Skip to content

Handmade Christmas 2010

July 30, 2010
tags:

There are certain gifts I’ve received throughout my life that really mean something.
Gifts that seem to stick around in my life, despite my moving across country twice.
Gifts that don’t become outdated.

104_4369

Magically capturing the personality of the giver, cloaked in the uniqueness of our relationships and defining a part of me I can never quite put into words, these gifts all seem to come not just from the heart, but also from the hands.

104_4366

The handwritten book of quotes, song lyrics, memories, and small notes of appreciation I received from the girls on my hall when I was an RA remains next to my bed to this day, seven years later.  A verse of scripture stenciled on decorative paper, set in a weathered frame, hangs above my kitchen door, on display in the fourth of four buildings I’ve lived since I’ve received it.

104_4361Handmade pillows adorn my bed, the pink knit scarf around my neck each winter, and the framed photos and sketches I’ve received from loved ones are displayed on walls and table tops throughout my little apartment.

104_4389 104_4364104_4383mep

Not only these special pieces created for me by the loved ones in my life, but items handmade by artisans, crafters, and fabulous people who make business out of a making business.  Things found at craft fairs, and artists tables, and street vendors, and the wondrous land of Etsy.  Gifts selected for me, which were birthed from another’s vision.

104_4363

Using an artist’s time and inspiration and hard work to grant me a present unlike any other, these gifts are more than a purchase.  It is an act of supporting creative energy and creative community and creative process and creative emotion, purchasing handmade gifts.

104_4375

It’s to but these thoughts and declarations into action.  This year, I will be celebrating the holiday season with Handmade Christmas 2010.

handmade christmas 2010 For me, this means:

-Hand making all the Holiday Greeting Cards I mail out to friends and family across the country.

-All gifts I give this Christmas season will be either be handmade by me, or purchased from an individual who created it themselves.

-All wrapping, packaging, and gift tags will be handmade as well.

-For an added bonus, this year I will also be decorating a Christmas tree in all handmade, paper ornaments and decorations.

104_4400

I would love for you to join me in Handmade Christmas 2010. You do not need to keep the same guidelines and goals as I’ve stated – find what works for you! I’d love to hear about what your plans are to incorporate Handmade Christmas 2010 into your holiday plans. [Also, may I encourage a Handmade Hanukkah, Kwanza, or generally winter merriment?]

104_4387

Through out the next several months, I will be sharing my favorite crafting resources, creative planning processes, tutorials, tips, tricks and more.  [Feel free to let me know what you would like to see along the way!]

104_4401

Also, feel free to add the Handmade Christmas 2010 badge from above to your blog, link back here, encourage your readers to join in the fun, and use the #handmadechristmas2010 hash tag on twitter.

Are you going to participate in Handmade Christmas 2010?

62 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2010 8:52 pm

    Oh my god, Heather. You KNOW I’m up for this challenge!!!!!!! I’m on it!

  2. July 30, 2010 8:55 pm

    Love it. I’m in. 🙂

  3. July 30, 2010 9:09 pm

    I love handmade gifts. I already have a few planned for people so I will be doing this in my own fashion. And the bonus is I get to relieve some stress by crafting 🙂

  4. July 30, 2010 9:14 pm

    I purchase a lot of Etsy handmade gifts in general and have always wanted to do an entirely handmade holiday. Maybe this is the year!

    • July 30, 2010 9:18 pm

      I hope you join in on the fun – if it sounds overwhelming, maybe you could try to challenge yourself with a 75% handmade gifts – or something?

      • July 30, 2010 9:27 pm

        Definitely! Two years ago I started crocheting a “Harry Potter scarf” for the boyfriend…so for Christmas he got to see the half of it that was finished.

        Unfortunately the other half was never completed…oops! Maybe my goal should be just to finally finish that… 😉

  5. July 30, 2010 9:44 pm

    I love it love it love it. I would totally join the fun, but I’m kind of pumped about doing EnglishChristmas2010!

  6. July 30, 2010 10:03 pm

    i loooooove this

  7. micki permalink
    July 30, 2010 10:54 pm

    I’m so glad those photos are seeing the light of day and not just sitting under a stack of papers in my room. And crafting is my passion so I’m really excited to see what you have to say. Because I’m fairly sure it runs in the family.

  8. July 31, 2010 3:09 am

    YES YES YES! I love this and have been doing this for the past couple of years. I’ve made my own jewlery (which is cool because I was able to make matching necklaces and bracelets – 2 Christmas’ covered!), bought locally made crafts, sewed a quilt and framed my photos as gifts. I will definitely be participating in Handmade Christmas 2010! And I absolutely love that you are starting this so early because I am the queen of procrastination and making your own gifts is very time consuming. I usually use brown paper bags as wrapping paper, but that’s not very fun. I will have to get more creative with this. Such an awesome idea, I love handmade gifts!! Yay!!

  9. Katie permalink
    July 31, 2010 10:21 am

    I LOVE this idea!! I would love to join in the fun!

