Skip to content

Resisting the Recap Trap

August 16, 2010

As you probably know, this past weekend, I attended and presented at the Healthy Living Summit (of wonders) in Chicago.

If you read other blogs in the healthy living community, you may be feeling a bit overwhelmed/bored/baffled/dazed by the amount of HLS recaps being published, covering similar sites, events, meals, activities, and photos. I definitely enjoy reading various recaps, especially when I get to read another blogger’s view of an experience I had myself. I’m not too shy to admit, however, that reading 200+ recaps of lunch can get a bit tedious. Especially for those readers who weren’t able to make it to Chicago this weekend. For you, I pledge to step beyond the recap trap.

During our panel discussion, The Ups and Downs of Pushing Publish – we answered a reader submitted question about the pressure to blog about specific things, in certain ways, a specific period of often enough. I have felt these pressures in the past, but throughout the great adventure of discovering my blogging voice (it is an adventure – and it DOES take time!), I have tried to avoid the self-made pressure to do what works for others and instead find what works best for myself.

All this to say, that although I WILL be sharing many great stories and experiences from my time in Chicago, I WILL NOT be posting traditional recaps of all the events and happenings of HLS.

What you can expect during the remainder of the month of August in the merits of HLS are lessons learned, extra special perspective views of the best local businesses I found while in Chi-town, what I REALLY thought about being a presenter at HLS, progress made, and even more stories of the ridiculousness of my travel history. And probably a few presidential fun facts, too. Stay tuned.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2010 11:03 am

    I’m with you on resisting the traditional play-by-play recaps. The HLS experience meant so much more to me!

    Like you said, it can be cool to see the event from the eyes of others, but it gets old. Like with the BlogHer recaps last week, by the time I hit the third blogger recapping the event I was a bit bored.

    Also, it was fabulous meeting you! I wish we could have hung out more, but I’m sure there will be plenty of chances in the future! I’m excited to get to know you better!

  2. August 16, 2010 11:10 am

    As much as I am enjoying the recaps, they are getting to be a bit overwhelming 🙂 I *may* have marked all as read in my google reader the other day.

    Looking forward to your less-traditional recap. Especially what you REALLY thought about being a panelist 😉

  3. August 16, 2010 11:16 am

    Sounds lovely 🙂 Always thinking outside the box! ❤

  4. August 16, 2010 11:23 am

    I love reading all of the recaps, but I agree … it’s great to be able to read a different perspective/different angle on HLS! Looking forward to the posts ahead. 🙂

  5. August 16, 2010 1:06 pm

    Thank you for being uniquely you and showing your perspective of what HLS meant.

    I liked seeing what went on but it became a bit much at times and I skimmed. Seeing more than just a recap but what it meant is so much more meaningful for me as someone who couldn’t be present.

  6. August 16, 2010 1:10 pm

    I love that you are going about recaps in a different way. Much more interesting to read.

  7. August 16, 2010 7:50 pm

    Haha I love that you called it the “recap trap.” I wasn’t able to go (boo!) and enjoy the recaps but it can be a bit too much so I applaud you for doing it a different way.

  8. August 16, 2010 8:11 pm

    You make me smile Heather. I’m excited to hear about what you learned. 🙂 Share the knowledge!

  9. August 17, 2010 1:07 pm

    Looking forward to hearing more about the Summit from you!
    Wish I could have gone.

  10. August 19, 2010 2:03 pm

    Looking forward to reading about your take on the HLS! It was super meeting you by the way!

Trackbacks

  1. HLS Videos « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

