Skip to content

Make Your Own Stock

August 27, 2010
tags: ,

Here’s another Single Girl In Kitchen Situation; Make your own vegetable stock in 10 easy steps.

Step 1: Designate a large zip-lock bag as “Stock Supply Saver” (SSS).

Step 2: Throughout your cooking adventures, for months at a time, remember your SSS bag.  Add whatever snips and snaps left at the end of the cutting board to the bag; such as wilting spinach leaves and herbs, skins of onions and garlic, the ends of carrots, parsnips, and celery and stems of broccoli and cauliflower to the bag. 

104_4341

Step 3: Keep SSS bag in freezer.

Step 4: Continue to add vegetables over time as you continue to be a rock star in the kitchen. 

104_4346

Step 5: When you are feeling as though you are especially channeling Julia, poor contents of SSS into large soup pot.

Step 6: Discard onion skins. [though they added flavor to the vegetables while in the bag, they can make the broth bitter.]

104_4477

Step 7: Add water.

Step 8: Add salt and pepper, if you wish. 

Step 9: Simmer for at least an hour.

Step 10: Feel cooler than you did the last time you bought a box of stock or can of broth and rejoice.

 

I made just one, simple, healthy decision when I decided to start making my own vegetable stock, instead of using often over salted can broths, boxes of stock, or bouillon cubes.  With homemade stock I can better control sodium levels, and use parts of vegetables that would often be considered waste. 

 

After you’ve made your stock, you can freeze it for use later, or cook with it right away. 
Some recipe suggestions for use of your stock:

The Perfect RisottoSavvy Julie
Risotto
Three Bean Vegan ChiliSound Lindsey 

3 bean chili

19 Comments leave one →
  1. liane permalink
    August 27, 2010 6:28 pm

    I laughed at Step 3.
    One would assume that would go without saying, but better safe than sorry! 😉

  2. August 27, 2010 6:44 pm

    The SSS bag is such a good idea! I always just toss the odds and ends from my veggies. Thanks for sharing your tips!

  3. August 27, 2010 7:12 pm

    I’ve just started to do this myself and although I haven’t made any stock yet, I look forward to doing so!

  4. August 27, 2010 8:08 pm

    Awesome idea! As much veggie broth that I go through, and veggie scraps I throw away, I should have been doing this a long time ago.

  5. August 27, 2010 8:20 pm

    You will NEVER find me making vegetable stock. Blasphemy!

    But I am super impressed you made it. Maybe I can make fruit stock? 😉

  6. August 27, 2010 8:30 pm

    This seems so easy. I am going to start saving now!

  7. August 27, 2010 8:39 pm

    I’m holding onto this for when it gets cold, but great idea 🙂

  8. August 27, 2010 8:43 pm

    I LOVE how my kitchen smells when i make veggie stock 🙂

  9. August 27, 2010 8:47 pm

    Oh my gosh, I never would have realized how simple this is. Thank you for sharing!

  10. Jenn permalink
    August 27, 2010 9:00 pm

    I adore making my own stock… and I the exact same thing… though I have never labeled it SSS!

  11. August 27, 2010 11:11 pm

    Anddd now I know how you label the bags in your freezer 😉

    I think I am going to leave you creepy comments for all your future posts. Hehehe

  12. Stepf @ dailyspark.com permalink
    August 27, 2010 11:12 pm

    I would also recommend ditching the broccoli and cauliflower at step 6. They tend to overpower broth. I love making my own broth!

  13. August 28, 2010 3:21 am

    This is such a great idea! You’re so clever. Thanks for sharing!

  14. August 28, 2010 9:01 am

    I feel like I probably should have thought of this on my own. Making a bunch of stock in advance and freezing it is BRILLIANT!

  15. Notes from the Fatty File permalink
    August 28, 2010 10:46 am

    I often make my own chicken stock but I’ve always been intimidated by the veggie version — mostly because it seems like I never have the right stuff on hand. The freezer bag is such a simple but awesome solution. I wish I thought of this last week when cooked with shitake mushrooms and the recipe said to discard the stems or save them for stock. I figured they’d just go bad, though, by the time I got around to making the stock. I am definitely going to use the SSS trick the next time, though!!

  16. August 28, 2010 3:02 pm

    Loving the SSS bag idea! Great Post Heather 🙂

  17. August 28, 2010 7:10 pm

    THANK YOU for this. I’m starring it in my reader because I’ve always wanted to make my own, but never knew how exactly! It will be great (and cheap!) for making soups this fall and winter!

Trackbacks

  1. When Dinner Escapes You | It All Changes
  2. Macaroni & (Long Island) Cheese (Squash) « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

