Skip to content

10 OTHER Ways to Participate in Handmade Christmas 2010

August 19, 2010

If you’re new around these parts, you may not have heard that I’ve committed myself to a 100% Handmade Christmas 2010.  I really encourage you to check out the intro to Handmade Christmas post, and consider joining me in a quest to bring more handmade gifts under the tree this year! You don’t need to commit to 100% handmade, there are several different ways to participate, and several different reasons why you should consider participating in Handmade Christmas 2010.

 handmade christmas 2010

Here are 10 suggestions for ways you can participate in Handmade Christmas 2010, without committing to 100% Handmade like a crazy person. [read: me.]

  1. Vow to accompany each store bought gift with a handmade gift. Why not make a pair of earrings to accompany the sweater you bought for your mom, a bookmark to add to the best seller you purchased for your sister, or treats from your own kitchen to go along with the cake stand you got for your grandmother – make creative connections.

  2. Buy gifts, Make Cards. Instead of spending one billion dollars on a box of matchy-matchy homemade cards for your never ending list of friends and relatives, design your own handmade greetings to send across the world. 
    104_3337

  3. Commit to a Percentage of Gifts. Can you commit to 25% of your gifts given being homemade?  Make a list of the people you gift to – can a quarter of the people you gift to be handmade gifts? If not – how about 10%?  Want a bigger challenge without going all the way – what about half?  Can HALF your gifts be handmade gifts?

  4. Commit to a Percentage of Budget. For every $100 you spend on Christmas giving this year, why not devote $25 to go towards purchasing handmade gifts from artists/creators or supplies for making your own?

  5. Wrapping and Gift Tags. What if you looked beyond what you give and instead focused on how you present it?  Devote Handmade Christmas 2010 to be the year of handmade/repurposed wrapping and gift tags.  You don’t have to go overboard, either  – a roll of white paper and a box of markers make an individual roll of paper in no time.  For gift tags, consider using pieces of Christmas cards you receive in the mail, or craft your own with scrapbook paper.  
    104_3369

  6. Top Off Each Gift. Add a handmade ornament, decorated photo frame, refrigerator magnet, or other small gift to the top of each package.  A little piece of handmade goes a long way – small details make a lasting impression!

  7. Offer Your Services. Wouldn’t call yourself crafty? Find Etsy to be overwhelming? Why not make up a certificate to DO THINGS for your loved ones. A coupon for a night of babysitting for your neighbors. A vow to assist your parents in cleaning out the attic. Promise to help your neighbor with their garden harvest. [and not just eating it!] A blog header for your best blend forever. Ask yourself what are you good at, and how can you be helpful? 27.4

  8. Photography. You don’t have to have a photography business to gift people with framed shot. Look for photographers whose work reminds you of your loved ones and inquire about purchasing a print.  Or give your own amateur skill a try.  Think about a memory you have with the person you are gifting to and try taking a photo that is a visual reminder of that memory.  Did your uncle used to take you to a certain diner every time he saw you?  A framed photo of the building, along with a quick note about how much those meals together meant to you,  may touch his heart more than you would guess.  [Here are some tips from my friend Anne for taking better point-n-shoot photos.]  

  9. Put Old Photos to Use.  Take your favorite family photos and turn it into a calendar. Snap Fish has a great selection of build-your own photo calendars, as well as other photo products.  Or take a collection of photographs from throughout the years with your best girl friend and make her a personalized blurb book.   Here is a gorgeous picture of Ange & Eric’s Blurb book.  I love blurb because the books are such high quality.
    ange blurb

  10. Get Savvy in the Kitchen. Give gifts that touch the heart, taste buds and tummy!  Kitchen gifts go beyond Christmas cookies and fruit cake.  And although sweet treats and baked goods are the most popular treats to be gifted at Christmas time, you can easily find other easily wrap-able food items you can put together in your kitchen to give to others.  Squawkfox offers a great list of jar gifts, ranging from the traditional soup mixes to tea blend.  Old standby’s always work well, too.  I wouldn’t mind getting a box or two of these underneath the tree, myself.
    SavvySconesCC

Have I convinced you to participate in Handmade Christmas 2010, yet?

