I found these in a gas station convenient store near my apartment, and I’m so happy I decided to give them a try.  I especially adore the cracked pepper variety, and have since found a chili-lime flavor that is a great combo of sweet, sour, and spice. Definitely my favorite snack of the summer. 104_4356

 

3. Getting organized. Best $5 I ever spent?  This planner I found at CVS.  [i love it so much I convinced Kendall to get it too!  Best five hours I’ve ever spent?  Getting my life organized online with the help of Google.  (and Nerd KERF)

104_4637

 

4. Getting excited about Handmade Christmas 2010. As a reader of THS, you have a lot to be excited about, too. Reminders:
Today is your last day to get a free gift with each of your Box64Studio’s orders.
box64

You have until Sunday at noon eastern to enter the giveaway for a 2011 Palmer Photography calendar.
palmer photographer
You can still save 15% off all orders at Senioritis before September 12th!

senioritis
Free shipping on all uniformity orders placed before September 20th!

uniformity header 

5. Getting creative in the kitchen.  Remember when I entered a recipe contest with my Root Beer Turkey Burgers?  Well, guess what?  I WON!!  I was so shocked and excited when I got the email telling me I was a winner that I may have shed a few tears.  Thanks, Arnold!   104_4636a

 

6. Getting active IRL in a community I’m passionate about. Summer brought about many first time meetings; a blisscation including the wedding of a blend, Healthy Living Summit, database launch, and endless #CDNYEatDrinkBlog gatherings.  I have made some awesome friends and have had amazing experiences with bloggers in real life.  I am so thankful for a community of people who are passionate about the same things I find myself craving, and yet constantly challenging my mind, body, and heart! I feel like I have an awesome network of in real life friends who are also my in blog-land friends.
hlb headerIMG_2613a IMG_3945panel 4roa
104_441440771_10100494619625121_2062608_71080296_5350118_n

 

What were the best decisions you made this summer?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2010 4:30 am

    Deciding to work part time was my best decision of the summer!

  2. September 3, 2010 5:41 am

    I’m so sorry I’m late on this but HUGE CONGRATS on winning the recipe contest! I kept meaning to text you but didn’t… I am so proud of you!!

  3. September 3, 2010 6:10 am

    true story: that was all it took to convince me I NEED that planner. Bonus: I have a CVS giftcard. Double Bonus: Just yesterday I was realizing I NEED a planner.

    Additionally, I have decided we need to find a photo shop master. Then, when you and Julie hang out this weekend you can take a pic posing like I’m with you, I’ll take a pic too, and then a photoshop master can blend us together. hahahaBLENDS!!! 😉

    love.

  4. September 3, 2010 7:33 am

    Best decision hands down was to stop being depressed about having friends and MAKE SOME! The #CDNY girls and HLB has helped me to make new friends that I love and respect very much…and think are absolutely nuts like me 🙂

  5. September 3, 2010 8:08 am

    Ahhh I love netflix! I made friends around where I live… that is huge. Dave and I are boring on our own! And now we have fun friends!! 🙂

  6. September 3, 2010 9:16 am

    I’ve stopped Netflix in an effort to save some money, but will be joining again ASAP … I love Netflix!

    Not a little decision by any means, but the decision I made was to leave my old job, move seven hours away and start a new life. It’s been difficult and there are days when I question my choices. But at the end of it all, I’ve never been happier. 🙂

  7. September 3, 2010 11:39 am

    I am so agreeing with you on the almonds and Netflix. Luuhve.

    OK my best decision was to travel my pants off this summer and not be afraid to go somewhere with no plans at all.

    Second best, finding mochi for my froyo, haa. MMM!

  8. September 3, 2010 12:12 pm

    Best decisions? Good question. Let’s see…

    *literally 5 minutes have passed*

    1. Deciding to stop working for my dad’s business and seek my “dream” career (still no luck there…yet!)
    2. Visiting a girlfriend of mine in Long Island. Literally one of the best weekends of my life.
    3. There was this one ice cream sundae I got over 4th of July weekend…I still can’t get it off my mind.
    4. Deleting my personal Facebook account… less than 12 hours ago.
    5. Not going back to a previous relationship, which would’ve been SO easy. And comfortable. But I didn’t.
    6. Deciding not to post every single thing I eat on GMH. That got old real quick.

    THANK YOU for forcing me to reflect just now. I definitely wouldn’t have otherwise! 🙂 xoxo

  9. September 3, 2010 12:57 pm

    The best decision of my summer was deciding forgo a POD, U-Haul or any other means of moving large pieces of furniture and the like and downsizing my life to the back of a CR-V. It taught me what was important and freed my life of what wasn’t. Also, the Summer Spending Challenge taught me patience in not buying MANY things I wanted and in turn, I am less stressed about my financial situation than I have been in a LONG time.

    Also, Netflix is amazing. I am a huge fan of Instant Play. Is there a way we can connect on there and share movie/TV recs? I think this would be a fabulous thing.

  10. September 3, 2010 1:22 pm

    LOVE this post. I am not really sure what my best decisions have been….Looks like to need to do some thinking!

  11. September 3, 2010 1:39 pm

    One of the best decisions I made all summer was to attend the CDNY potluck brunch at your place! Love being IRL friends with you and all the other local bloggers! ❤

  12. September 3, 2010 1:39 pm

    Doing a triathlon was the best decision of my summer!

  13. September 3, 2010 1:43 pm

    attending HLS. it opened up me up to an entire community of bloggers. 🙂 hopefully i can really get into that.

  14. September 3, 2010 8:16 pm

    sounds like you had a busy summer!
    I love handmade gifts!

  15. September 3, 2010 9:52 pm

    My best summer decision was flying to Texas for a first date with a guy I’d never met IRL!

    And congrats on winning that contest — what a cool recipe!!

  16. September 4, 2010 12:06 am

    Loving all of the above!!! I think I may go raid my closet now for some of those flavor grove almonds. Yum!

  17. September 4, 2010 8:02 pm

    Congrats on winningggg!

    Ummm.

    Traveling alone. I feel like I can do anything!

  18. September 5, 2010 12:57 am

    This is such a cute post!

    Well, its winter for me. But probably the best decision I made was to take time off from running. I was hurting myself by going long distances out of pride and I feel a lot better now.

    Also got to travel a bit–South Africa, Swaziland. Amazing. Don’t regret that at all!

Trackbacks

  1. “Real” Blogging Lessons | It All Changes

Leave a Reply

