Skip to content

Transform Leftovers to Breakfast Scramble in 6 Steps

July 20, 2010

My dad is a breakfast chef of his own right.  I’m happy to report that I was lucky enough to enjoy some of these special breakfast while we were at the lake house over Independence Day weekend.  No one makes breakfast quite like my dad does, especially not super special weekend breakfasts.  I think it may have something to do with the special process that often takes place several days before breakfast is being made.  He decides.

DSCF2755  

If my family is eating dinner out on a Thursday night, my dad may be thinking about Saturday morning’s breakfast while he decides what to order. Like a magician of epic proportions, my dad has a way of transforming delicious dinner leftovers into an even more fabulous breakfast.  Fajita steak and veggies become part of the worlds best omelet.   Savory grilled chicken and vegetables tossed into a scramble with shredded hash browns that Bob Evans couldn’t manage to top.  I would not be surprised if left over cheesecake comes home in a box to become stuffed pancakes the following morning.  He is talented.

 

Sunday morning in my kitchen Julie reminded her husband Dan that she had a box of leftovers from dinner the night before in the fridge that he had promised to eat.  “For breakfast?” he questioned.  I shared my dad’s brilliant magician tricks, and suggested Dan make a leftover scramble for breakfast. 

 

Transform Leftovers to Scramble in 6 Steps:

1. Decide which parts of the leftovers can be used in your dish.  Because of the amount of sweet potato fries, Dan decided he didn’t need to use the bread from the sandwich in his scramble.

What Dan was working with from the leftovers:
innards of half a sandwich titled “The Smasher” from the local Irish pub
sweet potato fries
What Dan was working with from my fridge:
2 eggs
shredded cheddar cheese

104_4159

2. Cut your leftovers into smaller than bite size pieces.

104_4166   

3. Start frying eggs.
4. When eggs are starting to form, add leftovers to pan; scramble together and heat through.
5. Add cheese to become “melty glue” of scramble. 104_4168

6. Serve & enjoy!

 104_4169 104_4170

 

Have you ever used leftovers from a meal out in a dish you made in your own kitchen? 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2010 8:53 am

    How crafty and resourceful! I can’t recall ever using leftovers from a restaurant with something I’ve made- I usually just reheat and eat. This is definitely something to consider for future meals.

  2. July 20, 2010 10:56 am

    I love leftovers but don’t have them often b/c I usually clean my plate. 🙂 My fiance will specifically order more than he can eat to have leftovers – for instance, he’ll order a 12 oz steak and save some to make steak & eggs the next day. I love Chinese food leftovers and have been known to eat them for breakfast.

  3. abbynormally permalink
    July 20, 2010 1:45 pm

    Wow that is impressive!!!!! I would never think to do that!

  4. July 20, 2010 3:39 pm

    I do this alot. I had a ton of my barley salad left so I threw some in a pan with some egg whites and goat cheese. It was great!

  5. July 20, 2010 10:05 pm

    you know, I use leftovers from meals *I* make all the time in new ways, but I’ve never even considered doing it with leftovers from a restaurant! Huh! Something to think about….

  6. Jenn permalink
    July 22, 2010 10:53 am

    My hubby is a whiz at this too! Not only for breakfast but any meal! He can take seemingly unrelated items and make the most scrumtious dinner EVER!
    Aren’t we just lucky to have these talented men in our lives!

Leave a Reply