REMINDER: You can still save 15% off your order at Senioritis, by entering the code “thenheathersaid15” in the notes to seller at checkout.   Also, I encourage you to sign up for the brand-spankin-new e-newsletter from Senioritis.  The newsletter will announce new projects, special tributes, and other senioritis news.  Sign up for the newsletter now to be illegible for special promotions to newsletter subscribers. 
rosa

 

21 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 9:00 pm

    The coupon idea is my favorite. As a teen and when I first started dating Hunni I had NO money. I always gave “good for one…” gifts. I still have some Hunni gave me our first Christmas I like to cash in every now and again. I keep them in a special place because he put a lot of work into thinking of things I’d like.

  2. August 19, 2010 9:11 pm

    Love this! Thank you. I think I will try to participate 🙂 Im sure Xmas will sneak up on me like it always does.

  3. August 19, 2010 9:46 pm

    Hi Heather! I am looking forward to making homemade presents this Christmas. Everyone is getting homemade cards and I’m painting things for my family members. Of course treats will be homemade, too. Those chai scones look pretty awesome!

    • August 19, 2010 9:48 pm

      Astrid-
      Thanks for the comment 🙂 I’m excited to hear more about your handmade christmas experience!

      Julie’s scones are SO GOOD. Seriously. Dangerously good!

      xo

  4. August 19, 2010 10:10 pm

    I think handmade cards and gift tags are such a good idea. They can be so simple or more elaborate depending on what a person wants to/can do. I have been doing photo cards for the past few years, and no doubt a photo of Baby A will feature prominently on this year’s card, but I think I may order prints to include in the cards instead of a standard photo card.

  5. cookeatburn permalink
    August 20, 2010 4:15 am

    I did homemade eats last year for family because the Christmas gift budget was miniscule, and people loved it! There was granola and granola bars, and when I found out one of my sisters-in-law got diagnosed with gestational diabetes 2 weeks before Christmas, there was pecan butter :). I like these other ideas too!

  6. August 20, 2010 6:49 am

    First of all, I love your blog! I just found it! 🙂 I am excited to be a new reader! Also, I LOVE that you are already thinking about Christmas gifts because I already started my shopping. I am going to be a part of the Homemade 2010 Christmas for sure! I love this idea!
    🙂

  7. August 20, 2010 10:36 am

    One year I gave handmade jewerly (by me) to all my friends…I might just have to do that again! 🙂 If only I could knit faster, I would knit some things too!

  8. August 20, 2010 1:11 pm

    I love the idea of giving handmade gifts. I’ve tried it a couple times before but I kind of wish my handmaking skills were a little more refined… I wouldn’t want to pass any of my “masterpieces” off to poor unsuspecting receivers so they’ve only ever gone to the closest of family members. Though baking/handmade edible goods I definitely don’t mind giving away, and I’m a big fan of handmade cards! As long as I don’t rush them… that’s ended with semi disastrous results before haha.

  9. August 23, 2010 1:42 pm

    I’m so excited for this! Every year my mum and I have a card / tag making weekend. She comes for a sleep over and we get crafty, stay in our comfy pants, have finger foods and just get fun and girly time in. This year I’m going to expand it to make at least one handmade present for each person on my list!

    Better put my thinking cap on.

Trackbacks

  1. Creative Spotlight: Uniformity « Then Heather Said
  2. Creative Spotlight: Box64Studios « Then Heather Said
  3. Creative Spotlight: Gingiber « Then Heather Said
  4. Creative Spotlight: New Leaf Handmade Goods « Then Heather Said
  5. Creative Spotlight: Wooden Hive « Then Heather Said
  6. Creative Spotlight: Amsie « Then Heather Said
  7. Creative Spotlight: Space Oddities « Then Heather Said
  8. Creative Spotlight: Emberos « Then Heather Said
  9. Creative Spotlight: Eco Dog Store « Then Heather Said
  10. Creative Spotlight: BGLD « Then Heather Said
  11. Creative Spotlight: Fuzzy Logic Felt « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

