Skip to content

HLS Memo

August 24, 2010

Memo to SELF from SELF.

Found your blackberry photos today. Apparently this is what you did in preparation for and while attending HLS.

1. Study 3 sets of Presidential flash cards in order to be prepared for any quizzing that takes place in Chicago.

2. Write out talking points because you are ridiculous with the note cards.

3. Make Packing List, per normal.

3. Work Like a mad woman to make desk look less like natural disaster struck.

4. Get to airport extra early to avoid traffic. Spend free time putting together the folders you have planned for your Roommates of Awesomeness.

5. During your FIVE hour delay, notice your hair is kind of cute in a messy side bun.

6. Board plane. After half a cheese and tomato sandwich, an episode of Studio 60, 3 blog posts, and 30 minutes of All Over (the airport) Yoga.

7. Arrive at O’Hare around 2:00 AM.

8. Board L to hotel after 5:00 AM. Look like death, but feel like LIFE.

9. Wake up roommates at 6:30 AM and agree that a walk to breakfast sounds like the best plan ever.

10. 24 hours later, meet with other speakers and committee members for pep rally.

11. Learn things. Enjoy others learning things, too.

12. Learn more things from Roommate of Awesomeness. Become convinced that ROA should live in NY.

13. Be inspired by this girl. Note that this is so good that an entire room full of chatty ladies (and lads) are paying very close attention.

14. Find Presidential Chair and REJOICE!

15. Go on Taste Bud tour with some of the most awesomest girls you’ve ever met in your life.

16. Find photo of your pal, Hil.

18. Be inspired during an unexpected 30 minute talk about dream chasing.

19. Meet a dog in a bar.

20. 24 hours later, arrive home.

Conclusion: your documentation was spotty at best.

xo – me.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 4:07 pm

    Why do I not remember this dog?

    • August 24, 2010 4:08 pm

      Oh wait, was this when we were leaving the Irish Pub to go back to the hotel?

      • August 25, 2010 6:57 pm

        Yes. I asked the dog’s “dad” if he came here often. Apparently Jack the dog is a regular.

  2. August 24, 2010 4:13 pm

    you are so fun.

    I want to be your roommate.

    I love your packing list drawings.

    you are so fun.

    I want to be your roommate.

    🙂

  3. August 24, 2010 4:14 pm

    Ok first? I heart you because you drew out your packing list.
    Second? I’m sad we didn’t get more time to talk at HLS!

    • August 25, 2010 6:57 pm

      YES! I am sad too – it was such a quick talk both times we saw one another – we need to HANG OUT at some point.

  4. August 24, 2010 5:54 pm

    I like the side bun 🙂

  5. August 24, 2010 6:03 pm

    LOVE THIS POST!

  6. August 24, 2010 6:14 pm

    I was highly entertained by this. 🙂 Great work!

  7. August 24, 2010 6:29 pm

    I kinda like the pic of your desk! Now I know where you sit at when you work. I am creepy. I know.

  8. August 24, 2010 6:42 pm

    i freaking love you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    that is all.

  9. August 24, 2010 9:22 pm

    Nice packing list and flashcards. 🙂

  10. August 25, 2010 8:22 am

    Awww, this was the cutest post I’ve ever read! 🙂

  11. August 25, 2010 8:54 am

    Ahh, can I be an honorary roomie?! How fun, oh this makes me want to go back so bad.

    Fantastic, hilarious, pictures.

  12. August 25, 2010 10:49 am

    HLS through a Blackberry – interesting and unique take on the HLS. And I love that you were so chipper after your transit from hell!

  13. August 25, 2010 11:26 am

    Who among us was not ridiculously inspired by Ms. Katie!!?

    Seriously, though, the highlight of the #HLS was, for me, your panel. I was stunned by the intelligence that you all brought to it. Thanks for enlightening me and others.

  14. August 25, 2010 11:42 am

    This is so good, and I love that you drew your list – so cute!

  15. August 25, 2010 6:48 pm

    Memo from TFY Blackberry to THS Blackberry:

    I wish we had been together taking spotty documentation together. When will we get to send and receive raves of radiation together?

    Memo from TFY to THS

    I love spotty Heather. As much as rambly Heather. As much as “best water ever Heather.” As much as DCI loving Heather.

    Love,

    TFY and TFY Blackberry

  16. August 26, 2010 7:28 pm

    Ahhh I love you. Especially your cute little drawings… AND YOUR PRESIDENTIAL FACTS. ohhh we’re soul mates.

  17. Jenn permalink
    August 26, 2010 9:37 pm

    Two things…. you have a huge huge desk and I agree… your hair does look cute in “a messy” side bun!

Leave a Reply

