Skip to content

Kindness Ripples

August 4, 2010

Dear Stranger,

Thank you for coming into the coffee shop that I so often frequent.
I hope you find as much joy as I do in this small, local business.
I hope coming here brings you peace.

Thank you for ordering the special of the day.
Does the idea of a marshmallow latte remind you of the happiest clouds in the sky?
I can’t help but believe that espresso induced clouds are the best kind of clouds.

Thank you for being kind when Rich told you that you didn’t have to pay for your latte.
When he shared the news that the last customer had purchased your beverage;
You didn’t question, or inquire, or act like it was uncommon.

Thank you for showing gratitude.

For your simple thank you,

and realization that random acts of kindness not only exist,

but make our small world go round and round.

I hope you enjoyed your special latte.

I think that free things are often the best tasting things, don’t you?

I hope you tasted the kindness that was steaming from the cup.

I hope the froth of friendship made a difference with each sip you took.
I hope you were inspired to share your own kindness.
I hope you helped our small world go round and round.

xoxo,

heather

“Remember there’s no such thing as a small act of kindness.
Every act creates a ripple with no logical end.” –
Scott Adams

Make a decision to create a ripple today.

What act of kindness can you put into motion today?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 7:33 am

    I love that you were able to watch her reactions. I’ve paid someone’s tolls before while driving but never got to see the reaction. It is good to be the giver and receiver. I hope she pays it forward just like Operation Beautiful.

  2. August 4, 2010 8:17 am

    That is amazing heather! 😀

  3. August 4, 2010 10:19 am

    I love you because you do sweet random acts of kindness like this.

  4. August 4, 2010 10:38 am

    You are amazing! I’m def. giving someone free coffee tonight!

  5. August 4, 2010 12:11 pm

    I love it, Heather! You are so precious!

  6. August 4, 2010 12:46 pm

    Love it!

  7. Kristie permalink
    August 4, 2010 2:45 pm

    A marshmallow latte? I would be floating on pillowy clouds of caffeine goodness :). Also, I like this idea (and you).

  8. August 4, 2010 5:27 pm

    That made me smile.

    And holy smokes I want a marshmallow latte!!! like,right this second.

  9. August 4, 2010 8:37 pm

    So sweet! Someone did that for me a few months ago and I was a better person all day because of it. I just felt so warmed by the kindness 🙂

  10. August 4, 2010 11:04 pm

    I love it! I’ll have to do this the next time I go in to Starbucks!

  11. Danielle permalink
    August 5, 2010 7:50 am

    Dear Heather,
    Thank you for continuing to fill my coffee shop with wonderful kindness. You make me want to be a better person. I smile when I think of you and everything you want out of life and I hope that I can achieve even half of that. I hope that you will influence my daughter as much as you influence me.
    Thank you!
    Your friendly neighborhood Barista

  12. Jenn permalink
    August 5, 2010 12:40 pm

    Heather… you are such a lovely person. Thanks for bringing a smile to my face this morning!

  13. August 5, 2010 9:38 pm

    This just brought the biggest smile to my face. Simple acts of kindness are truly magical. I don’t know what it is yet, but tomorrow I too shall make a little ripple 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Life and Me « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

