Skip to content

Dodo Chicago

August 18, 2010

When  I was in Chicago for the Healthy Living Summit, I was lucky enough to be able to spend some time with my wonderful Grandparents.  Sunday morning, before taking me to the airport for my departure, My Grandma and Grandpa Shugarman picked me up to take me out for a delicious breakfast.

DSCF0108DSCF0109

When making the arrangements I asked Gram to choose a place they would like, and she hit the jackpot with an internet search!  Don’t be confused with the Old Style light and neighborhood bar disguise, while the sign on the wall says Dino’s, each weekend you’ll find a transformation has taken place. 

DSCF0112

Enter Dodo’s at Dino’s, located at 954 W. Fulton Market, and you’ll notice that against the exteriors leading, you’re in a brightly colored, warm and welcoming dining room, with great views of the Chef at work in the kitchen.  One deep breath to inhale the aroma she is creating behind the glass and you’ll know that you have indeed reached your destination.  Be prepared for major enjoyment, my friends.

DSCF0111Turns out that Kim Dalton, Dodo at Dino’s owner and chef, used to have another location which closed in 2007.  When Dino himself retired Kim jumped on the chance of a new location in the Fulton Market.  The building itself has been a bar/diner feeding market workers for over 100 years, and after my experience at Dodo, I’m quite sure that Kim Dalton and her friendly staff will be aiding the location in addition to that already impressive number, even if Dodo only opens on the weekends. 

 

The menu is a mix between what you would see on any healthy living food blog  [Greek yogurt and steel cut oats, anyone?] and unique dishes you would never dream of finding at the corner diner.  How about a Japanese pancake served with carrots, cabbage, and okonomiyaki sauce; how is that for intriguing?

 

The special menu highlights the word special, which led our table to order one plate of lemon ricotta pancakes topped with blueberry compote and lemon curd, and two plates of the hash.  When we visited the hash was compiled of herbed potatoes, goat cheese, spicy marinated pork, fresh cilantro, grilled pineapple and topped with your choice style of eggs, but from what I’ve read online, and what I heard from the nice couple seated next to us – the hashes change at Kim’s desire, and every description I’ve read has sounded better and better than the last. 

 

The hash I delighted in was the perfect blend– the spice of the pork was never too much to handle, and helped to make the other flavors stand out with each bite.  Mixed with my runny egg yolks, in-between sips of delicious coffee, my taste buds were beyond tantalized. I’m seriously trying to dream up how I need to recreate a similar dish in my own kitchen, knowing early on that I will more than likely end up disappointed saving money for another Chicago weekend if only to eat at Dodo again.

 

Even better than the food, if that’s even possible, was the amazing service we received by the wonderful Almando. He was even gracious enough to pose for a photo.  (could a blogger ASK for much more?) If WHEN you make your way to Dodo at Dino’s, be sure to be on the lookout for our new friend – he will keep your cup filled and a smile on your face. DSCF0110

Dodo Chicago can bet I will be visiting each time I find myself in the Windy City.  Fantastic food, perfect prices (less than $10 a person), and super service leads me to give Dodo the A+ grade it well deserves.

 

 

Want to read more: Check out the Chicago Tribune review.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Molly permalink
    August 18, 2010 7:44 pm

    yum!!! I wish I had the chance to go there during the HLS! Maybe Ill hit it up when Im there in September 🙂

    xo-Molly
    http://www.givinganythingbutup.wordpress.com

    • August 18, 2010 7:48 pm

      Seriously, Molly – I am BEGGING, on behalf of your tastebuds, you to go when you are there. You won’t regret it! It’s so good. (my mouth is watering now.)

  2. August 18, 2010 7:53 pm

    gramps looks great! (not that I know him.)

  3. August 18, 2010 8:19 pm

    Wow! This is such a stellar review and post! I love the smile on Almando. That just screams good service and caring staff, which is what makes the experience so memorable, as you so eloquently put! Thank you so much for sharing – I can’t wait to go there soon!

    Lemon ricotta pancakes? Yes, please! 🙂

  4. August 18, 2010 9:24 pm

    Now I really have to go visit my friend in Chicago just to try this restaurant….shhh don’t tell her that’s a big push to go. 🙂

  5. August 18, 2010 9:38 pm

    Hmm, I’m thinking about flying back to Chicago just to eat there!!!

  6. August 18, 2010 9:42 pm

    This is why we need to go back to Chicago! And all our blends!

  7. August 19, 2010 1:16 pm

    Are you kidding me with those flavor combinations? How would you ever decide what to eat?! The Japanese pancakes, wowza.

    Glad you had a fun time with the sweet grandparents. What a treat.

  8. gramshugs permalink
    August 21, 2010 12:42 am

    DODO’S is awesome…ricotta pancakes…lemon curd…blueberries…a combo to live for…anyone up to going to brunch at DODO’s…after picking up grandma ??????

Trackbacks

  1. HLS Videos « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