  10. August 1, 2010 1:36 am

    I love, love, love that you’re doing this. One of the things on my 101 in 1001 is “Make 75% of our Christmas gifts.” Maybe this is the year….thanks for encouraging/inspiring me. I can’t wait to see what all you will share!!

  11. August 1, 2010 8:27 am

    I would love to join you on this – I have already bought about half of my Christmas gifts though – I will have to think how to pRticipate

  12. August 1, 2010 12:39 pm

    I recognize a few of those gifts… So glad you love them!

    I hope to participate, I’ll have to figure out to what extent.

    • August 2, 2010 9:48 am

      I wanted to add… I think a combo of making yourself and buying handmade from others is excellent. It takes off a little pressure. Handmaking every item yourself would be really time consuming… buying from Etsy or elsewhere a little less so 🙂

  13. August 1, 2010 7:57 pm

    I love the concept behind homemade gifts! But I always get nervous before giving them. Like, what if the person is expecting something more?
    However, the last gift I have was homemade and it included my face on it, and it went over well!
    So maybe I will try again and have more confidence in the gifts that I give.

    • August 2, 2010 9:56 am

      Sometimes, if I’m worried about how the handmade gift will be taken, I give it with a non-handmade gift. For example, I made a necklace for my stepmom and paired it with a sweater. She ended up loving both, and I gave without worries.

  14. September 8, 2010 6:13 pm

    Heather you are so cute! I LOVE this idea!!

  15. October 12, 2010 8:13 pm

    Hello! Just stumbled across your site as I was looking for homemade gift ideas because I am definitely making 2010 a handmade Christmas year! Can’t wait to see the ideas you come up with!

    • Larissa permalink
      December 1, 2010 10:32 pm

      i love this idea, home made gifts are always the best. I was hoping to get some help too. I have made / used etsy for a few of my gifts, but need some ideas for a few more, is anyone exchanging ideas?

      so far i have:

      -crocheted a scarf for my brother in his college colors
      -http://www.etsy.com/transaction/38731563 purchased these.

      i know my boyfriend would love something home made, but i am a little stumped on what!

      thanks everyone

      Larissa

      • Larissa permalink
        December 1, 2010 10:35 pm

        oh that might be all these links below that i see… ops!

Trackbacks

  1. Odds and Ends « Brownies and Zucchini
  2. 11 Reasons to Participate in Handmade Christmas 2010 « Then Heather Said
  3. Check it out! | It All Changes
  4. 10 OTHER Ways to Participate in Handmade Christmas 2010 « Then Heather Said
  5. Creative Spotlight: Uniformity « Then Heather Said
  6. We’re All Winners « Then Heather Said
  7. Creative Spotlight: Box64Studios « Then Heather Said
  8. Creative Spotlight: Box64Studios « Then Heather Said
  9. 6 Best Summer Decisions « Then Heather Said
  10. Friday Feature: Then Heather Said | Healthy Living Blogs
  11. Savvy Selections: Sept.11.2010 — Savvy Eats
  12. Creative Spotlight: The Love Shop « Then Heather Said
  13. Brownie Roll-Out Cookies « Brownies and Zucchini
  14. Local Fun at Momma’s | It All Changes
  15. Creative Spotlight: New Leaf Handmade Goods « Then Heather Said
  16. Apple Cinnamon Steel-Cut Oatmeal « Brownies and Zucchini
  17. Creative Spotlight: Wooden Hive « Then Heather Said
  18. Top Ten Tips for Scrapbook Gifts « Then Heather Said
  19. Creative Spotlight: Amsie « Then Heather Said
  20. A-MAZE-ing Meet-up — Savvy Eats
  21. Creative Spotlight: Bare Tree « Then Heather Said
  22. Creative Spotlight: Emberos « Then Heather Said
  23. Creative Spotlight: Eco Dog Store « Then Heather Said
  24. Handmade Christmas Kitchen: Sweet Tooth, Sweet Life « Then Heather Said
  25. Creative Spotlight: BGLD « Then Heather Said
  26. Creative Spotlight: Fuzzy Logic Felt « Then Heather Said
  27. Button Craft: Vintage Styled Earrings « Then Heather Said
  28. Creative Spotlight: Elloh « Then Heather Said
  29. Creative Spotlight: Evalinen « Then Heather Said
  30. Craft Time: Alphabet Blocks « Then Heather Said
  31. Creative Spotlight: PK Stuff « Then Heather Said
  32. Crunchy Chicken Fingers « Brownies and Zucchini
  33. Craft Time: Animal Bath Towels for Kids « Then Heather Said
  34. Handmade Christmas Kitchen: How Sweet It Is « Then Heather Said
  35. Easiest Craft: Glitter Ornament « Then Heather Said
  36. Second Easiest Ornament: Painted Star « Then Heather Said
  37. Tulle Mini Wreath Ornament « Then Heather Said
  38. Creative Spotlight: Petals and Purls « Then Heather Said
  39. Beaded Ribbon Ornament « Then Heather Said
  40. Creative Spotlight: Love Lee Soaps « Then Heather Said
  41. Felt Cupcake Ornament « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

