Skip to content

More Than: Dorry from LWHH

September 1, 2010

Not familiar with the More Than Series?  It all started when I realized that while nutrition and fitness are an important part of living a healthy lifestyle, there was a void in the healthy living blogger community focusing on other parts of healthy living.  Healthy Living is MORE THAN nutrition & fitness.  To learn more, check out the More Than Series tab and the several posts written by other guest bloggers. -Heather

I’m humbled to be sharing a post at Then Heather Said for the More Than Series.  I am a relatively new blogger and as I perused the sea of healthy living blogs several months ago, Heather’s stood out to me.  It tugged at my heart and resulted in occupying an hour (or 2) of my time one night as I read back to learn more about her story.  Honest, inspirational, thoughtful and beautiful.  

I’ve been blogging over at Living with Healthy Hunger since June. When you hear the word “hunger”, do you think of food?

Food used to be a bad word in my mind.  It does have 4 letters and begin with an F, right?  I suffered from disordered eating for several years, specifically restricting my calorie intake to dangerously low levels. Through my recovery, I began to think of hunger as more than something related to eating.  Of course I still get hungry for food and thankfully now embrace and appreciate food in ways I never knew possible, but rethinking hunger allowed me to shift mental gears.  I was able to significantly lessen my obsessive focus on controlling my hunger and restricting my food choices, allowing me the freedom to direct my energy towards positive thoughts and fulfilling goals for my life.

So, how can you think of hunger in a way that is more than a relationship with food or eating?

Every day I ask myself, “What are you hungry for today?”

One day I might be hungry for GRATITUDE.  I make it a point to acknowledge and thank the wonderful people who impact my life. Gifts from a recent wedding shower.

Another day I might be hungry for UNDERSTANDING.  Sometimes things happen in life that leave me feeling frustrated, discouraged or saddened and what I really desire is to have internal peace and understanding.

With that comes a hunger for PATIENCE.  There are times when all I want is instant gratification, immediate answers and green lights.  While I know that’s not the way this world runs, there are days when my greatest need is to have a little more patience.  (I’m sure my fiancé and mother would happily back up this statement.) 🙂

I’m often hungry for TRAVEL.  My fiancé and I share a passion for travel and adventure.  It’s important for us to enjoy life through experiences and we prioritize our material needs accordingly.

Every now and then I’m hungry for a good CHALLENGE.  A crucial part of growth is giving myself a challenge and working hard to achieve it.  Running is a new physical challenge in my life.

I am typically hungry for MOTIVATION when I’m in the middle of a challenge.  With motivation comes a hunger for ACCEPTANCE and FLEXIBILITY.  There are times when I have to accept that life’s unexpected circumstances will disrupt my plans.

Then there are days when I’m really just hungry for good FOOD.  I love dining out as well as cooking at home and have also learned the importance of fueling my body for workouts.

I hope this glimpse into my personal experience with hunger has demonstrated that hunger is more than a relationship with food.  Hunger can be an unlimited resource for awareness, knowledge, goals, growth and healthy relationships.

My favorite part of blogging is the interaction with other bloggers and readers alike. If you have any desire to get in touch, please email me at dorry [@]livingwithhealthyhunger.com.  I’d love to hear from you!

You can also learn more about Dorry by reading her awesome blog, Living with Healthy Hunger!  You can also find her thoughts in 140 characters or less on her twitter feed.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2010 7:37 am

    Great guest post!!! I love the notion of focusing on hunger in other areas of life. I’m hungry for helping others and sharing passions. Seriously hungry for that. A big part of my 30 days came from that hunger (http://www.faithfitnessfun.com/3855/30-days-of-self-love-confidence/). Dorry has such a hunger for life too and I always LOVE reading her posts and the positive energy she shares. Much like I love reading your blog too, Heather.

    Have an awesome day both of you! 🙂

  2. September 1, 2010 8:45 am

    I love the idea of hunger not just being for food. It is something I’m still learning 🙂

  3. September 1, 2010 9:54 am

    Love the lovefest. Dorry is an amazing girl, terrific post.

    Nice thinking Heather, this is a terrific topic:)

  4. diana @ i can eat, cant i? permalink
    September 1, 2010 10:28 am

    hiii… i started reading your blog since HLS 2010 and i don’t think i ever comment on your blog, but know that i’m there reading it !!

    well i wanted to say congrats on your engagement !! like your post today. i’m hungry for everything!!

  5. September 1, 2010 11:42 am

    Love this post. I only ever think of hunger being related to food, but the more I think about it the more I realise I am hungry in other areas of life too.

  6. September 1, 2010 2:48 pm

    Love it! 🙂

  7. Mary permalink
    September 1, 2010 5:32 pm

    Love this, and I’m so glad you shared this with us 🙂

  8. September 1, 2010 8:52 pm

    Love the relation of hunger to all enjoyable aspects of life:) Great guest post, Dorry!

  9. September 2, 2010 10:16 am

    All wonderful and moving insights Dorry, thank you! (And thanks, Heather, for having her post!)

  10. September 2, 2010 11:03 am

    Since reading her blog from the start, and becoming friends with the Wonderful Dorry in the process, I think of hunger differently. Her blog and daily posts are incredibly inspiring, thoughtful, happy and warm.

Trackbacks

  1. The Freedom to Run

Leave a Reply

