Skip to content

Cinnamon Bun Fruit Topped French Toast

August 31, 2010

Recently, my friend Sandy gave me a cinnamon bun.  

104_4695

I thought about sitting in front of the television, watching Freaks & Geeks on DVD, and devouring my gifted treat in one sitting. After further inspection, I realized that this cinnamon bun was not a one sitting type of treat. [it. was. huge.]

104_4703

Instead, I turned this decadent sweet treat into an opportunity to make one healthy decision.  I transformed this massive cinnamon bun into three plates of breakfast, adding some nutrients with the addition of a peach and a handful of cherries.

104_4705I thinly sliced the cinnamon bun, cherries, and peach. 

104_4709

I whisked an egg with a splash of almond milk and a sprinkle of  pumpkin pie spice.

104_4716

Then I dipped the pieces of cinnamon bun in the egg mixture, and cooked them through, french toast style, in a nonstick skillet on medium heat. [the cinnamon bun was so large that it produced two skillets full of slices!)

104_4722

While the cinnamon bun toast cooks, I heated the fruit in a sauce pan, on low heat, adding a drizzle of agave nectar while warming.

104_4727104_4729

Flip the toast. Stir the fruit. Wait a few more minutes before plating and delighting in this deliciousness.

104_4734

I could have consumed the cinnamon bun in one sitting when I wasn’t hungry; but I’m trying to listen more closely to my hunger cues.
I could have thrown the cinnamon bun in the trash, covering it with dish soap; but I’m trying to remember that no food is bad food, and that I shouldn’t treat it as so.
Instead, I turned the cinnamon bun into breakfast on a Sunday morning, with leftovers for Monday morning, and Tuesday morning, too.

 

I call this healthy decision a success. Cinnamon Bun Fruit Topped French Toast for the win! 

30 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2010 5:43 am

    Brilliant idea! Can you come make me some for breakfast now? 😉

  2. August 31, 2010 6:55 am

    Great idea! I am envious of all the cinnamon bun goodness. That’s a decision I’d like to make 🙂

  3. August 31, 2010 7:48 am

    Yum! I need to try that with my fruit sometime. I never think of things like this.

  4. August 31, 2010 7:49 am

    That looks so yummy! Great decision on spreading the goodness over a few servings.

  5. Jaclyn permalink
    August 31, 2010 8:04 am

    I sat and watched every single Freaks and Geeks episode in a matter of days last year. My friends and I are in love with that show!! It should seriously be syndicated on TV or something 🙂

  6. August 31, 2010 8:58 am

    Have you called Cinnabon to get them to serve this new recipe? This is brilliant and looks insanely good. Sticky fingers FTW!

  7. August 31, 2010 9:05 am

    This looks so good! As if a cinnamon bun could get better–of course, grill it. I will say, it takes a lot of resolve not to bite into the whole bun!

  8. Mary permalink
    August 31, 2010 9:42 am

    mmm french toast. that looks delicious! 🙂

    and good for you for not nomming it all in one sitting!

  9. August 31, 2010 9:48 am

    Yum.

    That is all.

  10. August 31, 2010 10:25 am

    GENIUS idea! But that really makes me want to go out an buy a cinnabun right. now!!

  11. August 31, 2010 10:58 am

    Wonderful choice! Wonderful post! Wonderful recipe! Yummy breakfast for days. Love it.

  12. August 31, 2010 12:13 pm

    Awesome decision!

  13. Notes from the Fatty File permalink
    August 31, 2010 12:25 pm

    You are awesome! What a great idea and what a healthy, sane approach to a treat! I am in awe.

  14. August 31, 2010 12:52 pm

    That’s a fantastic idea and a great way to use up the cinnamon roll. (which looks drool-worthy) yum!

  15. August 31, 2010 1:30 pm

    You are very strong. I know I would have eaten it all at once (and then probably complained that my tummy hurt).

  16. August 31, 2010 1:40 pm

    That reminds me of a huge cinnamon bun I ate in one sitting the other day… Hehe!

    Great job making it into three meals!!! And it does look delicious! 🙂

  17. August 31, 2010 2:12 pm

    I would never have thought to do that. Good thinking. And now you get to enjoy that cinnamon bun flavor even more. 🙂

  18. August 31, 2010 2:57 pm

    YOU ROCK!! I would’ve sat and at the whole thing at once, even past the point of being uncomfortably full. Next time I’m faced with a decision like that, hopefully I’ll think “WWHD?,” chop that bad boy up, and spread it out. 🙂

  19. August 31, 2010 2:57 pm

    Way to go! I used to think there were ‘bad’ and ‘good’ foods but it’s just not true. I think that it’s the balance that’s the most important thing and you definitely got the balance right by making it into three smaller meals. Hooray for healthy decisions!

  20. August 31, 2010 8:09 pm

    Ok that looks amazing, I’m hungry now!

  21. August 31, 2010 8:54 pm

    HAHA! I love this: I could have thrown the cinnamon bun in the trash, covering it with dish soap; but I’m trying to remember that no food is bad food, and that I shouldn’t treat it as so.

    I remember seeing an episode of the Kardashians where Kim’s stylist or PR person (or some other asst. type person) gives her the tip of taking a bit of a cupake and then spraying the rest with cleaning product. Your comment reminded me of this. 🙂

  22. August 31, 2010 10:06 pm

    oh ya baby. that was me falling in love with this recipe.

    maja props!

  23. jenn permalink
    September 1, 2010 12:59 am

    That was awesome! Good for you!

  24. September 1, 2010 10:23 am

    AWESOME!! next time I am faced with cinnamon buns, I know how to make them not go straight to my buns!! YAY!! ( i just gave some away last night too. they were delish but too tempting)

  25. September 1, 2010 9:21 pm

    🙂 That looks delicious! Congrats on mindful eating. Workin on it myself.

  26. September 2, 2010 12:14 am

    ahhhhhhhhhh yum!!!!!!!!!!! i’m hungry now…right before bed…with an almost empty kitchen…..grrr 😉

  27. September 2, 2010 12:32 am

    YESSS! There is NO such thing as bad food! Finally someone that gets it! Now, where is my bite?

  28. September 2, 2010 1:56 am

    Wow! That is amazing and so so so creative. Its funny, I was initially thinking when I read this “I could NEVER do that,” I don´t think I have ever met a baked good that I didn´t devour immediately and all at once. But then I realized so much of it is mindset and not thinking all or nothing… like this! it is beautiful and balanced and smart! awesome. I am inspired.

Leave a Reply

