Skip to content

Sweet Home, Chicago

August 8, 2010

I’m from Chicago-land.
I talk on and on about my being from Wisconsin and have called Madison home for quite a while now.  But I lived in Chicago-land for 12 years. I was born there, learned to read and write there, and welcomed both of my younger siblings into the world in the great state of Illinois, as well.  Childhood memories are drenched in Chicago.

When the Blues Brothers sing of “that same old place” they are singing the song I’ve been singing for years.  Oh, sweet home, Chicago.

chicagoskyline

Later this week, I’m heading to Chicago. 
I will attend Healthy Living Summit, where I will celebrate with old and new blends.  There will be presidential quizze, a bike ride near the lake front with Julie and company, and a panel discussion on issues in blogging.

I will have a picnic with my uber talented cousin, Micki, who I haven’t seen in far too long.  There will be cotton candy, and milkshakes, and lots of entertainment. 

I will have brunch with my grandparents, before leaving town. There will be story swapping, and hug hoarding, and no doubt lots of laughter.

 

Are you flying to Chi-town this weekend? 
Here are a few airport travel tips worth reading as you prepare:

Tips for Your Carry On
Tips for Packing Light
How to Fight Airport Boredom
How to Handle Delays and Cancellations

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2010 1:03 pm

    I can’t wait to meet you at HLS!!!

  2. August 8, 2010 1:38 pm

    Yay! I’m flying in Friday morning. Can’t wait to give you a hug when I meet you!

  3. August 8, 2010 1:41 pm

    I’m flying in on Friday! Extra excited since this is going to be my first time visiting Chicago. Looking forward to meeting you. 🙂

  4. August 8, 2010 1:55 pm

    So sweet that you can see family while there. It is a blessing to enjoy times with friend old and new 🙂

  5. August 8, 2010 5:12 pm

    I’m UBER jealous! I won’t be joining all of you lovelies in Chicago next weekend for the HLS. There are just FAR too many fantastic things happening back here at home that weekend. I can’t wait for all of your recaps: they better be just as epic as your recent Madison ones 🙂

  6. August 8, 2010 5:17 pm

    Been reading your blog for a while now. Looking forward to meeting you at the summit!!! 🙂

  7. August 8, 2010 5:17 pm

    OMG. I lerve CHICAGO. Didn’t know you lived there. Crazy.

  8. August 8, 2010 5:24 pm

    Woo hoo!! I live about two hours south of Chicago, but am always up there!

  9. August 8, 2010 10:23 pm

    Can’t wait to meet you at HLS in Chicago later this week! 🙂

  10. August 9, 2010 11:40 am

    I wish I was going 😦

  11. August 10, 2010 11:16 am

    I hope you have a blast in Chicago!

Leave a Reply

